We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of El Paso Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
El Paso Motor Inn
Ranked #6 of 42 Hotels in Port Macquarie
Certificate of Excellence
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
123 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A little disappointing”
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Spent two nights at this hotel which is centrally located in Port Macquarie. Rooms are dated but comfortable. However, the street noise was a bit much. Needs a bit of an update and noise protection for rooms.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brian w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James F, Manager at El Paso Motor Inn, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thanks for the feedback Brian. Updates are in progress, and I agree the rooms close to the street can be a bit noisy, especially Sat and Sun nights. Let us know next time and we'll put you further back. Or you could try one of our newly renovated Hastings Delux or Hastings Executive rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    195
    52
    14
    6
See reviews for
94
161
22
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Suggest that you take your own pillow as the pillows there are rock hard. Oh, and ear plugs as you can hear everything from next door. Also if you stay on the upper level it will mean carrying your luggage up an external spiral staircase...not much fun in the rain. The plumbing needs to be fixed as it is quite musical........and.....smoking was allowed outside the room on the verandah.
The road outside is a main one and the lads like to rev their cars............
The continental breakfast was self serve and the plates and cups were dirty.........if you paid more for your room you could receive a hot breakfast.
Would advise that you book in somewhere else.......personally I will never stay there again as trying to drive back home after 2-3 hours sleep was awful.
Thanks for nothing El Paso................next time I will sleep in my car

Room Tip: Don't use upper floor if carrying heavy bags
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank g m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James F, Manager at El Paso Motor Inn, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
I'm sorry g m did not enjoy his stay. We have staff available 24/7 to fix problems like pillows and plumbing. All you need to do is ask.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Recently stayed here overnight on a business trip with my husband. The staff were very friendly and gave us an upgrade to one of there refurbished rooms and also a discount for Rep's rates.
The rate also included a continental breakfast in there dining room which overlooks the waterfront. You could have juice, cereal, toast and tea or coffee which was all we needed. You could order a cooked breakfast if you wanted for an additional cost.
The location is right in town across from the waterfront and over the road to the shops. There was a nice pool out the front which we didnt use but looked very inviting, maybe next time.
Would definately stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlisgran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James F, Manager at El Paso Motor Inn, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thank you Charlisgran for your positive comments. We really enjoy having such pleasant guests staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Great location, reception very friendly and helpful and nice, refurbished room. Does what it says on the tin. Tripadvisor reviews were accurate and very helpful, shame I have to waste my time and yours the reader by having to input a minimum of 200 characters before they'll let me submit this. Wake up Tripadvisor and remove this restriction.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James F, Manager at El Paso Motor Inn, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thank you Tony10 for your positivie comments. We are very pleased with the response we are getting to our renovations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armidale, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013

my husband our two girls and myself stayed here on Friday 11/1/13 and were charged $200 for an old run down room. I understand that the place is being renovated but perhaps the prices should be adjusted accordingly. The room was tiny and smelly. It was clean but looked dirty. The aircon struggled to cool the room and this made it very uncomfortable. They advertise free Austar but none of the channels were clear. They were charging $3.50 for a bottle of "Coles" water that is not to be resold and they would only pay less than $1!the pics on web site and on the outside window of the building do not relay what the rooms really look like. Really diappointed in the cost and the room and won't be back again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James F, Manager at El Paso Motor Inn, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
They were charged $149 plus an extra $25 per person for an unrefurbished Hastings Room, including free continental breakfast and free wifi during our peak period.
The room size is 25 square metres with a queen bed, single bed and double sofa bed and sleeps 5 comfortably.
Bottled water and soft drinks from the minibar are $3.
All photos are recent unretouched digital photos and accurately reflect the rooms.
All aircons were serviced and tested before Christmas and we have received no complaints from other guests.
TVs are new 40 inch digital multimedia LCDs.
We received no complaints from the guest about smells, aircon efficiency, or TV reception quality.
I agree the rooms are clean.
This guest could have paid an extra $6 to stay in one of our newly renovated Hastings Delux rooms if she thought the room was too dated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
239 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed here three years previously and thought it was basic but worth another stay as it is conveniently located in the centre of Port Macquarie. As the friendly receptionist told us about the recently refurbished rooms we thought we'd pay extra when remembering back to our previous visit. We drove the car up the ramp and parked outside our room. We weren't disappointed with our choice at all. The rooms had been decorated and equipped to a high standard and were much better than any run of the mill Motel. The only negative was the design of the shower which, while a new trendy design, made it impossible to not get water all over the bathroom floor but I suppose the cleaning staff must be used to that. WiFi connection was good in the room and the cost included a continental breakfast which was just what we needed to send us happily on our way.

Room Tip: The new refurbished rooms are worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SnowyywonS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James F, Manager at El Paso Motor Inn, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thank you SnowyywonS, reviews such as yours make our efforts worthwhile.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
1 review
Reviewed December 30, 2012

This motor is located in the centre of city, very convenience for shoppers and five minutes walk to the beach. The room is just average. Swimming poor looks good on picture. Strongly recommend for families with reasonable price.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank E_9_v_e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James F, Manager at El Paso Motor Inn, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
This seems a fair comment for our older rooms which are due for renovation later this year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Macquarie hotels
0.1 mi away
Rydges Port Macquarie
Rydges Port Macquarie
#12 of 42 in Port Macquarie
878 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mercure Centro Port Macquarie
Mercure Centro Port Macquarie
#11 of 42 in Port Macquarie
818 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mid Pacific Motel
Mid Pacific Motel
#7 of 42 in Port Macquarie
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Macquarie Waters Hotel & Apartments
0.5 mi away
Mantra The Observatory
Mantra The Observatory
#4 of 42 in Port Macquarie
1,272 reviews
0.6 mi away
East Port Motor Inn
East Port Motor Inn
#3 of 42 in Port Macquarie
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Paso Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Paso Motor Inn

Property: El Paso Motor Inn
Address: 29 Clarence St, Port Macquarie, New South Wales 2444, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Port Macquarie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 42 Hotels in Port Macquarie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — El Paso Motor Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The El Paso Motor Inn is an iconic motel located right in the middle of town across the road from a major shopping Centre and the Glasshouse Entertainment Centre, within walking distance of Main Beach and most attractions, and backing on to the spectacular Hastings River. The Motel has recently had 44 of its 56 rooms fully renovated with more to come including an elevator and spectacular BBQ area! These are 4 STAR quality rooms although they are yet to be rated. These rooms include a brand new 42 inch HD TV, iPod docking stations, Brand new beds and built in USB ports. We also offer FREE continental Breakfast plus FREE high-speed wireless broadband when booking any of our rooms. Our restaurant, The Waterfront Restaurant specializes in top quality contemporary Australian cuisine and has one of the best views in Port Macquarie over looking Town Green and the mouth of the beautiful Hastings River. Here at the El Paso Motor Inn we pride ourselves on our friendly service and will go out of our way to make your stay a memorable one. The El Paso Motor Inn is high quality accommodation in the CBD of Port Macquarie with an affordable price tag that you would be crazy to miss out on! You won't be disappointed! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your El Paso Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing