We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay, rooms and facilities are well above average”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Aston Hill Motor Lodge
Ranked #11 of 42 Hotels in Port Macquarie
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed May 29, 2009

We passed through Port Macquarie and stayed 2 nights here on a friend's recommendation. I trusted their judgement and was rewarded with a comfortable room with great amenities.

We stayed in the superior room. This was the second level of accommodation. It was a motel room with queen size bed, kitchenette, sofa and writing desk. The room was a good size and was quite comfortable. The beds are very good quality, no problems at all with sleeping here. The room was quite modern and featured good airconditioning and an LCD TV. The kitchen is quite well stocked so you could self cater if you wanted to. Make sure you try the shortbread biscuits they supply you with, these were quite good.

The motel style rooms open onto a terrace on the first floor. The terrace has tables and chairs and a BBQ. We found it quite pleasant to take breakfast here. As the cheaper rooms (like the one we stayed in) open onto the terrace it does reduce your privacy a little. If you pay a bit more you can get a room that is more private. We didn't have any problems during our stay.

The internet access is great. It was only $6 a night and it was a good quality connection.

The breakfast was good value. We ordered a few different items and they were well made.

The owners weren't exactly what you would call charismatic. Attempts to engage in conversation or to get more information about local attractions weren't very successful. However, they run a top quality establishment so I don't mind if they aren't overly friendly.

This is a well maintained and comfortable motel. A great place to stay if you're in Port Macquarie.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CharlesDP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (299)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

276 - 282 of 299 reviews

Reviewed May 9, 2009

This motel is an absolute gem. Clean, comfortable with everything you need at hand, fantastic large widescreen LCD TV's, best beds ever and so quiet that you get the best nights sleep. Wake up refreshed and ready for the yummiest bacon & eggs. Great spot, close to town yet not right in the middle of it so you don't have to worry about security and drunken behaviour from passers by. It is set in a residential street and has a lovely park in the front between the motel and the apartments. There are picnic tables on the grassed area and a lovely sunny deck to sit out on when staying in the motel rooms. We had a room with a balcony overlooking the park. We found the hosts to be extremely friendly & helpful, giving us a lift to the restaurant for dinner and providing lots of useful information about where to go and what to see in the local area. If you are in Port Macquarie be sure to stay at this motel, you won't regret it.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rescued1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2009

Overpriced and dated rooms. Parking was poor and the motel guests were loud.Felt unsafe in the general area for both ourselves and our car. "Hosts" were only interested in my money...not service. They were unable to assist in any travel plans and didn't even know how to use a phone card ! We found them to be "cold" and lazy. You can do a lot better than this for this area.Choice hotels need to check out this property....it will give them a bad reputation.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MiffedCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2009

We found this Hotel at the end of a cul de sac in a residential area. Check in was efficient and staff were helpful about facilities in the surrounding area. It was a short drive to shops and restaurants but the hotel itself was quiet and well equipped. We had large room leading on to a terrace area, with tables, chairs and BBQ right outside. We requested breakfast which was delivered on time freshly cooked and beautifully presented, and we were able to eat this outside in the sunshine. Dont stay here if you want lovely views but this aspect is made up for by the warmth of the welcome.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WinnieFareham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2009

We stayed here for a couple of nights en route from Sydney to Brisbane, and we’re glad we did.
The welcome was warm and genuine, the room was clean, spacious and well equipped – benefiting from a balcony, queen sized bed, large plasma TV with free cable channels, kitchenette with fridge, toaster, microwave etc. broadband and a reverse cycle air conditioning unit. There were ample supplies of tea, coffee etc and toiletries.
The motel is located in a quiet residential area about 3-minute drive or a 10-minute walk from the town centre. Parking was a bit cramped and seemed limited in capacity for a motel, unless there was some more that we did not see.
Whilst the motel itself does not have restaurant facilities it does have arrangements with a number of establishments in the town for guests to get discounts on meals and to charge the costs to the motels account so that all accommodation and dining costs can be settled with one payment to the motel at the end of the stay.
At $129 (£62) per night we felt our Deluxe Executive room was excellent value and would not hesitate to stay there again if in the area.
Any visit to Port MacQuarie should include a walk along the breakwater to read the painted rocks.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank landcruiserBJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2009

Good Motel. Was clean but seemed a bit dated in need of renovation.
Had a flatscreen T.V but was a very cheap and bad brand that was fuzzy.

Pool was small and there was no spa which was advertised on the website.

The location is down a small suburban street of a main road about a 5 minute drive into town.

When we checked out i didnt have any money on my credit card left so we went into town to try and get some more money put onto it and had to phone my bank in New Zealand.
When we returned the Receptionist and Owner was not happy at all and thought we had done a runner and had phoned the police.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ByronBay1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2009

What a fantastic motel at a fantastic price. We were very impressed with all aspects of this motel. The rooms were brilliant - modern, spacious, extremely clean and tastefully decorated. There was so much to love - the decor, the attention to detail (eg toiletries in the bathroom), the flat-screen TV, the air conditioning (it was stinking hot!)...I could go on.

The room did have that 'disinfectant motel smell' but hey, I'd rather that than some other nasty smell! And at least you know it's clean!

We have young children who wake up at the crack of dawn, so we loved the fact that the room had fantastic curtains on the front windows and a nice timber venetian on the small back window above the kitchenette, so the room was actually DARK at night (so many motel rooms aren't!) and STAYED dark until we opened the curtains. Our youngest actually slept in until just before breakfast was delivered! And whilst I'm on the topic of breakfast, it was great value, delivered on time and DELICIOUS!

The location might not be right in the centre of Port, but it is whisper quiet, and after having stayed a night on the highway during a stopover in Coffs the fortnight prior, this was heavenly. We live in a very quiet cul-de-sac in suburban Sydney, and the location of the motel was just as quiet as home.

The staff were extremely friendly, polite and helpful - genuinely nice people who were willing to strike up a conversation. We will definitely be returning here when we go on our next annual trip to the Gold Coast - I'm so glad I found it!

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julesmcm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Macquarie hotels
0.8 mi away
Mercure Centro Port Macquarie
Mercure Centro Port Macquarie
#9 of 42 in Port Macquarie
872 reviews
0.4 mi away
Waters Edge Port Macquarie
Waters Edge Port Macquarie
#17 of 42 in Port Macquarie
408 reviews
1.3 mi away
East Port Motor Inn
East Port Motor Inn
#4 of 42 in Port Macquarie
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Mid Pacific Motel
Mid Pacific Motel
#7 of 42 in Port Macquarie
336 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mantra The Observatory
Mantra The Observatory
#5 of 42 in Port Macquarie
1,588 reviews
1.2 mi away
ibis Styles Port Macquarie
ibis Styles Port Macquarie
#13 of 42 in Port Macquarie
561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston Hill Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Hill Motor Lodge

Address: 15 Mort St, Port Macquarie, New South Wales 2444, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Port Macquarie
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Port Macquarie
#5 Family Hotel in Port Macquarie
#7 Romantic Hotel in Port Macquarie
#8 Luxury Hotel in Port Macquarie
#11 Business Hotel in Port Macquarie
Price Range: $74 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aston Hill Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The latest in modern motel and apartment accommodation nestled in a quite residential cul-de-sac adjoining public parkland & gardens 140m away from a busy highway. Only 3 minutes drive to the centre of Port Macquarie. Registered 4 star facilities with the latest technology Large Screen TVs plus theatre surround sound in our apartments. In house bike hire facilities for rides along the Hastings River, offered free to guests returning the bikes before 9.00am. Office hours are from 7.30am until 9.00pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aston Hill Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Port Macquarie
Quality Inn Port Macquarie
Port Macquarie Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing