We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (686)
Filter reviews
686 results
Traveler rating
260
248
113
31
34
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
260
248
113
31
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviews panthers club shopping centre the river pool area across the road settlement city restaurant staff two single beds renovated room water view beautiful pool buffet breakfast reception staff mini bar family room nice stay the gold coast
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 686 reviews
Reviewed September 16, 2018

Firstly, impressions of this refurbished hotel is good. Its fresh looking, has huge parking area, a nice wide driveway of concrete sweeps around a fountained garden bed at the front door.
Inside is just as nice - lots of light in a very high ceiling center area, very comfortable furniture and a nice breezy decor.
The bar area is tucked under a lower ceiling area to make it more intimate. The restaurant continues from this bar area and can be separated or melded to the bar area at will.
off the dining and lounge are is n irregular shaped deck area running from one side of the building out across the water and across the back with split levels, some newly timbered areas and/or large tiles.
Very attractive and everything quite new.
On the third side of the building where the deck ends, its a large flat and wide green grass area with some simple garden beds.
The room followed suite - fresh, simple but comfortable and exceptionally clean.
The noise problems:
1) In the hallways you could hear the constant low level hum of the buildings common area AC system. Unfortunately, this was also carried into our room as a background hum but also a vibration. I could in truth ignore it, but it drove my wife crazy.
2) the room had its own AC unit and worked well. However, after being on for about 30 minutes or so, it developed a buzz. Prodding the filter cover and around the unit could alter the tone, but not eliminate it. This was extremely annoying in a very short time. I am guessing internal expansion or contraction of its parts were to blame. I eventually was able to minimize it by trapping a folded tissue under the air-filter cover which seems to add a bit of twist to the units casing and reduced the buzz.
We turned the unit off to go to dinner, and on returning turned it back on and it was silent for its first 30 minutes and then the buzz returned again.
We had to turn it off and suffered through a very warm night.
3) Absolutely the worst thing was though that as we slept, the wind outside became quite blustery. We were woken by an extremely loud hooting like noise which only occurred on the strong gusts. But it was easily as loud as a car horn and not dissimilar.
Its seemed to be in the same corner of the room as the AC unit up on the wall, but outside the room on the balcony. We couldn't stand it. We opened and closed the doors, looked for gaps around the door frames, the gutters, we moved the balcony furniture all to no avail.
There were gaps around down-pipes from the guttering that disappeared under covers down the walls and I felt it was the particular direction and strength of the gusts behaving similarly to blowing across the top of a glass bottle to make a hooting sound. It may have been across the gutters down-pipe openings in the gutters themselves.
But it was terrible and nothing we could do about it at 1am.
It wasn't just us alone either - we could hear the same sound in at least three different places along the same side of the building as ours - I could tell because they sounded further away and they were a concerto along the building as the gusts ebbed and succeeded. We also heard someone else open their balcony door and obviously look around for the source same as we did.
4) the wind died down enough to grab some sleep around 4.30am or so. At 5.30am or so, a garbage truck drove into the reception area and stopped at an area with garbage skips and emptied the glass recycling!!! On a sunday morning!!!
Our room overlooked the car parking and reception entrance, On the far side is the hotels garbage area - unavoidable with the building being on a point of land out into the river. I can understand that.Its kept clean and tidy and no odors. But being emptied at 5.30am on a sunday morning? It sounded like large chains being dropped from a height on to the concrete.
We got up, showered and dressed and were the first peole for breakfast at 6.30am. Then checked out and got out of there.
I'm sorry - nice bones to the hotel, but poorly sorted in regards to guest stays and they need an engineer to sort out the AC units and the howling around the building. I cannot believe they haven't been complained about previously - no way they could have been noticed this long and previously reported.

Room Tip: Water side may be quieter. But don't really know for sure.
  • Stayed: September 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ss210154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickGMofSails, General Manager at Sails Port Macquarie by Rydges, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2018

Dear ss210154,

Thank you for your review of Sails Port Macquarie by Rydges.

We appreciate your kind sentiment regarding the renovations, layout of the resort, landscaping, cleanliness of your room and service from our F&B staff.

We did experience extremely high winds on Sunday the 16th of September throughout the entire Port Macquarie region which is unfortunately out of our control. The building does have areas where wind can cause above normal sound during these unseasonal winds and we do apologize this affected your sleep this night. We will address the garbage pickup so early on a weekend morning with our garbage collecting contractor.

We do hope you will join us again as our guest on your next visit to the Mid North Coast.

Kind Regards,

Nick McLaughlin
General Manager


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2018

Love staying here - my go to choice when in Port Macquarie for work. I had cause to visit again last week, the whole place has been renovated since the last time I was here and they have done a great job. Other members of my team were here for a couple of days for a workshop a few weeks ago and were full of praise for the conference facilities and service.

Stayed: September 2018
Thank MargsandGlenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickGMofSails, General Manager at Sails Port Macquarie by Rydges, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2018

Dear MargsandGlenn,

Thank you for your review of Sails Port Macquarie by Rydges.

We have many loyal corporate travellers and we're very pleased to have you return again, post our renovation works. The new Cape Ballroom and other conference facilities have all had a major facelift and we look forward to you attending an event with us in the future.

We trust we will see you again on your next visit with us in Port Macquarie.

Kind Regards,

Nick McLaughlin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2018

The resort was spectacular! Kids enjoyed the pool, breakfast in the morning at the restaurant was beautiful. The reception and staff members were brilliant and helpful, the house keeping were also helpful and when you needed something it will get done straight away.

Room Tip: By the water view
  • Stayed: September 2018, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank petertsintis5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickGMofSails, General Manager at Sails Port Macquarie by Rydges, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2018

Dear petertsintis5,

Thank you for your review of Sails Port Macquarie by Rydges.

We agree the resort is truly spectacular! It’s great to read you enjoyed the pool area, breakfast in the Boathouse Restaurant, and the warm and welcoming service from our housekeeping and reception staff. We pride ourselves on going above and beyond for our guests and are grateful this was noticed during your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Sails on your next visit to Port Macquarie.

Kind Regards,

Nick McLaughlin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2018

We held two industry workshops at this venue. It's the first time we've been back since the renovations and they are spectacular. The new conference facilities are excellent and the accommodation rooms are very comfortable.

Room Tip: Water Views are great
  • Stayed: September 2018, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank normcahill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickGMofSails, General Manager at Sails Port Macquarie by Rydges, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2018

Dear normcahill,

Thank you very much for your review of Sails Port Macquarie by Rydges.

Our conference and events facility is a new addition to the property after the extensive renovation and we’re very pleased to read you enjoyed your industry workshops here in the Cape Ballroom. It is a truly stunning space!

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next event or even for some social/relaxing R&R in the other beautiful facilities of the resort.

Kind Regards,

Nick McLaughlin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2018 via mobile

This resort is in a lovely position to take in views of the marina. The kids enjoyed the pool and the front office staff were great. Very professional and welcoming.
We arrived after a 10 hour drive and got there 30 minutes before the restaurant closed.
We went to the desk to be seated and the waitress proceeded to discuss when they were closing etc in a loud voice while staring at us.
She then came over and said you can only sit here because the restaurant is closing... we sat and had menus dropped in front of us. She then came back and reached across the table to put water in the four glasses... normally this wouldn’t bother me much... but this restaurant charges $40+ a main!! If we were about to spend a minimum of $200 for dinner and had only spent $190 on the room we would expect friendly, professional service! Needless to say we left and grabbed dinner from Zambreros across the road.
Hotel great! Restaurant poor!

Stayed: September 2018, traveled with family
Thank Karla C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickGMofSails, General Manager at Sails Port Macquarie by Rydges, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2018

Dear Karla C,

Thank you for your review of Sails Port Macquarie by Rydges.

We're pleased to read you enjoyed the pool area, front office staff service, and views of the resort over the marina.

My sincere apologies your experience in the Boathouse Bar & Restaurant was not a pleasurable one. I will ensure the feedback is passed on to our service team in the venue to ensure they are providing the same service levels as our other departments within the resort.

On your next return to Port Macquarie I can be reached on 6589 5155 to organize a pleasant experience in our F&B venue.

Kind Regards,

Nick McLaughlin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews