We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good for eat in or takeaway”
Review of Northpoint Thai

Northpoint Thai
Ranked #49 of 228 Restaurants in Port Macquarie
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“good for eat in or takeaway”
Reviewed February 11, 2014

very friendly staff great location close to town! very accomplished thai food only sad thing no jungle curry :(
But love it anyway

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tonybouzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    86
    18
    10
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hits and Misses”
Reviewed January 26, 2014

I want to give Northpoint Thai 3.5 stars. I can't quite bring myself to push the rating to 4 stars, because - as others have said - the quality was inconsistent.
I chose the lamb shank massaman, which I liked, albeit the potatoes were poorly chosen.
We also had the special prawns, a green vege curry and a pad cashew stir-fry with chicken for the girls to share.
The sauces were pretty good, but there just wasn't quite enough love in the dishes. All the dishes were off balance with too much of a wrong thing in every one.
That isn't to say we didn't enjoy our meal - we did. The waiting staff, (a motley crew) were very accommodating and attentive. It's not the prettiest of locations, but it *is* right on the river and a short walk to Baskins and Robbins for ice-cream afterwards :-)
There just needs to be a little more care given to the substance of the dishes, to turn OK meals into meals you'd be happy to go back for.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ozofriendly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Macquarie, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
540 reviews
281 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 283 helpful votes
“Very good but needs consistency...”
Reviewed January 18, 2014

As locals we have visited twice ..the first time was great with generous servings but last week the quality seemed not as good eg the calamari salad was a bit 'soggy". Our veg stir fry was fairly small. It seemed really different in the tourist season with no umbrellas in the evening from the sun....the courtyard faces north and west. Service was very good and the tables are set very nicely.
Perhaps we would wait till quiet time again to return.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Beautiful Dining Experience”
Reviewed January 15, 2014

We just got home from having a lovely meal here. I agree with another reviewer, the fish cakes were oily, but very tasty! Chicken salad was OK, had lots of wonderful herbs, Thai basil, mint, coriander (so I do not believe the review about them not using any herbs!) the chicken was deep fried, quite a lot of batter, but the dish was lovely, could have been a bit hotter, thankfully we ordered chilli on the side, so were able to heat things up! Beef massamum was very very good! Not a lot of Thai restaurant's use the 'chunky' beef so I highly recommend it! It was cooked so it was falling apart in your mouth. Only downside to this restaurant is the waitress isn't well trained, she couldn't comment on any dishes nor did she seem to care much about the diners, she forgot to bring our rice and went and took another order when the rest of our food was at the table - and also when another lady came in and asked where she should sit, she shrugged her shoulders - she was a backpacker so just there for the money I guess. I think if they spent more money on qualified wait staff then they would have got 5 stars from me! An extra bonus was the lady owner allowed me to let my dog sit next to my table outside, my dog is very well behaved and didn't make a peep.. BYO was cheap !! We would defiantly go back for another night out here.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Foodlover8571
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadbeach, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good food and good service”
Reviewed January 10, 2014

We didn't have reservation and the place was packed.
Good food, fast friendly service.
Value for money
We will be back.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Davey192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Northpoint Thai also viewed

Port Macquarie, New South Wales
Port Macquarie, New South Wales
 
Port Macquarie, New South Wales
Port Macquarie, New South Wales
 

Been to Northpoint Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing