We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great first impression! Will return” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sails Resort Port Macquarie - by Rydges

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sails Resort Port Macquarie - by Rydges
Ranked #11 of 42 Hotels in Port Macquarie
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great first impression! Will return”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2009

I had not been to Port Macquarie before and was not quite sure what to expect. Staff were helpful and friendly. Hotel is well located and easy to find. Restaurant has great views and the lunch menu was quite varied. I didn't have time to try the facilities but next time will definitely return for leisure!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mtraveller83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    191
    85
    25
    25
See reviews for
124
225
19
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cremorne
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2009

We had a very nice room with superb views , and were very happy .
However the restaurant at the hotel was a shocker , the wine glasses were dirty , my steak was chewy and over cooked ,the scollops were bland and served with the row under a pool of white sauce. Wine list again needs work poor quality wines for the price.

No discount was offered (only free dessert) which we didnt want .
That night we were woken up twice with people partying and jumping into the pool till 2am , I made 2 phone calls the first at 12am and again at 2am .
The next morning we had appoligies but no discount , I was told the manager would call me today ..guess what no phone call .so i had to let everyone know via this Email. I spent $279 for 2 .so please avoid til they get there act together . Regards
Clive Heritage

  • Liked — the room and views
  • Disliked — noisey party goers
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HeritageCremorne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2009

We stayed at this hotel as part of our reccie from Brisbane to Sydney.

The hotel was ideal for our needs. Very clean, a jacuzi and pool for a refreshing dip after the long drive and plenty of places to eat surrounding.

Ok so the interior may be a little out dated but its still a great base if you are travelling and on a budget. It cost us £60 for a double room.....bargain!

  • Liked — Very Friendly
  • Disliked — Little bit out dated interior
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank NicandNat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2009

We stayed at the Sails resort for 2 nights in December on our way to Brisbane. Let me first say how friendly and polite the staff were....they were very helpful and could not have been nicer. However, the hotel itself we found was not as per the description. We booked an executive suite and paid a little extra for as it was for our belated honeymoon. The first suite we were allocated had a fantastic view of the marina and was on the groundfloor. However, the patio doors didn't lock properly and could have easily been broken into. When we spoke to the staff about it their first reply was - it does lock but i wouldn't worry we don't get any crime. I also noted a toe nail on the floor in the room (not ours) and the bathroom was very outdated with dirty grouting and toilet brush! After we made it clear we wouldn't stay in that room (as all our belongings etc would be in it) we were allocated one on the second floor - with no lift for suitcases! However, the staff were very accomodating. The second room was better but again, the bathroom needed updating and it didn't quite live up to the price per night. The rooms were large in space but an uncomfortable bed and don't use the Spa bath! The hotel also claimed we would have reserved parking when booking an Executive Suite - don't listen to this as there is plenty of parking regardless of room type - it just means that you have one closest to the hotel door! All in all, friendly staff but the hotel is overated and not like the photo's shown on it's website. I wouldn't recommend this hotel nor stay in it again as it's very overpriced for what you get. I also would not recommend this for couples as it is family orientated.

  • Liked — Friendly Staff
  • Disliked — Cleanliness and outdated rooms
  • Stayed December 2008
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Cat333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new south wales
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2009

This place must have been great in it's hey day. Still it was not a bad place to stay. The kids loved the indoor and outdoor spa and pool and looking at the fishes in the pond in the lobby.
We paid around $155 winter rate for a family room with a water view. The room was clean, spacious, with a small kitchenette, bath tub and bath robes. We had the option of a breakfast buffet and although I only had a cappucino, the buffet selection was quite good with the outdoor deck of the restaurant having a million dollar view.
Sails was basically across the road from Settlement City shopping centre and Panthers club. The grounds are well maintained with a full waterfront walk near the harbour- this view is lovely at night.
This resort was quiet, clean and although slightly outdated, it was good value for money.

  • Liked — balcony with the view
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank joybellNewSouthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2009

Resort Sails is our number one pick for Port Macquarie. We have stayed here every year for the last 9 years -sometimes for an extended stay and other times as an overnighter. It's our home away from home.

As a family (we have 2 kids, aged 3 and 5) we find that Sails meets our needs.
* 24 hour check in - no stress if we're checking in late because of holiday traffic.
* clean and comfortable rooms
* good beds for the kids
* close to shops and restaurants
* a bath (our kids prefer a bath to shower)
* a kitchenette (for our really early morning breakfast)
* good air conditioning
* non smoking
* good pricing

We usually book a studio garden room and this suits our needs. It has a queen bed and two single beds in an open plan room. The kids are still at the age where they think it is great that mum and dad are in the same room!
The hotel also has a little playground for kids and a pool. Resort Sails is located opposite McDonalds and a shopping centre and is about a 15 minute walk from the town centre of Hastings St where the majority of restaurants are located.

On the slightly negative side, the last couple of times we visited we found it harder to find a car park as wedding receptions were being held. I also agree with the other reviews that have mentioned noise from the pool. It will be noisy if you have a room by the pool. A little note on Port Macquarie itself, because of the proximity of the canals, bugs (sand flies) are more prevalent at certain times of the year. I know from experience that sand fly bites are incredibly itchy and those little red bumps hang around for a while. Bring skin repellent if you are sensitive to bites and you'll have no problem.

Port Macquarie is a lovely town that is great for families with young kids. We spend time at the beach and the local playgrounds. We also like to hang out in the town centre eating our ice creams while looking out for dolphins along the foreshore. The local restaurants are good (The Pancake Place and the China Wall are our favourites in the town centre).
During our last visit we picked hydroponic strawberries - an enjoyable way to spend an hour or so in any type of weather - the kids enjoyed picking their strawberries and eating them afterwards!

  • Liked — The layout of the room. Great for families.
  • Disliked — FInding a car park during peak periods.
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank novacastrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2007

We arrived late and left early. So what we saw and experienced was ok. Room service was good and very quick. The only thing that bothered us a little was the room smelt smokey.

  • Liked — Location and room service
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kazintrepid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Macquarie hotels
0.7 mi away
Rydges Port Macquarie
Rydges Port Macquarie
#12 of 42 in Port Macquarie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 871 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mercure Centro Port Macquarie
Mercure Centro Port Macquarie
#10 of 42 in Port Macquarie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 808 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ki-ea Apartments
Ki-ea Apartments
#5 of 42 in Port Macquarie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Waters Edge Port Macquarie
Waters Edge Port Macquarie
#21 of 42 in Port Macquarie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mantra The Observatory
Mantra The Observatory
#3 of 42 in Port Macquarie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,222 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mantra Quayside Apartments Port Macquarie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sails Resort Port Macquarie - by Rydges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sails Resort Port Macquarie - by Rydges

Property: Sails Resort Port Macquarie - by Rydges
Address: 20 Park St, Port Macquarie, New South Wales 2444, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Port Macquarie
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Port Macquarie
#4 Spa Hotel in Port Macquarie
#6 Business Hotel in Port Macquarie
#10 Luxury Hotel in Port Macquarie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sails Resort Port Macquarie - by Rydges 4.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sails Resort Port Macquarie by Rydges on Pelican Bay - Port Macquarie's only absolute waterfront resort. Whether you're travelling for work or play we will endeavour to make your stay relaxed and comfortable. Enjoy the relaxed, tranquil setting and experience the highest level of service and leisure facilities, now with Free Unlimited Wi-Fi. Our Port Macquarie Hotel has 83 fully appointed rooms provide room service and 24 hour reception for our guests.Conveniently located a few minutes from the CBD. Sails Resort Port Macquarie by Rydges Hotel provides easy access to the Glasshouse entertainment venue, main beach, shops, restaurants, bars and night spots. Sails Resort Port Macquarie by Rydges is a unique venue providing professional conference facilities in tranquil surroundings. Every conference, meeting and event is tailored to suit your need. Our Port Macquarie Hotel offers 6 versatile meeting rooms, catering for up to 150 delegates. Our experienced team will personally manage your event from the initial enquiry through to the successful completion. Sails Resort Port Macquarie by Rydges is half a day's drive north from Sydney and three hours from Newcastle. Port Macquarie is serviced by multiple daily flights from Sydney and Brisbane. Travelling by car from Sydney, follow the Pacific Highway and take the Port Macquarie exit turning right onto Hastings River Drive. Follow this road until you reach a roundabout and turn left into Park Street. Complimentary parking is available in the resort's off-street private car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Sails Resort Port Macquarie - by Rydges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Resort Sails Hotel Port Macquarie
Quality Hotel Port Macquarie
Quality Inn Port Macquarie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing