We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sails Resort Port Macquarie - by Rydges
Ranked #9 of 42 Hotels in Port Macquarie
Certificate of Excellence
Gladstone, Australia
Level Contributor
149 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“Relaxing”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We stayed here last year & decided to stay again this year for a couple of nights as a stopover on a trip home. While we didn't have a booking we were able to snag the exact room we wanted (ground floor overlooking the playground - also has a bit of water view as well). Perfect for us because we could kick back & chill out while the kids played. The sole reason for us returning was the fact we knew it would be relaxing - hubby fished from the motel jetty while the kids swam in the pool & I kicked back on the deck in the pool area watching all of them 'do their thing' while enjoying the peacefulness. There's a great shopping centre across the road too. Rooms are aging but clean & huge. Ours had a small kitchenette (microwave, small fridge, cutlery, plates etc). Kids had a single bed each which was great because they'd just spent nine days sharing a double elsewhere. The shower was odd - it only came up to my shoulders & I'm only average height but it didn't worry us much. Lots of hot water which was good. There's a great bbq area too. Heaps to do - fishing, kayaking, tennis (or half court tennis), mini golf, playground, pool & spa. Lots of the facilities are showing their age but they are heaps of fun!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blueysmrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

539 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    201
    89
    26
    27
See reviews for
132
239
19
82
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Spacious, clean, well appointed apartment style rooms. Nice views, friendly staff. Adjacent restaurant does decent meals. No haute cuisine yet perfectly reasonable for what you'd expect. Ample parking available and within a 5 minute drive of the centre of Port Macquarie

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidMaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 26, 2012

I stayed at Sails at the end of January this year in an Executive Room - the L shaped balcony had fab views over the marina and out to sea. Room service was prompt and of good quality. Reception staff were v polite and helpful, luggage was taken straight to my room and collected on departure and because I was gasping for a chilled glass of wine after a gruelling journey it arrived v. promptly with a welcome bucket of ice. Housekeeping was excellent and as I was there on my own I didn't really need the room servicing daily so the staff made sure the tea, coffee and other amenities were well stocked to ensure I didn't run out of anything. The only minus was that it seems from the website you have free wifi throughout the hotel when in actual fact you only have an hour or less so I think this could be made clearer - but there is a computer situated in the main lobby you can use FOC. Will definately return in fact am planning my February 2013 visit right now.

Room Tip: The corner executive suites on the top floor for me seemed the best option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bow bowing
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

One of the older places to stay in Port, but still one of the better ones. Situated on the Hastings River and just a 10 min walk (easy walk along the waterfront) to town. Panthers club is across the road and the hotel has an excellent restaurant for more formal dining.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lynn t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

I have stayed at Sails several times over the years and have no real complaints about this hotel/resort. As other reviewers have commented, the place is showing some signs of aging, particularly in the bathroom/toilet areas, however, in my experience, they have always been clean.
As this is a resort-type of facility, there are several room type/sizes so would ge good value for families with children.
I have dined in Spinnakers restaurant on many occasions and found the food of good quality, if a little expensive e.g. oysters priced at $3.20 each, bringing the price of one dozen close to $40 and on my recent visit were on the small side. The restaurant has a beautiful outlook over the Marina and has Koi carp circulating the foyer area and around the outside of the restaurant, which always proves entertaining for young children.
Alternative dining options outside the hotel are plentiful, Scampi's seafood restaurant, just outside Sails, is very good. There is a Thai restaurant across the road which I have never tried.
For budget bistro meals there is Panthers Club nearby.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank oztravellers128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

i live in Port Mac and we have been wanting to have a sneaky night at Sails for years and finally got there. and we had a ball! while of course it is not a five start resort, it has a great position on the river with a lovely pool and spa area. the rooms are pleasant and the view from the waterside ones is great - open 180 degree water views but still giving privacy. Staff were helpful - even though it was a cold, windy, rainy night we procured a couple of plastic glasses from the restaurant and jumped into the great outdoor spa - what a way to watch the sun go down.
We had a great deal on the room so all up - very happy campers.

Room Tip: get a water view room
See more room tips
Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank john c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern NSW.
Level Contributor
146 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

As my husband had an appointment in Port on the Monday, we decided to go earlier to escape the cold weather. We paid for an upgraded room with a view of the river which was magic, the room was very comfortable, the bathroom was not large but adequate for what we needed with a great shower. Our towels were changed daily and all the staff were very helpful and nice, and nothing was too much trouble for them. The weather too was kind to us and we had a nice break with great weather, with nice restaurants within walking distances.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JudeNorthernNSW_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Macquarie hotels
0.7 mi away
Rydges Port Macquarie
Rydges Port Macquarie
#12 of 42 in Port Macquarie
892 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ki-ea Apartments
Ki-ea Apartments
#2 of 42 in Port Macquarie
325 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mercure Centro Port Macquarie
Mercure Centro Port Macquarie
#10 of 42 in Port Macquarie
835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Waters Edge Port Macquarie
Waters Edge Port Macquarie
#22 of 42 in Port Macquarie
379 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mantra The Observatory
Mantra The Observatory
#5 of 42 in Port Macquarie
1,362 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sandcastle Apartments Port Macquarie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sails Resort Port Macquarie - by Rydges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sails Resort Port Macquarie - by Rydges

Property: Sails Resort Port Macquarie - by Rydges
Address: 20 Park St, Port Macquarie, New South Wales 2444, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Port Macquarie
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Port Macquarie
#4 Spa Hotel in Port Macquarie
#6 Business Hotel in Port Macquarie
#8 Luxury Hotel in Port Macquarie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sails Resort Port Macquarie - by Rydges 4.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sails Resort Port Macquarie by Rydges on Pelican Bay - Port Macquarie's only absolute waterfront resort. Whether you're travelling for work or play we will endeavour to make your stay relaxed and comfortable. Enjoy the relaxed, tranquil setting and experience the highest level of service and leisure facilities, now with Free Unlimited Wi-Fi. Our Port Macquarie Hotel has 83 fully appointed rooms provide room service and 24 hour reception for our guests.Conveniently located a few minutes from the CBD. Sails Resort Port Macquarie by Rydges Hotel provides easy access to the Glasshouse entertainment venue, main beach, shops, restaurants, bars and night spots. Sails Resort Port Macquarie by Rydges is a unique venue providing professional conference facilities in tranquil surroundings. Every conference, meeting and event is tailored to suit your need. Our Port Macquarie Hotel offers 6 versatile meeting rooms, catering for up to 150 delegates. Our experienced team will personally manage your event from the initial enquiry through to the successful completion. Sails Resort Port Macquarie by Rydges is half a day's drive north from Sydney and three hours from Newcastle. Port Macquarie is serviced by multiple daily flights from Sydney and Brisbane. Travelling by car from Sydney, follow the Pacific Highway and take the Port Macquarie exit turning right onto Hastings River Drive. Follow this road until you reach a roundabout and turn left into Park Street. Complimentary parking is available in the resort's off-street private car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Sails Resort Port Macquarie - by Rydges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Resort Sails Hotel Port Macquarie
Quality Hotel Port Macquarie
Quality Inn Port Macquarie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing