We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was that sort of day.. Then it improved when I walked into the El Paso”
Review of El Paso Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
El Paso Motor Inn
Ranked #6 of 42 Hotels in Port Macquarie
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 27, 2013

I had left home at 5 am to drive to Coffs Harbour.. The pan was to fix the problem and arrive back home at about 6.. Unfortunately it aw one of those days.... At 6.30 pm I drove into port Macquarie looking for a bed to sleep in.... I havt been to port for a while and headed for the hotel I usually have stayed at... Unfortunately it was full. So I drove towards town hoping to find an alternative. The El Paso loomed in front of me and. Took the plunge..... They had a room Yaaaa . The receptionist was charmingly cheeky and efficient. I had a nice clean and well appointed room ... With a company bed. Breakfast was included so that was good as well. As was free wifi... Couldn't ask for much more really.... It was a little noisy in the morning when the traffic started flowing but for a town centre hotel it was fine... Would I go back? Sure would

Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
2  Thank Belatu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James F, Manager at El Paso Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Many thanks for your comments Belatu. We try to do our best and it is a pleasure to have reasonable, happy well-adjusted customers such as yourself.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (465)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

417 - 423 of 465 reviews

Reviewed April 17, 2013

Charming Hostess. Budget room was comfortable but getting our gear up the spiral outside staircase in the rain to the first floor was a pain. Breakfast in the restaurant was pleasant looking out to the river. We would recommend paying a little extra for a ground floor unit particularly if it is raining. A light continental Breakfast included is a bonus.

Room Tip: Ground floor, river end are probably the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Betty C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James F, Manager at El Paso Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Thank you for your comments Betty C. I agree the spiral staircase is a pain, but you will be pleased to hear we are looking at options for its replacement with something more user friendly. In the meantime, we do have the large staircase at the other end of the Port Rooms which is suitable as an alternative.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

Rooms need a little updating ! Felt like I was in the movie psycho ! Although having said that the rooms were exceptionally clean spacious and customer service was fantastic . Walls are a little paper thin I could hear next door having a domestic at 1am which was a bit frustrating and not to mention the crazy birds the are squealing all night ! Loved the free wifi and continental brekkie great place to stay if just over night

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travellinggypsy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James F, Manager at El Paso Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Thank you for your positive comments Travellinggypsy1. The Port and Macquarie Rooms are next on the list for renovations. If you are ever disturbed again on future visits for any reason, please do not hesitate to phone the on-site manager. Separating walls are brick but I recognise that even this is no barrier to determined domestics. Also, the bush lorikeets do eventually quieten down at night.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Stayed here in early March 13 whilst attending a conference. The location is great - central to everything in the town centre and right across the road from the Hastings River - our 2 bedroom apartment had water views which were magnificent.
Our accommodation was in need of an upgrade. Only 1 bathroom in a 2 bedroom apartment seems inadequate in the modern travel age (maybe I'm picky, but most 2 BR accom these days have 2 bathrooms as well). The bathroom itself was in need of a renovation (I would say it is mid 70's at best). The small kitchen area was also in need of an update. Saying that, the bedrooms were roomy enough for all our gear and there was plenty of wardrobe space. The beds were comfortable and, most importantly, everything was clean.
Parking is great - off street and undercover. And, the reception staff were helpful with check in, information generally and booking an additional night stay when we decided on a very late checkout at the end of the conference. I'd stay again - possibly requesting one of the renovated rooms mentioned elsewhere.

Room Tip: Check in early to guarantee your undercover parking spot - there are limited spaces
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DJR68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James F, Manager at El Paso Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Thank you for your review DJR68. I agree the Waterfront Suite is in need of an upgrade and I am sure you will be pleased to hear the renovations will be completed towards the end of the year. We will take your comments on board during the design.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

The rooms are in need of a makeover, but they are clean and its in a good location in the town. Nice to have breakfast included. We checked in quite late in the evening and after a shower we went to get some dinner to find all the restaurants closed by 9pm, so get you food early or you'll be going to bed hungry.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lis_2Kelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James F, Manager at El Paso Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Thank you Liz_2Kelly. Unfortunately it's one of the features of many country NSW towns that they close early, especially on week nights. Some clubs stay open a little longer and you can generally get a pizza. I will do a little research and include some meal options In our advice for late arrivals.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stayed here in Dec 12 in the newly renovated Hastings Delux room.

The room was clean, The shower was great - except the floors tend to get quite wet due to the positioning of the shower. We had parking dierctly outside our room.. Note this room is on the ground level, and you have guests staying a level above. Did not hear any noise during the night but had cigeratte ash dropped on our car from the room above, which was very annoying!!

You get fresh milk on arrival for tea/coffee and plenty of packets of tea bags etc in the room. Great location as in the heart of the town and 5 mins walk from the lake. For breakfast we had a range of apple/orange juice, tea and coffee + toast & cereals included in our room rate.

The remainder of the hotel looks tired and renovating and I would recommend pay extra for the new room. You also get a queen bed + a single and enough room if travelling with kids. I would definitely stay here again during my next visit.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra and book the Hastings Delux room. It is at ground level and newly renovated
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Prince_nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James F, Manager at El Paso Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Thank you Prince_nz. We are pleased the renovations are generating such a positive response.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

The El Paso is a 60s motel dressed up to look more modern. The location is great - park your car and leave it for your entire stay. Close to the water (across the road at the back of the motel), the beach - Town Beach - is an easy walk along the promenade, all the nice restaurants, bars and cafes. Staff were friendly and welcoming. We were in room 111 for 2 nights - a Macquarie Room. This room is not one of the recently renovated rooms (at least I hope that it wasn't). Our room had a new air con unit - but the compressor attached to the outside of the rear wall made a horrendous noise. When we looked at the wall from the outside, all the compressors were brand new, except for ours! The room had an iPod dock next to the bed, which was also a clock radio/alarm. The problem was that the power point was located so close to the surface of night table (which is an integrated part of the bed and can't be moved) that the power cord from the dock could not be plugged into it. We moved the dock to another part of the room to plug it in. The room was very quiet, due partly to the fact that cars are not coming and going the whole time. Plenty of parking on site, although not always directly outside your room. A security basement parking area has capacity for about 30 cars (if they are parked correctly - management should paint some lines on the ground so that people see where they should park). The breakfast is free - but you get what you pay for. Don't expect much. A nice breakfast with good coffee, can be had at one of the nearby cafes (out the front gate, turn left and walk 30m).

Room Tip: we didn't see any good rooms to be able to recommend
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank youdalep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James F, Manager at El Paso Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Thank you for the informative comments youdalep. It is always refreshing to receive constructive feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Macquarie hotels
0.1 mi away
Mercure Centro Port Macquarie
Mercure Centro Port Macquarie
#8 of 42 in Port Macquarie
886 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rydges Port Macquarie
Rydges Port Macquarie
#12 of 42 in Port Macquarie
930 reviews
0.6 mi away
East Port Motor Inn
East Port Motor Inn
#3 of 42 in Port Macquarie
497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mid Pacific Motel
Mid Pacific Motel
#7 of 42 in Port Macquarie
345 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mantra The Observatory
Mantra The Observatory
#5 of 42 in Port Macquarie
1,727 reviews
0.4 mi away
ibis Styles Port Macquarie
ibis Styles Port Macquarie
#13 of 42 in Port Macquarie
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Paso Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Paso Motor Inn

Address: 29 Clarence St, Port Macquarie, New South Wales 2444, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Port Macquarie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 42 Hotels in Port Macquarie
Price Range: $104 - $253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — El Paso Motor Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The El Paso Motor Inn is an iconic motel located right in the middle of town across the road from a major shopping Centre and the Glasshouse Entertainment Centre, within walking distance of Main Beach and most attractions, and backing on to the spectacular Hastings River. The Motel has recently had 44 of its 56 rooms fully renovated with more to come including an elevator and spectacular BBQ area! These are 4 STAR quality rooms although they are yet to be rated. These rooms include a brand new 42 inch HD TV, iPod docking stations, Brand new beds and built in USB ports. We also offer FREE continental Breakfast plus FREE high-speed wireless broadband when booking any of our rooms. Our restaurant, The Waterfront Restaurant specializes in top quality contemporary Australian cuisine and has one of the best views in Port Macquarie over looking Town Green and the mouth of the beautiful Hastings River. Here at the El Paso Motor Inn we pride ourselves on our friendly service and will go out of our way to make your stay a memorable one. The El Paso Motor Inn is high quality accommodation in the CBD of Port Macquarie with an affordable price tag that you would be crazy to miss out on! You won't be disappointed! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your El Paso Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing