We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (780)
Filter reviews
780 results
Traveler rating
320
273
118
33
36
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
320
273
118
33
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviews panthers club pool area the river shopping centre across the road settlement city restaurant staff two single beds a water view room buffet breakfast king room beautiful pool reception staff car park mini bar family room tennis courts
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 780 reviews
Reviewed May 11, 2019

this is the place we always stay when we go to port macquarie the rooms are large ,service is always good and breakfast is also very good
we had a pool view room,pool was right out side our door , was not as noisy as i thought it would be ,lovely little verandah to sit on as well.

Room tip: water view rooms
Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jancolj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nomad28532828174, General Manager at Sails Port Macquarie by Rydges, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2019

Dear jancolj,

Thank you for your great review.

Generally the hotel is very quiet environment and our guests find it easy to unwind and soak up the views, also happy to see the breakfast was enjoyable.

We hope to see you back soon for another break.

Regards,
Marcus Taylor
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2019

It was first class all the way. Happy to recomend to anyone and I will always try stay here in the future.
pool looked amazing and the veiw was a million dollars.
resteraunt was nice and reasonable price.

Room tip: choose a room with Best View
Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank BC79traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nomad28532828174, General Manager at Sails Port Macquarie by Rydges, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2019

Dear BC79traveler,

Thank you for your review.

The ironman in Port Macquarie is such a great event and we always enjoy having the athletes around, certainly gives us some motivation to get fitter!

Your recommendation is appreciated and we hope you chose us again next year.

Regards,
Marcus Taylor
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2019 via mobile

Fabulous place to stay! We had a groupon so a few extra inclusions made it a very nice affordable stay! Pool area by the lake is very picturesque and the cabanas are great to enjoy some shade by the pool if you get there early enough to secure it! Staff were incredibly friendly and helpful!

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank 73talithap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nomad28532828174, General Manager at Sails Port Macquarie by Rydges, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2019

Dear 73talithap,

Thank you for your review.

I agree with your sentiments, Sails is a fabulous place! Our cabanas poolside are an easy place to relax and soak up the sunshine.
Staff friendly and helpful, what a pleasure to read. Thank you!

We hope you visit us again.

Regards,
Marcus Taylor
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2019

Stayed overnight on-route from Ballina back to Sydney. Am a repeat customer and will come back again. Service from Front Desk to Restaurant Staff were impeccable. Rooms are large and very clean. Bathrooms spotless. Pool fantastic. Location great.
Our room was next to the resaturant, and since no-one was outside my wife asked if the outdoor music could be turned down for our kids, and they quickly obliged. Cant rave enough about this place and look forward to coming back.

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Will B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nomad28532828174, General Manager at Sails Port Macquarie by Rydges, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2019

Dear willthemus,

Thank you for your review and a huge thank you for your repeated business!

A good stay in a hotel is always a sum of many smaller parts; it is with great pride I read we are ticking multiple ‘boxes’ which enables an overall enjoyable stay. We do pride ourselves on service and being a beautiful hotel and in beautiful environment just makes it hard not to enjoy.

Thank you again and we hope to see you back for a longer stay next time.

Regards,
Marcus Taylor
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2019 via mobile

We stayed at sails for 4 nights as a little get away trip from Sydney.

Upon arrival we were a little disappointed with the area. Driving into Sails felt like we were in a shopping centre Kmart, MacDonald etc opposite. The view from the rear of the hotel is beautiful with an outlook on the water! I definitely wanted to make sure we had one of those rooms so requested it at the check in. I was happy to pay extra if needed but the man said they were fully booked, “you don’t spend much time in your room anyway” he said. It was clear from our stay the hotel became less full each night and there would have been vacant rooms with a better outlook. I’m quite sure we had the worst hotel room at sails :-( never the less the hotel is nice, clean. modern and the pool and bar area are lovely.

Sails is around a 20 minute walk to the centre of Port Macquarie it’s a little out of the way and the walk at night seems a little dark and unsafe.

I’m not sure we would return to Port Macquarie again, there are quite a few undesirables in the area. We saw drunken people walking in their dressing gowns, people fighting on the street and many people drinking out of paper bottle bags near the children’s playground. If I had to Sails seems the best hotel.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank Cheryyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nomad28532828174, General Manager at Sails Port Macquarie by Rydges, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2019

Dear Cheryyl,
Thank you for your review.

It is disappointing to read your initial thoughts entering were not positive; we generally receive great praise in regards to our gardens and the fabulous views and location. We are located within walking distance to shops which is mostly seen as a positive.

I am sorry we were unable to accommodate an upgrade to a better room; we were full house for most of the school holidays. I will reiterate to the team though that we need to check daily for guests that have requested an upgrade as we may be able to accommodate part stays or if we have cancellations.

Port Macquarie is a small town and generally regarded as safe. It is unfortunate you encountered some inebriated people while exploring but that certainly is not a reflection of the entire town.

We do hope you give Port Macquarie and Sails another try as it is a friendly town in one of the most picturesque parts of the world (in my humble opinion!).

Regards,
Marcus Taylor
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews