We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cute and comfy, just what we needed” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beachcomber Resort

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Beachcomber Resort
Brisbane
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cute and comfy, just what we needed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2012

Firstly, after a really bad experience at another hotel we were met with open arms literally. The management/owners exceed all expectations! They were so very helpful and friendly. The hotel has great basic facilities all you need for being so close to beach and shops. The hotel has been well maintained and the room was exactly as described. Clean, comfortable and cosy. It's self contained and it has an air con with reverse cycle, the best thing ever! The bed was really good to sleep in and so were the couches. Quite a nice view too. We stayed one night but we wish we had stayed more. The kitchen was well stocked, fantastic shower and heated towel rack a little treasure. We had a really good time there and can't wait to come back!

Room Tip: Try get room with a view, it's an awesome sunset to see
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hotelcrtic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    34
    17
    5
    1
See reviews for
46
23
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Amstelveen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
293 reviews
206 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2012

Big comfy apartment, nice for our family. Two bedrooms with good beds, large kitchen with big fridge, stove, microwave and kitchen island, large living room with sofa and new TV. No black-out curtains/windows, so we woke up early due to the bright sunlight.

Close to beach and children's playground, but not as close to the town centre (12 minute walk or drive). Secure underground parking garage at the back. No elevator. Pool looked much better in pictures but in real life was small and unappealing.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2012

The apartments offer a nice pool as well as barbacue and outside dining. The gardens are pretty but overgrown along the main access path which needs a heavy prune. Stairways and all other paths are clean, well maintained and uncluttered so generally access is good. The apartments are conveniently located near a beach and clifftop walks. Our apartment was very clean if spartan in facilities but our beds were uncomfortable and the reading lights just awful. Decor is 70s/80s without frills but we enjoyed the Austral TV arrangements. Parking is underground and well secured by convenient remote locks. Avoid the front apartmneets (noisy traffic on a main road) and high apartments (no lifts). As the apartments are under strata ownership, quality between them may vary despite the managers efforts to maintain a high quality. It claims 4 stars but 3 are adequate.

Room Tip: Avoid front (noisy main road) and high (no lifts) apartments.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Crusader1427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2012

Very nice ,clean and and plenty of room. Only thing require is a lift as for elderly and with children is difficult to walk the stairs

Room Tip: The resort is in front of the Sea so any room gives a good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pravin68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red hill
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2012

My family recently stayed at this Resort for a event in Port Macquarie and it was lovely with new pillow top beds and huge comfy lounges the pool was huge and welcoming and the staff were very helpfull
They will come again,

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank catherine h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2012

Photos looked nice on net but was a pretty average place. Location was convenient but quite noisy. The beds were terrible as was the lounge. Management also quite rude.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank elmo5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2012

Have just spent another wonderful family holiday at the Beachcomber resort. its location, a 5 minute walk to the beach is ideal; the rooms are great for families; and the pool keeps the kids amused for hours. We had a 2 bedroom delux spa rrom, with a balcony with small ocean views and a view of the pool areas - perfect for keeping an eye on the older children. The kids pool was great for our little one, and all 3 of them loved the spa. I was just happy floating around in the pool! There are 2 BBQ areas adjacent to the pool with everything provided - even plates and serving dishes so you don't have to lug it all down from your room! Jenny and Paul are the fantastic onsite managers and nothing was too much trouble for them - from finding us a chopping board for our room to lending us pliers for a small repair to our fishing rods! The resort is withing easy walking distance of the beach, town and opposite a wonderful park with play equipment and a small observatory that you can visit to star gaze!! Going to the Beachcomber each year is the highlight of the summer for our family - the kids look forward to it for weeks and then talk about it for months afterwards. We will definately be back!

Room Tip: Ground level is good if you have kids and want to keep an eye on them in the pool; upper floors have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JacDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Macquarie hotels
0.5 mi away
Rydges Port Macquarie
Rydges Port Macquarie
#12 of 42 in Port Macquarie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 871 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ki-ea Apartments
Ki-ea Apartments
#4 of 42 in Port Macquarie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mercure Centro Port Macquarie
Mercure Centro Port Macquarie
#10 of 42 in Port Macquarie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mantra The Observatory
Mantra The Observatory
#3 of 42 in Port Macquarie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,226 reviews
0.3 mi away
Macquarie Waters Hotel & Apartments
0.2 mi away
Sandcastle Apartments Port Macquarie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beachcomber Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachcomber Resort

Property: Beachcomber Resort
Address: 54 William St, Port Macquarie, New South Wales 2444, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Port Macquarie
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Port Macquarie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Beachcomber Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Town Beach Beachcomber Resort is situated opposite the main beach and within walking distance to the Main Street, Restaurants, Shops, Cafes, Bars and Clubs. The Resort caters for all with a lovely Resort style pool, a Children's Wading pool and a heated outdoor Spa. Our well designed apartments are fully self contained with most having a balcony at the front overlooking both the pool and ocean. With so many things to do and explore in Port Macquarie with in walking distance such as Whale Watching, Jet Boat Adventures, Ocean Fishing plus much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Beachcomber Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beachcomber Hotel Port Macquarie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing