We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ticks all the boxes for a backpacker hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ozzie Pozzie Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Clare
Level Contributor
356 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
“Ticks all the boxes for a backpacker hostel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2011

Really liked this hostel, we were picked up from our bus and checked into our room with no delay. There was a big and very clean kitchen. The TV room was a bit cold - no doors but it should be ok during the Summer. The games room was very good. They provide 4 computers with free internet. Rooms are a bit on the small side but well kept. Drawback - for the whole hostel there are only 2 female toilets (1 of which was broken for our entire stay) and 2 female showers which isn't a lot. We were very disappointed with the staff as we asked them to recommend a hostel for us in the next town we were visiting and they booked us into a Motel which was nothing like what they had described or suited to backpackers at all.

Room Tip: Rooms are a bit cramped and dark but they are cleaned daily.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Voilareally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    49
    12
    2
    2
See reviews for
7
31
44
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2011

Only stayed for a night whilst travelling from Sydney to Byron Bay.
3 of us in the room - clean, enough space, quiet.
Bathroom was clean and big.
Didn't use the other facilities but all seemed well set up.
Pool looked very inviting.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kemartin5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2011

I have just returned from my fourth stay in a row at Ozzie Pozzie (I travel each year from Sydney for the Ironman Triathlon) and have found it to be fantastic again! Great service and facilities it really is a cool place to hang out. Whether you just want to relax by the pool or in the tv/video room or want to meet up with different travellers in the court yards or even check out your internet its all there. I like to stay in the 6 bedded dorm rooms as Im used to backpacking which means some people can get in late or up earlier than others but everyone usually respects that and is cool with it. The hostel has a lights out rule in the courtyards around 11pm to help others get off to sleep which is cool and if you want to stay up longer you can head down to the river or town. Also everybody is made to feel welcome by friendly staff who are happy to help you with your stay in Port Macquarie and can also help advise you for the next part of your trip. I love seeing the same managers every year. They're really cool with an awesome Aussie (Ozzie!) sense of humour. And Port Macquarie is such a nice place with everything. I also found that many travellors visiting Port would often intend to stay for a stopover before reaching Byron Bay on their way up to Cairns and have liked it so much they stay longer. Port Macquarie is so cool and so is Ozzie Pozzie whether for relaxing or having a good time. It's all there. Fantastic! I'm already looking forward to my next trip. Thanks Richard and Phil and all of the dedicated staff I really love it there. See you all again next year!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andkpet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2011

We stayed in double room for a night. The room, bathrooms and toilets very clean. Kitchen not that clean, does not have enough stuff, not enough dry/clean towels provided and just one sink. I have seen much better kitchens in other hostels. Staff are really friendly and helpful. Free internet and free pool table, free table football / table tennis and $5 a day bicycle are a big plus for this hostel. The room that we stayed in got a lot of noise from room and balconies around, so not a great sleep. In general I think if they work more on their kitchen it will be close to perfect hostel.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VahidY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2010

Friendly and welcoming, relaxed and laidback with only a 10 minute walk to the town centre for bus stop, shopping, groceries, nightclubs, pubs/hotels, takeaways, banks and ATMs. Short walks to beaches, nature walks and Koala Hospital. Ozzie Pozzie has expanded over the last two years to provide large reception providing activity info and hire, more accommodation rooms providing free use of clean blankets/pillows/sheets, lockers, laundry, clean showers/toilets, free swimming pool, free games room, free theatre room, large kitchen with cooking facilities, free internet, free breakfast, free tea and coffee, helpful caring staff.
Amongst the very best I have ever stayed in. I have now stayed at Ozzie Pozzie 3 times in conjunction with the Port Macquarie Ironman Triathlon each year conveniently located just 5 minutes walk down the road from hostel. It is just a perfect place to stay. Awesome. Well done!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andkpet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, England
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2010

I shared a twin room with my nephew, all though the room was generally clean and the hostel had good facilities and friendly staff, there was a very funny over powering smell in our room that smelled not unlike cat urine. I'm not sure what the smell was but it was quite strong, fortunately I only stayed one night as I don't think I could have coped with two with the smell. The free internet was a bonus that was welcome

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lizzy_beth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
83 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2009

We stayed here for a couple of nights and thought it was an nice, average hostel. The rooms are alright, the bathrooms are nice and always very clean, and the kitchen was also good and open. There were often a lot of people cooking dinner at once but it was never a big problem because there's enough space. The only downside is that the kitchen could be better stocked. Most other hostels we've stayed at have spices and such for guests to use. However, there is free coffee/tea as well as muesli here so that definitely makes up for it. There are also two computers with internet you can use free of charge. The TV room is very cozy, and the pool area is nice (minus the massive amounts of sand in the pool). The one male manager was really nice and helpful, and there is free pickup from the bus depot. However, one of the females working at reception was unfriendly and very unhelpful.
Port Macquarie is a really cute town and this is a good place to stay - not too far from the city centre.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moose_the_explorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Macquarie hotels
0.9 mi away
Ki-ea Apartments
Ki-ea Apartments
#5 of 42 in Port Macquarie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
0.1 mi away
Port Macquarie Backpackers
Port Macquarie Backpackers
#4 of 35 in Port Macquarie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mantra Quayside Apartments Port Macquarie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sails Resort Port Macquarie - by Rydges
Sails Resort Port Macquarie - by...
#10 of 42 in Port Macquarie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aston Hill Motor Lodge
Aston Hill Motor Lodge
#9 of 42 in Port Macquarie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mid Pacific Motel
Mid Pacific Motel
#7 of 42 in Port Macquarie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ozzie Pozzie Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ozzie Pozzie Backpackers

Property: Ozzie Pozzie Backpackers
Address: 36 Waugh St, Port Macquarie, New South Wales 2444, Australia (Formerly Ozzie Pozzie Backpackers Nomads)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Port Macquarie
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 35 Specialty Lodging in Port Macquarie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ozzie Pozzie Backpackers 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ozzie Pozzie is Port Macquarie’s most highly recommended resort youth hostel by "Lonely Planet" and "Lets-Go" and Port Macquarie’s best value and cheap youth hostel accommodation. While this quiet youth hostels location features a great social atmosphere in a tropical setting, it is only 5 mins walk from town, shops and bars. Richard used his 8 years of backpacking hostels experience to renovate and extend Ozzie Pozzie and operate it as a friendly fun-filled hostel with lots of free extras. Newly extended it is spotlessly clean with two cosy courtyards to meet and greet, and lounges & hammocks to enjoy in a cabana around a palm fringed pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Ozzie Pozzie Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing