We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty”

Tandoori Kitchen Indian Restaurant
Ranked #68 of 220 Restaurants in Port Macquarie
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Off-Street Parking, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Tandoori Kitchen is a Indian Restaurant situated in Port Macquarie serving up delicious Indian food including beautiful Naan breads, delicious main meals to have for yourself or to share with the table, and well presented entrees that look scrumptious.The chefs in the kitchen do a wonderful job, and the waitress out front is always aiming to make your night enjoyable.So come on down, meet the crew, and enjoy a wonderful Indian meal at Tandoori Kitchen.
port macquarie
Level Contributor
83 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Tasty”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We were 3 local couples giving this newish Indian restaurant a try. We were not disappointed. We started with Mixed Sampler (2), Tandoori Sampler (2), Grilled Tiger Prawns and Malai Kofta to share. The samplers are good as we all got to taste the various entrees and the tamarind chutney was great with the tandoori. The prawns were beautiful but the outstanding was the Kofta, should have ordered 2 of these everyone enjoyed it. For mains we had Kadai Paneer & Mutter, Butter Chicken, Lamb Roganjosh, Cochin Beef Curry and Prawn Masala with a bowl of rice and 5 Naan breads. More than enough for 6 people. The naan was just so good pulled apart and used to scoop up the rice and curry. The beef curry was probably my favorite along with the lamb. Will go again. Cost $70 per couple and is BYO

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kim j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    43
    14
    7
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
124 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Not your standard country town Indian”
Reviewed December 18, 2013

In a town which seemingly runs from Fish and Chips to $35 main courses, the middle ground is a scant collection of chinese / thai and indian restaurants.

The Tandoori Kitchen had an interesting looking menu, with regional southern Indian dishes which strayed from the country town safety of anglophile creamy standards. Although it didn't seem overly busy when we first arrived, there was a large-ish table down the back and a constant stream of delivery orders and take aways were coming out of the kitchen. An extremely pleasant young woman somehow managed to cope with it all.

Once we dragged our eyes away from the entertaining Bollywood music videos on the TV, we made our choices from the interesting menu. All the dishes were good, including the garlic naan. We would certainly recommend it as a good reliable staple with interesting food.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Flashduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A little bit of a let down”
Reviewed December 15, 2013

We've been coming to Port for many years now and have been longing for a good quality indian restaurant in town. After reading all the reviews, we were quite excited by Tandoori Kitchen. Unfortunately, the roti was particularly dry, the butter chicken a little tasteless and the tandoori lamb cutlets lacking that normal charcoal taste that we've come to love at indian restaurants in Coffs. The food was still nice, but just not quite as nice as we expected given the reviews. Plus, to charge over $5 for two rotis is a bit steep!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dewy79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Pacific
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“AS EXPECTED”
Reviewed November 24, 2013

After reading the various reviews, this place lived up to our expectations. The last time we had eaten Indian was in England and /or Penang - both noted for their excellent, good value Indian restaurants. We had Lamb Roganjosh which was very tasty, Beef Vindaloo - as hot as we had hoped and Hot Madras Prawn - the later whilst tasty - was a little sour because of the lemon - for our liking.. Service polite, accommodating and good ( by Aussie standards ) from the waitress and the chef. Not at all disappointed and whilst we are very picky and do not eat out much in Port - preferring better value on regular overseas trips, in this case, we would probably go again and would recommend to others.. Not expensive and we left feeling full and contented. Suggest to management that if they are going to save the environment and not have the air - con on - that at least they have a fan in there to "circulate" the air as it can get a little stuffy - particularly when eating spicy hot cuisine.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank beenaroundthailand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Macquarie, New South Wales, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“What a find!!”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

What a find this little gem is. We have lived in Port for 3 years and had resorted to cooking our own curries....not anymore.
The food was authentic, delicious and plenty of it, we had leftovers for lunch the next day.
We will be going back for more without a doubt! If you love your curries like we do being English, it comes highly
recommended.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sgreene83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tandoori Kitchen Indian Restaurant also viewed

Port Macquarie, New South Wales
Port Macquarie, New South Wales
 
Port Macquarie, New South Wales
Port Macquarie, New South Wales
 

Been to Tandoori Kitchen Indian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing