We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“sophisticated , stylish and suave.”
Review of Grape & Petal

Grape & Petal
Ranked #43 of 220 Restaurants in Port Macquarie
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Wine Bar, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Bar scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Drinks, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: If Port Macquarie's beaches are it's heart then this intimate wine bar & cafe may just be it's soul. We specialise in local quality foods, award winning coffee, exclusive International and Australian fine & wines to complement both everyday and special occasions.
Port Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“sophisticated , stylish and suave.”
Reviewed July 23, 2014

a beautiful ambient vibe , amazing decor with classy mood lighting , venue manager and sommelier Nick Diaz knows his wines and was very helpful in matching wines with our meals, we had the soft shell crab and pork belly for mains and they were exceptional...totally recommend. 10/10.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barbs_Port_Mac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    43
    8
    5
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Ambience, food, wine and service combine to win”
Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

Ate here on a cold Thursday night in July. Warmed up immediately on entering the charming dining area with rear walls displaying the red wines on offer in the manner of an upmarket wine retailer. Excellent wine selection, at good prices, with knowledgable advice. Good quality food, good sized portions and, as the restaurant filled up during the evening, we were less and less inclined to leave. A lovely place to sit, talk, eat and drink and a big plus for Port Macquarie.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Malcolm M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackheath, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Early Dinner”
Reviewed July 6, 2014

I walked into this restaurant as the décor was very appealing it looked cosy and comfortable, the menu looked reasonable. The music also very fitting of the tapas bar feel, took me somewhere exotic. We were eating early so had the waiters full attention and service wasn't a problem. We ordered some lovely tapas dishes and were not disappointed. Great wine menu and ordered a couple of glasses of champagne by the glass $15 per glass and a mid range bottle of Sav Blanc which I wish I had taken a photo of the label as it was one of the best I had tasted in a while. Our bill was around $170 for 3 of us with a few dishes (6 dishes) a bottle of wine and a couple of glasses of champagne.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FrankesFreedom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“My new favourite.”
Reviewed June 15, 2014

beautiful atmosphere, helpful and knowledgeable staff, top shelf exclusive wine and spirits and the food was incredible and beautifully presented. Port Macquarie finally has a resteraunt I would proudly take my out of town friends!!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank elle399
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Tapas Under Stress”
Reviewed June 6, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I went to Grapes and Petal the previous night and we had a great experience. My husband wrote a very good review for the Tapas wine bar. Matt, the manager/waiter had been very friendly and was extremely helpful with both food and in particular the wine list.
On this recent visit tonight I was told they were fully booked but we could come in early and have the table for about an hour. Fine with us. We understood we were squeezed in.
Well, on arrival we were sat at our table and from then on the friendliness experienced the night before had disappeared. We were told we had 40 minutes, so we felt extremely pressured to order ASAP, which we did. We ordered our first tapas but attempted to change it but we were told he'd already put the order in (this was all in the time frame of 60 seconds) so we left the order and added the other tapas to it.
We were never offered any service and had to fight to get any service. What a shame. Great food, great wine and great atmosphere. We complied with the 40 minutes we were given. Perhaps Matt should not take reservations if he can't fit them in. When we left the restaurant there were still plenty of tables free.
PS Matt, perhaps we would have liked another glass of wine. We had the time, but no one offered it.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Blackaxel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grape & Petal also viewed

Port Macquarie, New South Wales
Port Macquarie, New South Wales
 
Port Macquarie, New South Wales
Port Macquarie, New South Wales
 
Port Macquarie, New South Wales
Port Macquarie, New South Wales
 

Been to Grape & Petal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing