We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Architecture”

St Thomas Anglican Church
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: It is fascinating to visit this historical church built by convicts 1824 - 1828 and gain an appreciation of the culture of the times by taking a guided tour. This church is still a place of worship.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good Architecture”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

I am not religious, but I appreciate good architecture. Excellent church, very peaceful and a short walk away from the town center. Go only if you like to see old buildings

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mumbaisking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    21
    1
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dorrigo, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Convict labour creates architectural beauty”
Reviewed June 20, 2014

We looked in at this gorgeous old building, mainly to see the convict hand-made bricks. We were greeted by a warm and friendly volunteer who knew lots of historical information and generously provided us with a backdrop to how and why the church is currently restored as it is.
We climbed right up several levels and onto the roof of the tower, which provided great views of the town.
Loved the wood panelling, the stone flooring and the general gravitas of the history.
Great spot to visit if you enjoy history and beautiful buildings!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne132014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killcare, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Amazing architecture”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

The church looks fairly modern from a distance, but up close the handmade bricks and wonderful cedar woodwork show it is nearly 200 years old and in marvellous condition because of the great renovations that have been done. The climb up the tower is quite an adventure.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely church and piece of history built by convicts”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Well worth a look in, actually they run tours of the church which unfortunately I didn't get to do, however I did attend a Sunday service which was great.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank happyveggiemite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
123 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Really worth a visit”
Reviewed December 18, 2013

It may not have stunning stained glass windows, or soaring cathedral ceilings, but St Thomas has cedar pews for convicts that many other places are unlikely to copy.

An interesting church, it is a different world inside with an elevated pulpit. One can access the organ and choir stalls from a fine staircase, and then a rooftop tower via a set of sturdy ladders. The view of the town and the river alone is worthwhile.

Run by volunteers, it is worth seeking out the times when the church is open for inspection.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Flashduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St Thomas Anglican Church also viewed

Port Macquarie, New South Wales
Port Macquarie, New South Wales
 

Been to St Thomas Anglican Church? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing