We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Slow service” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Eighteen Thirty Restaurant & Bar - CLOSED

Eighteen Thirty Restaurant & Bar
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Eighteen Thirty Restaurant offers elegant, contemporary dining exclusively for private functions, corporate dining, weddings, parties and special events.Located on level two of the Glasshouse, a chic design sets the tone for sophisticated dining with a menu of refined Australian cuisine to suit any occasion. Please note: Eighteen Thirty Restaurant is not open for general dining. Exclusive bookings only.
Forster, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Slow service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

From when we were seated at restaurant till our bread arrived was 1hr 45mins!!!
There were some small complimentary appetisers in fareness before that.
My main meal was very good (steak) and I enjoyed it very much. Some of the other meals were very average, small in portion and over priced, bottled wine prices were ridiculous and the service was average.
Several things that were ordered never arrived with no explanation other than we weren't going to be charged for them????
We had a great night and the venue is very good.
I won't be rushing back to this restaurant though.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank wallaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    2
    1
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
varsity
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“nomads”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

Had a family birthday there. Food was delicious and service great.
Best soft shelled crab I have ever eaten. View from the level1 looking over Port only enhanced the birthday. We were given plenty of time to decide and between meals. They have a long forgotten tradition of a sorbet between each course to cleanse your palate. A perfect place to celebrate a special occasion

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank cathaypaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QsineOwner, General Manager at Eighteen Thirty Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful feedback. We're very pleased we could make your birthday dinner a special celebration. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Dining in Port Maquarie”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

I was looking for somewhere special to take my wife for her birthday by accident we saw the menu whilst walking past and thought it was above average for the area.
On entering the place is quite romantic low lighting and good background music.
The menu is limited but all were very tasty looking I eventually plumped for the beef with risotto and my wife decided on the chicken we had a Bruschetta as a starter which arrived fantastically plated.
Between that and the main we were given a little taster from the chef which was Haloumi with a basil sauce it was superb.
The main course was divine the meat was cooked perfectly and the risotto was tasty we had ordered a green bean side dish which arrived slightly late with profuse apologies and to be told it wouldn't be added to the bill. I thought the handling of that was first class!
We decide to share the crème brule with ice cream and strawberries and it was heavenly!!
All in all the food was excellent the mood was perfect and the service was outstanding there was a balance between been excellent and too much it was friendly and professional.
We went home feeling we had had a special meal
I would recommend anyone in PM looking for a dining experience tries Eighteen Thirty.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Markymark911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QsineOwner, General Manager at Eighteen Thirty Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Thank you for your excellent review of Eighteen Thirty Restaurant. We're very pleased your wife enjoyed a special birthday dinner with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“For that somewhere or someone special”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

Silver service, nice setting and art crafted delicious food. Seafood was fresh and lamb and pork belly was all perfectly cooked to liking. Meals were all hot, fancy and the sauces and compliments were paired perfectly. Very impressive and good value and quality for money. We enjoyed all our meals and I highly recommend this restaurant and don't know how some people have given this a terrible rating. Far from it

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SamRwt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QsineOwner, General Manager at Eighteen Thirty Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Thank you for your excellent review. We're very pleased you enjoyed your dining experience at Eighteen Thirty Restaurant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“high quaity food and service to match”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

we had a great dining experience here last night.
Especially enjoyed the between courses offered both before and between our courses.
Not a lot of restaurants give free food away as palate pleasers and cleaners. Which bench marks a new addition to port macquarie restaurants.
We loved every second we were there on a regular basis. keep up the good work

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 4u2cy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QsineOwner, General Manager at Eighteen Thirty Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Thank you for your great review of our restaurant. We are very pleased you enjoyed your visit with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eighteen Thirty Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Port Macquarie, New South Wales
Port Macquarie, New South Wales
 
Port Macquarie, New South Wales
 
Port Macquarie, New South Wales
Port Macquarie, New South Wales
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing