We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot in Port Macquarie - perfect for families & opposite beautiful beaches”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mantra The Observatory
Ranked #5 of 42 Hotels in Port Macquarie
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Sydney
Level Contributor
92 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great spot in Port Macquarie - perfect for families & opposite beautiful beaches”
Reviewed May 12, 2011

We stayed at the Observatory with our 3 year old daughter on our way back from Byron Bay. The one bedroom apartment was a last minute booking and it was fantastic. Very spacious, clean, modern and quiet. It was opposite the beach and although we booked an inner room with no view, we saw that the view through the beachside rooms looked fantastic. The staff were very helpful and there were some great cafes downstairs. We would definitely be interested in returning for a longer stay next time. I'll just be keeping an eye out on the Internet for some cheaper rates as it was a little expensive for a last minute booking. Definitely recommend it though.

Room Tip: Go beachside and get the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank We_love_holidays_107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracey20100, General Manager at Mantra The Observatory, responded to this review, September 22, 2011
Thank you for your review. We look forward to seeing you and your family on your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    838
    403
    99
    16
    6
See reviews for
293
766
34
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (510)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 5, 2011

I stayed with my husband and a friend of his in a two bedroom beachfront apartment
and i couldn't fault anything! the apartment was ENORMOUS!! with all the mod cons, i had to make cupcakes for a christening and used all their appliances and oven it was fab!
I'm very picky but everything was clean tidy and new couldn't fault it!
The view from the balcony was fab and great to have breakfast on a nice sunny morning,
there are two cafes downstairs we had breakfast in(which were great except for a cranky waiter) it's right across from the beach and just a ten min walk to the town centre which was great for groceries and a drink at the pub.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emmamatt79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracey20100, General Manager at Mantra The Observatory, responded to this review, September 22, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We are glad to hear you made full use of all the amenities our apartments have to offer.

We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2011

Great location, spectacular views of town beach,really nice and friendly staff. Rooms are spotless, contemporary and have all the mod cons. I'll be back!!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zebra1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracey20100, General Manager at Mantra The Observatory, responded to this review, June 28, 2011
Thank you for your great feedback. We do have the best views in Port!

Hope to see you again.

Thanks again for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
1 review
Reviewed May 3, 2011

The garden terrace apartments are wonderful for families and its great to find a place with an indoor pool

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank penny_robards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracey20100, General Manager at Mantra The Observatory, responded to this review, June 28, 2011
Thank you for your feedback. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
140 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2011

We recently stayed at Easter for 2 nights at the Observatory in the Terrace Apartments, wish we could stay longer, unfortunately they are located at the rear of the Observatory so you don't get the beautiful view. But very modern decor and lovely and spacious especially with teenagers and having 2 bathrooms was a bonus when getting ready to go out. The rooms were very clean. Large sliding doors that opened onto a spacious balcony, not much sun does come into these apartments though.
The only negatives I would say was that it was a bit of a walk to get into the main Observatory building to go to the pool/spa, and the stairs (4 flights) from the underground car park.
The staff are excellent, and friendly and very efficient and also knowledgeable when it came to restaurants in Port Macquarie. I received a followup phone call 1 day into the holiday to check if everything was OK, and did suggest that we needed another blanket; this was no trouble to arrange and it was delivered promptly to our apartment.
Would thoroughly recommend staying here as the location was fabulous and would definitely stay here again but in the main Observatory building next time to be able to take advantage of the fantastic views.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 84Cedarhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracey20100, General Manager at Mantra The Observatory, responded to this review, May 1, 2011
Thanks for your lovely feedback and great to read that you plan to visit us again.

Yes the garden terrace apartments are very spacious and are an affordable option for families and groups who want to be close to the beach.

Thanks again for your review and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SYDNEY
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2011

Stopped in for one night on a hot deal not knowing what to expect.
Kind friendly check in, great room with a view of the ocean and clean modern room. Stunning hotel room and will stay in a one bedroom apartment next time!!
Good location, walked ten minutes to eat dinner nearby. Have already recommended it to friends as a great hotel with good affordable prices!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bbSYD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
88 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2011

We were only spending one night in Port Macquarie but we wanted a pleasant place to stay and this fit the bill. I read the previous few rave reviews and I think they are a little misleading but this place definitely has its virtues, just don't expect a palace. The apartment was spacious and had eveything we needed, and we liked the balcony with the nice view of the conifer trees and the shore. The building is fairly modern but a little institutional and has something of a college dorm building feeling to it. The furninshings are a little bland and cheap but crucially they are still pretty new so the overall effect is a little bland but not unpleasant I'd say. There is a convenient restaurant downstairs with a good menu and they were nice enough to accommodate our children's food allergies, so they won me over right there. Service was not fast but I think you just roll with that, this is not a big city and the pace won't be the same. We also had a very nice breakfast there although there was a small problem with flies, but we encountered this several times during our holiday and the restaurant seemed nice and clean. The hotel charges extra for wifi but they have a collection of dvds you can borrow from, which I thought was nice. Overall recommended, I just think the previous reviews oversold the place a little. By the way I recommend the beach, the koala hospital, and the historic house adjacent to it for all visitors, but especially those with children - we adopted a koala, which just means we paid for its care and upkeep until it can be released - this is especially nice for kids because they get to name the koala and then get occasional postcards. Enjoy!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beauchamptraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracey20100, General Manager at Mantra The Observatory, responded to this review, May 1, 2011
Thank you so much for taking the time to provide your feedback.

In relation to our interiors, we have recently updated our apartments with new vibrant artwork and soft furnishings. The apartments look great and throughout the year we will be also updating many of the apartments with new contemporary lounge and dining room furniture. We hope you stay with us if you return again to see the new look!

I especially enjoyed reading about you adopting a koala, It's a great cause...perhaps you can visit your koala too on your next visit!

We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Macquarie hotels
0.6 mi away
Rydges Port Macquarie
Rydges Port Macquarie
#12 of 42 in Port Macquarie
892 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ki-ea Apartments
Ki-ea Apartments
#2 of 42 in Port Macquarie
325 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mercure Centro Port Macquarie
Mercure Centro Port Macquarie
#10 of 42 in Port Macquarie
835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sandcastle Apartments Port Macquarie
0.4 mi away
Macquarie Waters Hotel & Apartments
1.3 mi away
Sails Resort Port Macquarie - by Rydges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra The Observatory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra The Observatory

Property: Mantra The Observatory
Address: 40 William St, Port Macquarie, New South Wales 2444, Australia (Formerly The Observatory)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Port Macquarie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Port Macquarie
#1 Family Hotel in Port Macquarie
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Port Macquarie
#2 Business Hotel in Port Macquarie
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Port Macquarie
#4 Luxury Hotel in Port Macquarie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra The Observatory 4.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra The Observatory offers seaside accommodation in the heart of Port Macquarie. Located directly across from the beach, this contemporary hotel boasts spectacular views over the ocean, river and hinterland, and provides close proximity to many of the areas natural attractions. Secure onsite car parking with an electric car charging station is complimentary for all guests along with free in-room wireless Internet access. Accommodation is modern and spacious with the choice of the Hotel Room, One, Two or Three Bedroom Apartment, and the Three Bedroom Penthouse. Apartments boast private balconies, air-conditioning, fully equipped kitchen and laundry facilities, and large TVs with Foxtel channels. At Mantra The Observatory you’ll enjoy an excellent range of facilities including a heated lap pool, spa, sauna, BBQ area, and onsite dining options. Sample the region’s freshest seafood at Scampi’s Seafood Bar and Grill, or visit The Observatory Milkbar for a refreshing holiday beverage. A day spa is situated onsite for your convenience if you’d like to treat yourself to massage or facial during your stay. If you’re planning to soak in the sun there are countless beaches and picnic spots to explore, or for a little retail therapy the town centre is just a short walk away with a collection of boutique stores and retail chains at your fingertips. There is an abundance of activities on offer from the more adventurous including kayaking, fishing, horse riding and camel safaris, to family friendly activities such as wildlife and nature parks, local markets, golf, and ten pin bowling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mantra The Observatory reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Observatory Hotel Port Macquarie
Observatory Hotel Port Macquarie
Observatory Resort Port Macquarie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing