We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
A Must See

If we hadn't visited the Koala Hospital we would not have known about Roto House as they are next... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Steve B
,
Sydney, Australia
Must do hidden gem!

Go back in time to learn about a local family's history of how Port Macquarie was developed. The... read more

Reviewed October 6, 2018
bombergirlcorinne
,
Sydney, Australia
Read all 271 reviews
  
Reviews (271)
Filter reviews
264 results
Traveler rating
146
95
21
2
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
146
95
21
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews flynn family gold coin donation old house koala hospital wonderful history great historical place local history right next door volunteer guides piece of history their lives lovely volunteers staff were very helpful small donation worth a visit free entry local area
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 264 reviews
Reviewed today

This is a lovely house, serving as a free museum.
While there's very little to see inside the house, it's still worth a 5-minute visit, unless you are really interested in the history of the area.

Thank TheShis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

If we hadn't visited the Koala Hospital we would not have known about Roto House as they are next to each other. I know it's just an old house but it full of history and beautifully restored. It is run by volunteers and I don't think I have ever seen volunteers so keen to make sure you know everything. We were lucky to be met at the door by Jeannie who talk us through the whole house, explaining all the rooms and the full history of the family that lived there. There was another volunteer working and he seemed just as keen with other visitors. So make sure you leave 2-3 hours spare to see this house and the Koala Hospital.

Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2018

Go back in time to learn about a local family's history of how Port Macquarie was developed. The story will make you laugh & cry. I fell in love with this home & all it's history. I felt so at home here! Don't miss seeing this! And donations for the upkeep are recommended!

Thank bombergirlcorinne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2018

Very enjoyable tour of the house. The tour guides were very informative and knew a lot of history about the Flynn family. Lovely heritage home which has been maintained to a high standard

Thank Toni S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2018

This house is along side the Koala Hospital and well worth a visit. Again, no cost to enter, just a box to collect any gold coins. It's a lovely old home, quite large, and the furniture and art worth are worth a look.

Thank Jenn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2018 via mobile

Lovely heritage property with great information regarding the family and a historical look at their lives. House has been beautifully restored. On site with the koala hospital.

Thank Dorothy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2018

We were lucky to have a personal tour of the house from an american lady volunteer who was very knowledgable of its history.

Thank david m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2018

Well looked after to keep the history alive.....went back to 1890s for some time.....free entry...friendly staff....interesting historical information....can visit next door Koala hospital as well.....

1  Thank Luther07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2018

Beautifully restored colonial house which provides an insight into how some Australian early settlers lived, convicts excluded. The volunteer guides are more than happy to share their time and knowledge with all visitors. Make sure you also visit the koala hospital just at the rear of the house as not only will you see the patients but there is some interesting and educational information about these marsupials available and displayed. Entry is free at both places but a donation is appreciated and recommended considering the work they do.

1  Thank Grant T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2018

For a non-compulsory gold coin donation, this is a great value-for-money walk through local Victorian era history.

Photographs, documents and memorabilia add the personal touch that allows a glimpse into the encountered extremes, lifestyles and sacrifices of our pioneering ancestors. Volunteer guides share a wealth of knowledge to enhance the experience (thanks Sue) and the surrounds offer opportunities to relax and observe the plentiful bird life, and maybe the occasional koala.

If there aren't any koalas in the trees, you'll be sure to see them in the adjoining koala hospital which is also free (but feel free to make a donation). Parking is plentiful, free and the same for both attractions. Public conveniences are also available near the koala hospital.

Thank Greg M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews