We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Port Macquarie
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (871)
Filter reviews
871 results
Traveler rating
375
299
121
38
38
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
375
299
121
38
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pool area panthers club shopping centre the river across the road settlement city restaurant staff water view king room buffet breakfast beautiful pool car park reception staff family room the gold coast views cheryl
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 871 reviews
Reviewed January 12, 2020

We did not have a good experience - we first arrived and the dates of our prepaid booking had been messed up, however the hotel did not allow us to transfer the booking, so we had to pay another night at a much higher rate. The attitude at reception was not at all understanding. In fact reception staff were unpersonable and rude. No welcome at all.
The room was clean & tidy. I asked for toothbrushes and was told that she would bring them to room if they had any and if can't find any that she just wouldn't come up!
I asked if my restaurant booking was still booked in on the correct date at reception and this seemed to be difficult to answer...it wasn't answered. We checked ourselves and it was booked.
No bar snacks or poolside snacks only light meals. Pool area and outlook over water lovely however the tiles around pool were very slippery and dangerous. I saw a person walking and slip over.others agreed that tiles unsafe. Little things like thin old beach towels not good enough.
Wasn't asked if I was member, or offered member benefits. I had to tell them and ask for welcome voucher and late checkout. The buffet bf was ok but coffee not - still serving percolated coffee rather than pod coffee.
For the money the room cost we expect little extras which Sails failed to offer. We certainly didn't feel like welcome guests.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank natalietW6297RQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nomad28532828174, General Manager at Sails Port Macquarie by Rydges, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear natalietW6297RQ,

Thank you for your review.

We do have a great reputation and it is disappointing to read the comments in relation to your stay. Of course we review the feedback and these form the basis for staff discussions and we look at ways to ensure we constantly improve.

Thank you for your detailed feedback; it certainly gives us great information and ways to improve.

We do hope we see you back again.

Regards,
Marcus Taylor
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2020 via mobile

He recently stayed here for 7 nights. Check in was fast, we booked a garden view room and got both garden and water views so that was a bonus. Pool area was nice but very noisy with all the kids- maybe an adults only pool in the near future
Overall it was a lovely stay

Date of stay: January 2020
1  Thank Rach0001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nomad28532828174, General Manager at Sails Port Macquarie by Rydges, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Rach0001,

Thank you for your review.

Whenever possible we will get all the hard work of signing in and boring things out as fast as we can so the relaxing can begin! We have been very busy with school holidays so agree the pool was very busy, not many kids around during the day now…you should come back!

Thanks again, hopefully see you back soon.

Regards,
Marcus Taylor
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2020

The customer service at this hotel was above excellent, the GM should be so proud of his front of desk team... I can’t imagine any room would be a poor location and the additional facilities ie the kayaks are great. We wished we had booked additional days from our trip from the Gold Coast to Sydney.

Date of stay: December 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank hartfieldservices
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nomad28532828174, General Manager at Sails Port Macquarie by Rydges, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2020

Dear hartfieldservices,

Thank you for your review.

I am very proud of the team here at Sails, we are fortunate to have a committed bunch of professionals who take great delight in ensuring our guests have an enjoyable stay with us.

We hope you stop over for longer on your next trip.

Regards,
Marcus Taylor
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2020 via mobile

Lovely resort in a great location overlooking the marina just on the fringes of Port Macquarie. Modern decor with clean and fresh rooms. We were lucky enough to be upgraded on arrival and had a lovely view of the marina. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the food was good. The gardens are great - be aware of the resident lizards: they’re completely harmless but will march right up to you in search of food! We would recommend Sails to any visitors to Port Macquarie.

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Emma_travelsLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nomad28532828174, General Manager at Sails Port Macquarie by Rydges, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2020

Dear Emma_travelsLondon,

Thank you for your review and your recommendation.

We are glad you had such a great stay with us and we love reading about our friendly staff. The marina view is always a treat with views of the river and town centre in the distance.

All the best for the New Year.

Regards,
Marcus Taylor
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2020 via mobile

Do not be fooled by the pictures online. The standard of the Sails has room for improvement. On a recent trip we found the pool area did not look well maintained. Empty glasses and plates around empty sun loungers, cushioning on sun loungers dirty and bits floating in pool. The furnishings in the room also a bit worn and tired and bathroom looked like it was ready for a renovation. Stains also noticed on the soft furnishings in lobby area. On the plus side the staff were very friendly and efficient, the beds were very comfortable, convenient parking and breakfast was ok. Appreciate we stayed in peak season but didn’t feel the standard of the hotel was justified in the price.

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank sdalton2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nomad28532828174, General Manager at Sails Port Macquarie by Rydges, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2020

Dear sdalton2016,

Thank you for your review.

I agree, we can always do better. The issues you pointed out do happen for moments in time. We always constantly review manning levels, systems and processes to constantly improve and prevent ongoing issues. Thanks for raising your concerns but please be assured we have addressed, or are in the process of correcting them.

Thanks again and all the best for the New Year.

Regards,
Marcus Taylor
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews