We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Place to relax and stay with Children”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sails Resort Port Macquarie - by Rydges
Ranked #9 of 42 Hotels in Port Macquarie
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good Place to relax and stay with Children”
Reviewed January 10, 2014

Fair enough the Facility does look tired and in need of an update, which the Manager said is planned for 2014 but surely as long as the Facility is clean (which it was) that is not going to stop you have a good time, unless you set out from the start to pick a place to bits.

I stayed with two grandchildren and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We swam in the pool, relaxed in the Spas (indoor & outdoor), had a Sauna, played mini-golf, the children fished and (they could have canoed on the river and played Tennis if they wanted) all with equipment supplied by the Facility.

We were able to get a light meal on the deck (out choice to sit there as we were in swimmers) outside the dining room, Sliders and chips, mid-afternoon after a swim on day of arrival when we realised we hadn't eaten since a mid-trip morning tea. Try doing that at some Hotels outside so called 'Meal Times'. There was plenty to choose from for breakfast, we ate lunch (2 adults, 2 children) in the dinning room and enjoyed the experience. Food was very good, good size servings and the Passion Fruit Curd Tart was yummy. O.K. not Club prices but go there (It's across the road) if you don't want good quality food and are prepared to pay the price. We ate lunch at the Pancake place in town and for 3 of us (2 minis meals and 2 desserts and 3 milkshakes), yes we shared and it came to $73.00 and I can assure you it was not served with a smile!

Everyone we came into contact with, Reception, Dining Room, Housekeeping, all were the friendliest I have encountered. Smiling, helpful and also knowledgeable.

Our room was a good size, well set out and everything worked. Ample seating inside and on the veranda. Plenty of storage and if I had wanted to cook all that I would need was supplied.
Everything was clean, the beds comfortable.

Will definitely being staying at Sails again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dink_45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, Manager at Sails Resort Port Macquarie - by Rydges, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to supply some feedback regarding your stay at Sails. You are correct, the hotel has planned for a full refurb in 2014 and first four design rooms have been scheduled for mid February. I was pleased that you found the hotel clean, staff friendly and the facilities suited your needs. I have also passed on your feedback to the Food & Beverage Manager and the Executive Chef who both thank you for your comments.
Thank you again for taking the time to express some feedback regarding your stay. There are big chances planned for 2014 and I hope to be able to welcome you back to see and enjoy the hotel again.

Kind Regards
Michael Sharp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    201
    89
    25
    27
See reviews for
130
238
19
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Very good location but not good value for the 4 star rates charged. The facilities and furnishings are basic longing for upgrades. The restaurant is overpriced and not much choice. e.g Chipboard vanity in bathrooms and housekeeping need a revamp.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben07132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, Manager at Sails Resort Port Macquarie - by Rydges, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay. You may be pleased to know that Sails is undergoing a full refurbishment in 2014 where all the hotels Furnishings and Bathrooms will be updated. Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back to the hotel once the refurb is completed.

Kind Regards
Michael Sharp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

We stayed there for a few days while traveling around NSW over Christmas. This is what we needed great friendly staff fantastic views and plenty for the kids to do canoeing, fishing it was great will definitely stay there again when in Port Macquarie.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, Manager at Sails Resort Port Macquarie - by Rydges, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Thank you for your lovely feedback. Hope you enjoyed your Christmas and New Year. Happy travels around the rest of NSW, hope to see you next time.

Kind Regards
Michael Sharp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

Sails is set in a perfect location. We had a great room overlooking the marina and got a birds eye view of the New Year's Eve fireworks. 2 things Rydges need to do....please direct housekeeping staff to wait till guests vacate their room before making up rooms for the day, and sort out the gate crashers who come in and use the pool, spa and sauna......Maybe put a security person on pool lookout rather than asking the maintenance man to turf them out!
Amanda who checked us in was very polite and helpful.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank fifilamor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, Manager at Sails Resort Port Macquarie - by Rydges, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Thank you for your kind a positive feedback regarding your stay at Sails Resort Port Macquarie by Rydges. I am glad you enjoyed the hotels location and outlook for Port Macquarie’s New Years Eve celebrations. I have informed the Executive Housekeeper of your comments regarding the time rooms are being serviced, she agrees that this should not be happening and will be discussing it with her staff. Thank you also for your mention regarding pool security, I will look into this personally and see what measures we can use to keep these gate crashers out.
Thank you again for taking the time to supply your feedback regarding your stay. Guest reviews are vital to the hotel as it helps us to see areas which may need improvement. Without your comments I may never have known that these issues existed, now I am aware, I can monitor and ensure changes are being made for our guests best interests.
Thank you again. I hope to be able to welcome you back to Sails Resort Port Macquarie by Rydges for a future stay.

Kinds Regards
Michael Sharp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wagga Wagga, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

I holidayed alone, and did not have a car. Was able to walk to the CBD and to Day Spa. Staff were friendly and gave great service. Spinnaker's restaurant introduced a new menu whilst I was there and it was absolutely fabulous, I worked my way through it over five days. The food was divine, as were the pre dinner cocktails.
Nearby was a shopping centre, clubs and other restaurants.

Room Tip: Pay the extra money to get a room with a water view, it is worth it. I saw dolphins from my door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tabbybaggins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, Manager at Sails Resort Port Macquarie - by Rydges, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful feedback regarding your stay. I was so pleased to read that you enjoyed the location of the hotel and Spinnakers Restaurant. I am glad you enjoyed your holiday and hope to welcome you back to Sails Resort Port Macquarie by Rydges.

Kind Regards
Michael Sharp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

We wanted to have a nice stop on our journey from Noosa to Sydney and pay more for the Port Macquarie hotel so we could enjoy the views (night price was 460 AUD, late Dec).

Stunning location, nice pool, lovely view from our room and good fun to take out the hotels two free canoes.

Front desk service was ok.

We booked an executive suite and we were disappointed to have to pay additional for wifi and not even a complimentary bottle of water. Room also a bit dated.

Pleasant, but not amazing.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, Manager at Sails Resort Port Macquarie - by Rydges, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to express your feedback regarding your stay at Sails Resort Port Macquarie by Rydges. It was such a pleasure to read that you enjoyed the location of the hotel on the Hastings River and the complimentary canoes. Getting out on the river at dawn is absolutely wonderful. I also appreciate your comments regarding the hotel Wi-Fi. With Rydges recently taking over, a full hotel refurb is planned for 2014. With the refurb of accommodation rooms, restaurant and conferencing facilities, the hotel Wi-Fi will be completely upgraded.
Thank you again for expressing your feedback. I hope you enjoyed your Christmas and New Years as well as your time in Noosa and Sydney. I hope to welcome you back to Sails Resort for a future stay.

Kind Regards
Michael Sharp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosford, Australia
1 review
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Room a little small, bed a little hard, but staff couldn't do enough for you, very helpfully. Special mention for Rachelle from the Events dept. extremely helpful. Christmas lunch was nice but perhaps a couple of choices for desert, not everyone likes Christmas pudding. Location is excellent, everything at your figure tips. Thanks.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Narelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, Manager at Sails Resort Port Macquarie - by Rydges, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Thank you for your great feedback regarding your recent stay at Sails Resort Port Macquarie by Rydges. I have passed on your special mention to Rachelle who said "it was her pleasure". I will also pass on your feedback regarding the dessert options for Christmas to the Executive Chef and Food & Beverage Manager to discuss what they could do next year.
Thank you again for your feedback. I hope you had a nice Christmas and wish you all the best for the New Year.

Kind Regards
Michael Sharp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Macquarie hotels
0.7 mi away
Rydges Port Macquarie
Rydges Port Macquarie
#12 of 42 in Port Macquarie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 885 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ki-ea Apartments
Ki-ea Apartments
#3 of 42 in Port Macquarie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mercure Centro Port Macquarie
Mercure Centro Port Macquarie
#10 of 42 in Port Macquarie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Waters Edge Port Macquarie
Waters Edge Port Macquarie
#20 of 42 in Port Macquarie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mantra The Observatory
Mantra The Observatory
#5 of 42 in Port Macquarie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,321 reviews
0.8 mi away
Macquarie Waters Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sails Resort Port Macquarie - by Rydges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sails Resort Port Macquarie - by Rydges

Property: Sails Resort Port Macquarie - by Rydges
Address: 20 Park St, Port Macquarie, New South Wales 2444, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Port Macquarie
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Port Macquarie
#4 Spa Hotel in Port Macquarie
#6 Business Hotel in Port Macquarie
#8 Luxury Hotel in Port Macquarie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sails Resort Port Macquarie - by Rydges 4.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sails Resort Port Macquarie by Rydges on Pelican Bay - Port Macquarie's only absolute waterfront resort. Whether you're travelling for work or play we will endeavour to make your stay relaxed and comfortable. Enjoy the relaxed, tranquil setting and experience the highest level of service and leisure facilities, now with Free Unlimited Wi-Fi. Our Port Macquarie Hotel has 83 fully appointed rooms provide room service and 24 hour reception for our guests.Conveniently located a few minutes from the CBD. Sails Resort Port Macquarie by Rydges Hotel provides easy access to the Glasshouse entertainment venue, main beach, shops, restaurants, bars and night spots. Sails Resort Port Macquarie by Rydges is a unique venue providing professional conference facilities in tranquil surroundings. Every conference, meeting and event is tailored to suit your need. Our Port Macquarie Hotel offers 6 versatile meeting rooms, catering for up to 150 delegates. Our experienced team will personally manage your event from the initial enquiry through to the successful completion. Sails Resort Port Macquarie by Rydges is half a day's drive north from Sydney and three hours from Newcastle. Port Macquarie is serviced by multiple daily flights from Sydney and Brisbane. Travelling by car from Sydney, follow the Pacific Highway and take the Port Macquarie exit turning right onto Hastings River Drive. Follow this road until you reach a roundabout and turn left into Park Street. Complimentary parking is available in the resort's off-street private car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Sails Resort Port Macquarie - by Rydges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Resort Sails Hotel Port Macquarie
Quality Hotel Port Macquarie
Quality Inn Port Macquarie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing