We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great friendly Place With Heaps To Do..........”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sails Resort Port Macquarie - by Rydges
Ranked #11 of 42 Hotels in Port Macquarie
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We stayed there for a few days while traveling around NSW over Christmas. This is what we needed great friendly staff fantastic views and plenty for the kids to do canoeing, fishing it was great will definitely stay there again when in Port Macquarie.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank Terry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, Manager at Sails Resort Port Macquarie - by Rydges, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Thank you for your lovely feedback. Hope you enjoyed your Christmas and New Year. Happy travels around the rest of NSW, hope to see you next time.

Kind Regards
Michael Sharp

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (577)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

450 - 456 of 577 reviews

Reviewed January 1, 2014

Sails is set in a perfect location. We had a great room overlooking the marina and got a birds eye view of the New Year's Eve fireworks. 2 things Rydges need to do....please direct housekeeping staff to wait till guests vacate their room before making up rooms for the day, and sort out the gate crashers who come in and use the pool, spa and sauna......Maybe put a security person on pool lookout rather than asking the maintenance man to turf them out!
Amanda who checked us in was very polite and helpful.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
Thank fifilamor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, Manager at Sails Resort Port Macquarie - by Rydges, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2014

Thank you for your kind a positive feedback regarding your stay at Sails Resort Port Macquarie by Rydges. I am glad you enjoyed the hotels location and outlook for Port Macquarie’s New Years Eve celebrations. I have informed the Executive Housekeeper of your comments regarding the time rooms are being serviced, she agrees that this should not be happening and will be discussing it with her staff. Thank you also for your mention regarding pool security, I will look into this personally and see what measures we can use to keep these gate crashers out.
Thank you again for taking the time to supply your feedback regarding your stay. Guest reviews are vital to the hotel as it helps us to see areas which may need improvement. Without your comments I may never have known that these issues existed, now I am aware, I can monitor and ensure changes are being made for our guests best interests.
Thank you again. I hope to be able to welcome you back to Sails Resort Port Macquarie by Rydges for a future stay.

Kinds Regards
Michael Sharp

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

I holidayed alone, and did not have a car. Was able to walk to the CBD and to Day Spa. Staff were friendly and gave great service. Spinnaker's restaurant introduced a new menu whilst I was there and it was absolutely fabulous, I worked my way through it over five days. The food was divine, as were the pre dinner cocktails.
Nearby was a shopping centre, clubs and other restaurants.

Room Tip: Pay the extra money to get a room with a water view, it is worth it. I saw dolphins from my door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tabbybaggins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, Manager at Sails Resort Port Macquarie - by Rydges, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2014

Thank you for your wonderful feedback regarding your stay. I was so pleased to read that you enjoyed the location of the hotel and Spinnakers Restaurant. I am glad you enjoyed your holiday and hope to welcome you back to Sails Resort Port Macquarie by Rydges.

Kind Regards
Michael Sharp

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We wanted to have a nice stop on our journey from Noosa to Sydney and pay more for the Port Macquarie hotel so we could enjoy the views (night price was 460 AUD, late Dec).

Stunning location, nice pool, lovely view from our room and good fun to take out the hotels two free canoes.

Front desk service was ok.

We booked an executive suite and we were disappointed to have to pay additional for wifi and not even a complimentary bottle of water. Room also a bit dated.

Pleasant, but not amazing.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank Helen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, Manager at Sails Resort Port Macquarie - by Rydges, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to express your feedback regarding your stay at Sails Resort Port Macquarie by Rydges. It was such a pleasure to read that you enjoyed the location of the hotel on the Hastings River and the complimentary canoes. Getting out on the river at dawn is absolutely wonderful. I also appreciate your comments regarding the hotel Wi-Fi. With Rydges recently taking over, a full hotel refurb is planned for 2014. With the refurb of accommodation rooms, restaurant and conferencing facilities, the hotel Wi-Fi will be completely upgraded.
Thank you again for expressing your feedback. I hope you enjoyed your Christmas and New Years as well as your time in Noosa and Sydney. I hope to welcome you back to Sails Resort for a future stay.

Kind Regards
Michael Sharp

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Room a little small, bed a little hard, but staff couldn't do enough for you, very helpfully. Special mention for Rachelle from the Events dept. extremely helpful. Christmas lunch was nice but perhaps a couple of choices for desert, not everyone likes Christmas pudding. Location is excellent, everything at your figure tips. Thanks.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Narelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, Manager at Sails Resort Port Macquarie - by Rydges, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2013

Thank you for your great feedback regarding your recent stay at Sails Resort Port Macquarie by Rydges. I have passed on your special mention to Rachelle who said "it was her pleasure". I will also pass on your feedback regarding the dessert options for Christmas to the Executive Chef and Food & Beverage Manager to discuss what they could do next year.
Thank you again for your feedback. I hope you had a nice Christmas and wish you all the best for the New Year.

Kind Regards
Michael Sharp

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Stay here recently, booked a room 6 months ago and ended up with a room over the car park. Very noisy when cars exiting the place after numerous functions over the 2 days and nearby room doors constantly slamming shut when people leave, especially early morning. very disappointing when sails has the opportunity to be a really good place.

definately would not stay here again, way to over priced for what it is.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aussieboone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, Manager at Sails Resort Port Macquarie - by Rydges, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2013

Thank you for supplying the hotel with this feedback regarding your stay. I wish I was able to check your reservation details to find out more about the room you booked, unfortunately I am unable do this via tripadvisor. Please feel free to get in touch with me at the hotel if you wish to discuss further, I would appreciate the opportunity to do so.
Wishing you a safe Christmas and a happy New Year.

Kind Regards
Michael Sharp

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2013

This was our third year in a row staying here. We love it because we find it relaxing - kids swim in the pool while I can read nearby hubby fishes off the jetty. Shopping centre straight across the road is good too. We arrived late afternoon & checked in. We had requested a room where we had stayed previously however this hadn't been noticed. I asked about changing (which was difficult due to bookings for the next night). The ladies at reception put in a great effort to work it out for us & we ended up close to where we want to be - we were very grateful for their efforts. And the rooms we like are overlooking the playground. We can sit outside our room & the kids can play happily. There's also tennis & a very dodgy old mini golf course (it's still fun though). The rooms are dated but very clean. Kids got a single bed each. Kitchenette was perfect - big fridge & a microwave. Table & chairs too. Parking is free. Overall, this is not a big fancy resort, we didn't notice any difference since the Rydges takeover, but the staff are friendly and we find it really relaxing.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Blueysmrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, Manager at Sails Resort Port Macquarie - by Rydges, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to supply some feedback regarding your recent stay. I always enjoy talking to regular guests and hearing what they have to say. I am so pleased to hear that the hotel staff were able to do everything they could to accommodate you and your family, sorry that your request had not been originally noted. You may be pleased to know that the hotel is planning a full refurb for all rooms from January 2014. I hope, as regular guests, you will be as excited as I to see the planned changes.

Kind Regards
Michael Sharp

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Macquarie hotels
0.7 mi away
Rydges Port Macquarie
Rydges Port Macquarie
#12 of 42 in Port Macquarie
930 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mercure Centro Port Macquarie
Mercure Centro Port Macquarie
#8 of 42 in Port Macquarie
888 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ki-ea Apartments
Ki-ea Apartments
#4 of 42 in Port Macquarie
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Waters Edge Port Macquarie
Waters Edge Port Macquarie
#17 of 42 in Port Macquarie
419 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mantra The Observatory
Mantra The Observatory
#5 of 42 in Port Macquarie
1,735 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sandcastle Apartments Port Macquarie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sails Resort Port Macquarie - by Rydges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sails Resort Port Macquarie - by Rydges

Address: 20 Park St, Port Macquarie, New South Wales 2444, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Port Macquarie
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Port Macquarie
#4 Spa Hotel in Port Macquarie
#6 Business Hotel in Port Macquarie
Price Range: $131 - $240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sails Resort Port Macquarie - by Rydges 3.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sails Resort Port Macquarie by Rydges on Pelican Bay - Port Macquarie's only absolute waterfront resort. Whether you're travelling for work or play we will endeavour to make your stay relaxed and comfortable. Enjoy the relaxed, tranquil setting and experience the highest level of service and leisure facilities, now with Free Unlimited Wi-Fi. Our Port Macquarie Hotel has 83 fully appointed rooms provide room service and 24 hour reception for our guests.Conveniently located a few minutes from the CBD. Sails Resort Port Macquarie by Rydges Hotel provides easy access to the Glasshouse entertainment venue, main beach, shops, restaurants, bars and night spots. Sails Resort Port Macquarie by Rydges is a unique venue providing professional conference facilities in tranquil surroundings. Every conference, meeting and event is tailored to suit your need. Our Port Macquarie Hotel offers 6 versatile meeting rooms, catering for up to 150 delegates. Our experienced team will personally manage your event from the initial enquiry through to the successful completion. Sails Resort Port Macquarie by Rydges is half a day's drive north from Sydney and three hours from Newcastle. Port Macquarie is serviced by multiple daily flights from Sydney and Brisbane. Travelling by car from Sydney, follow the Pacific Highway and take the Port Macquarie exit turning right onto Hastings River Drive. Follow this road until you reach a roundabout and turn left into Park Street. Complimentary parking is available in the resort's off-street private car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sails Resort Port Macquarie - by Rydges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Resort Sails Hotel Port Macquarie
Quality Hotel Port Macquarie
Quality Inn Port Macquarie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing