We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“feel like I got to know my neighbours”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Waters Edge Port Macquarie
Ranked #19 of 42 Hotels in Port Macquarie
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“feel like I got to know my neighbours”
Reviewed December 23, 2013 via mobile

The hotels actually quite nice, staff were friendly, rooms were clean and not too dated. The outdoor area drops straight onto the water so no moaning there. Towns close by so location is good.

All I'd say is that the walls being like tissue paper do allow for you to feel like you're witnessing a 70's French porno shoot - depending of course on the nature of your neighbours tastes, and language. Suffice to say my neighbours had a lovely time, bless them.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Graham B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waters E, Operations Manager at Waters Edge Port Macquarie, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Thank you for choosing Waters Edge Port Macquarie and for your review.

It is wonderful to read that you thought our staff were friendly. It is also great to read you thought our hotel and it’s view were lovely and that you enjoyed our location and proximity to town.

Please accept my sincere apologies if your stay was interrupted by other guests. This is the first time we have received such feedback. It is however good to know that other guests did enjoy their time at the hotel and made the most of their stay.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and hope that you will return to Waters Edge Port Macquarie in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Corinne Adams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    148
    93
    28
    18
See reviews for
62
188
19
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed December 8, 2013

We stayed at Waters Edge Boutique Hotel, Port Macquarie for four nights from 5th to 9th December 2013.

On arrival at the hotel on the evening of Thursday, 5th December 2013 we were welcomed to the hotel by friendly, courteous reception staff.

We then discovered my partner's bag containing his wallet, keys and spectacles had been accidentally left on the XPT train from which we had recently disembarked! It appeared our holiday was going to be over before it even started, as without credit cards and ATM card we could do nothing.

The Waters Edge reception staff immediately flew into action, assisting us to contact Countrylink's head office to try and locate the bag. To cut a long story short, the next morning we retrieved the bag - with all its contents intact, from the southbound XPT when it stopped at Wauchope. We were able to enjoy our holiday, thanks to the efforts of the hotel reception staff and Countrylink staff.

Our room and en-suite were spotlessly clean and comfortable. Complimentary toiletries were much appreciated, as were the tea making facilities and microwave.

Our room overlooked the beautiful Hastings River and we were entertained daily by the many activities happening on the river - canoeing, kayaking, surf rescue jet-skis, fishing boats, pleasure craft, tourist ferries and a little seaplane taking off and landing on the river several times a day.

It was enchanting to watch the busy bird life on the river - pelicans, seagulls and ducks coming and going all day, foraging for food or simply enjoying being on the river.

The hotel is conveniently located only 10 minutes' walk to Settlement City - a large shopping mall and 10 minutes' walk from the CBD of Port Macquarie. There are also clubs, restaurants and cafes within easy walking distance from the Waters Edge.

We enjoyed a full hot buffet breakfast every day in the Waters Edge restaurant and were pleased with the quality of the hot food, fresh fruit and Danish pastries.

The only thing that marred our stay at the Waters Edge was the loud music piped through the restaurant and reception and t.v. lounge area all day from early morning till late!

Breakfast time would be even more pleasant in the Waters Edge restaurant if quieter instrumental or orchestral music were to be piped through the dining room, hotel reception
and t.v. lounge areas.

We plan on returning to the Waters Edge in 2014 and look forward to staying in "our" room!

Room Tip: Our room faced the Hastings River on the northern side of the hotel and was quiet most of the time...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MimsSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waters E, Operations Manager at Waters Edge Port Macquarie, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave your 5 star review on Trip Advisor and for choosing Waters Edge Port Macquarie.

I am delighted to read that you found Waters Edge Port Macquarie to be the “Perfect Place” and that the service you received from our reception team was outstanding. It was great to hear that our friendly reception team were able to sort the issue of your partners bag being left on the XPT. I have passed your feedback onto our team, and they are thrilled that they could assist you during your stay.

It is also wonderful to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay from the facilities, to the location, with the beautiful view over the Hastings River and the fully cooked buffet breakfast in On The Edge Restaurant. It was also pleasing to read you found the cleanliness to be of an extremely high standard and that you were able to experience all the facilities within the hotel.

Thank you for your suggestion in regards to the music and TV programs that we have playing during the day. The current selection of background music is a contemporary mix of 70’s 80’s 90’s and today. We do keep the music to a low volume as it is background music and we do have many positive comments on the music.

Once again, thank you for choosing Waters Edge Port Macquarie and on behalf of the team, we look forward to welcoming you back to ‘your’ room in the near future.

Kind Regards,


Corinne Adams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salford Priors, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

No water view rooms available , so I had a canal view which also overlooked the car park. The first evening the canal footbridge was being replaced. The work started as light faded and finished at 5 am. I can be that specific for the wrong reasons of being kept awake. At check in I was given a hotel disclaimer letter, but that still did not compensate for considerable sleep loss, after a long and busy day.
That experience has clouded my opinion of what is otherwise a useful venue and probably a well received one.
All staff were polite and helpful
Evening food was good, with large portions. breakfast was self service.
Good size room with balcony
Easy walking distance from local shops and leisure walks.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Majen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waters E, Operations Manager at Waters Edge Port Macquarie, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Thank you for choosing Waters Edge Port Macquarie and for your review.

It is wonderful to read that you thought our staff were polite and helpful. Our team at Waters Edge strive for excellence in customer service and the best we can offer in our facilities. It is also great to read you thought our food was good, along with a good size room & balcony and that you enjoyed our location and proximity to town.

Please accept my sincere apologies that there were essential road works undertaken on the footbridge across from the hotel on your recent stay. The hotel did notify all the guests on check in with a letter stating that there would be some work undertaken as advised by the Hastings Council. We do apologise for the one off road works, however as you we hope you can understand it was beyond the hotels control.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and hope that you will return to Waters Edge Port Macquarie in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Corinne Adams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
213 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in November 2013 Room 109 Water Views. We were in Port Macquarie for a family gathering. Other family stayed in other hotels but ours seems to be the best.

Very friendly, helpful staff who were very eager to make our stay comfortable and enjoyable. Our room was a superior with water views. Being on the ground floor we could walk out our door to the river and nearby walkway, or relax on the patio. Rooms were clean and tidy. It had both a queen and single bed. Toiletries, tea/coffee biscuits, microwave and fridge were in the room. Free internet was also provided. Rooms were serviced daily. Easy walking distance to shops and restaurants.

We had breakfast in the dining room each day. Good variety and well priced. Free newspaper was also available.

We enjoyed our stay and would stay there again when visiting family in the future.

Room Tip: Try a river view room away from the traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robyn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waters E, Operations Manager at Waters Edge Port Macquarie, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Thank you for your review and for choosing Waters Edge Port Macquarie.

It is wonderful that you loved your entire experience whilst staying with us.

I was very pleased to read that you thought all the staff were very friendly and eager to make your stay enjoyable. At Waters Edge, we strive on providing the best that our facilities have to offer and excellence in customer service.

It was great to also read how comfortable and convenient your stay was, that the rooms were clean and tidy and that you were able to take advantage of our facilities and location.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,


Corinne Adams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

I stayed for three days at the end of a five week overseas journey wanting a comfortable base from which to recon the Port region. I had booked a standard room which turned out to mean a street-front room with very noticeable road noise. Quiet rooms (back) incur significant cost increase (50%) but do offer nice views of the water. The room was comfortable and clean with normal fridge, microwave etc. Staff were pleasant enough. I did not try the on-site restaurant but the menu looked OK if expensive. Continental breakfast was $15 which, after my previous 5 weeks traveling where this was ALWAYS included in the room rate, seemed excessive (reality check back in Oz). A box of cereal and some milk from the local supermarket for $7 and I had breakfast for 3 days at a fraction of the cost. Easy walk into the CBD and plenty of restaurants and cafes nearby. Nice enough stay without being special.

Room Tip: Avoid street front rooms if you are a light sleeper
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RockDr23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waters E, Operations Manager at Waters Edge Port Macquarie, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at Waters Edge Port Macquarie.

It was fantastic to read that you enjoyed our location and water views, with Waters Edge Port Macquarie being only a 5 minute walk to the CBD.

We appreciate the time you have taken to leave your feedback, however we would like to respond to a couple of inaccuracies in your feedback which are as follows:

In regards to the room you selected, it was one of our standard rooms. Standard Rooms are our most economical rooms and have varied views of the car park or street. To receive views of the River, Pool or Canals, you would need to book one of our Deluxe Rooms or Superior River View Rooms. You have stated that it is a 50% increase for our Deluxe or Superior River View rooms, which is incorrect. To upgrade to our Deluxe or Superior River View Rooms it usually ranges from $10 – $30 depending on the room selected.

You mentioned that the continental breakfast is $15.00, this is also incorrect. We have a check in special of $10.00 for a continental breakfast and $15.00 for a fully cooked buffet breakfast. If there are two people in the room, the special goes to $25.00 for two people for a fully cooked buffet breakfast.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we hope to welcome you back to Waters Edge Port Macquarie on your next visit to Port Macquarie.

Kind Regards,


Corinne Adams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Stayed at waters edge Port Macquarie October 2013, had a fantastic stay from the time we entered the premises to the time we left. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The rooms were clean and well maintained. We have stayed in 5 different hotels in Port Macquarie over the last 10 years and the Waters Edge is our favourite now. Also we love the new deck area. Thanks to all the staff for making our stay great.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ed-mary89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waters E, Operations Manager at Waters Edge Port Macquarie, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear ed-mary89,

Thank you for your five star review.

It is very pleasing to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay from the time you entered Waters Edge to the time you left. Our team works hard to ensure our guests have a comfortable and memorable stay and I am glad that we are now your preferred hotel in Port Macquarie.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and on behalf of the team we look forward to welcoming you back in near future.

Kind Regards,

Corinne Adams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 12, 2013

My sister and I wanted to have a get together in Port Macquarie for just a couple of nights. We had stayed previously in Port CBD hotels but this time we decided a balcony with a river view sounded much nicer than a hotel room and we were right. The view from our superior twin riverview room was absolutely delightful - sparkling water with gorgeous sunrises and sunsets. The pool area was also very nice with river views and plenty of outdoor seating (with umbrellas if required). We can also recommend the restaurant - you can sit inside but there is a lovely wide verandah (also, of course, with water views) that we took advantage of. The food was delicious, not too expensive and the service prompt and friendly. We both would definitely recommend this hotel for a short or longer stay. It is close to town (about a seven minute walk to the centre) and very reasonably priced.

Room Tip: Ground floor on the river side gives easy access to the pool area and outdoor seating.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yvonne m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waters E, Operations Manager at Waters Edge Port Macquarie, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Yvonne m,

Many thanks for taking the time to post your feedback.

It is fantastic that your stay was enjoyable and that you thought our views of the Hastings River were absolutely delightful. As you mentioned, our stunning water views coupled with our helpful staff and our facilities make us a good option for other travellers.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and on behalf of the team we look forward to welcoming you back to Waters Edge Port Macquarie in near future.

Kind Regards,

Corinne Adams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Macquarie hotels
0.3 mi away
Rydges Port Macquarie
Rydges Port Macquarie
#12 of 42 in Port Macquarie
898 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mantra The Observatory
Mantra The Observatory
#5 of 42 in Port Macquarie
1,406 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mid Pacific Motel
Mid Pacific Motel
#6 of 42 in Port Macquarie
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sails Resort Port Macquarie - by Rydges
0.8 mi away
HW Boutique Hotel
HW Boutique Hotel
#13 of 42 in Port Macquarie
539 reviews
0.5 mi away
Macquarie Waters Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waters Edge Port Macquarie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waters Edge Port Macquarie

Property: Waters Edge Port Macquarie
Address: 1 Buller St, Port Macquarie, New South Wales 2444, Australia (Formerly Country Comfort Port Macquarie)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Port Macquarie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 42 Hotels in Port Macquarie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Waters Edge Port Macquarie 3.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waters Edge Port Macquarie boasts 61 rooms on the picturesque Hastings River and is the only venue that is centrally located by foot between Settlement City and Port Central Shopping Centre's.Eat, Play and Stay at Port Macquarie – the majority of our rooms feature private balconies, water views, ensuite, Queen or King beds, one hour complimentary WiFi per day, Foxtel, free on-site parking, a la carte room service, guest laundry, newly remodelled swimming pool with children’s wading pool, playground and direct jetty and river access.You can either relax around the pool, enjoy the views of the Hastings River from Edge cafe or join us at On The Edge Waterfront Restaurant and bar enjoying some of the local cuisine of the Hastings Region. On The Edge, is the perfect setting for dining, with a fully cooked buffet breakfast and the bar open from 5pm to end your day in style or to provide the perfect start to a special evening. The refurbished conference and restaurant facilities can accommodate a board meeting for eight delegates, to a corporate cocktail function for 250, with packages to suit all budgets and requirements. All conference rooms feature air-conditioning, natural lighting, flexible room layouts and the latest technology including broadband access and wifi, combined with our packages guarantee a great working environment.If you are to stay, play, visit or relax we are here to make this your home away from home by providing a comfortable, intimate and welcoming setting on the Waters Edge of Port Macquarie ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Waters Edge Port Macquarie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing