We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Spot, Good Motel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Waters Edge Port Macquarie
Ranked #22 of 42 Hotels in Port Macquarie
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
128 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Nice Spot, Good Motel”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

I stayed here for one night while on business.... got a really good rate and it was very good value.

The location is really good, just across the river from the cbd, so only a 5 min walk to restaurants and pubs etc. It sits next to the river (surprise surprise... maybe the name gives that away), and our room had a really nice aspect looking out onto that.

The room was clean and modern, but for some strange reason there was not a picture on any wall.... normally this wouldn't rate a mention, but it did feel weird, and gave the room a slightly clinical feel, an empty feel. Weird thing to pick out I know, but as I sit here reflecting on the stay, that came to mind.

The bed was ok, and the pillows were good. The tv had some issues remote wise, but it had foxtel options which is good. The bathroom was dated, but was clean and the shower was pretty good.

They have a large outdoor area near the pool, which is set up with tables, chairs and stools.... this was a beautiful place to relax with a drink as the sun was setting.

Overall a really good place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheClarkeClan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waters E, Operations Manager at Waters Edge Port Macquarie, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear TheClarkeClan,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Waters Edge Port Macquarie on Trip Advisor.

I am glad your stay met with your expectations and that you thought it was good value. As you mentioned, our location is great, with it being only a 5 minute walk to the CBD and I was happy to read that you were able to take advantage of our deck which overlooks the beautiful Hastings River.

Thank you for recommending Waters Edge Port Macquarie and the team here look forward to welcoming you back again on your next visit.

Kind Regards,

Corinne Adams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    145
    91
    28
    18
See reviews for
61
185
19
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here for 2 nights on a Friday and Saturday night and we had a very enjoyable stay. The people running the hotel are very friendly from reception through to the cleaners and wait staff.
The rooms are very comfortable and the Superior River view King room we stayed in had lovely views over the river and was very quiet during the night (room 211). We took the option at check in for buffet breakfast for 2 for $25. Seriously where else can you get breakfast for that price! There was plenty to choose from bacon, sausages, scrambled egg, mushrooms, hash browns, tomato, cereals, toast, pastries and more.
We also dined in the restaurant one night and the meal was very nice. I had the scotch fillet steak and my partner had the Asian style pork belly with coconut rice.
They also offer complimentary freshly baked cookies on check in and check out which is a lovely touch.
Only suggestion I have is that during winter perhaps the beds should be made up with a blanket as we had to get one out of the wardrobe to put on the bed. It's also in a great location very close to the town centre.
We would definitely stay here again perhaps next time when it is warmer so we can enjoy all their facilities.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nellygirl71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waters E, Operations Manager at Waters Edge Port Macquarie, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Nellygirl71,

Thank you for your review.

It is wonderful that you loved your entire experience whilst staying with us at Waters Edge Port Macquarie.

I was very pleased to read that you thought all the staff were very friendly. At Waters Edge, we strive on providing the best that our facilities have to offer and excellence in customer service.

It was great to also read how comfortable and convenient your stay was. I’m glad you were able to take advantage of our breakfast special, a fully cooked buffet breakfast for two people for $25.00. It is certainly an excellent option to start your day off the right way.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,


Corinne Adams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashmore, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Stayed for a weekend in early August. This was my second visit to this hotel this year. The hotel is in an excellent location, ideally placed for walking into Port Macquarie, and to the local markets. The hotel staff were excellent, the dinners were also very good. We will be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ali260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waters E, Operations Manager at Waters Edge Port Macquarie, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Ali260,

Thank you for your fantastic review!

I was very happy to read that you enjoyed your first stay, and that you enjoyed it so much you decided to come back again for the second time this year.

I was also pleased to see that we met your expectations again and that you will continue to choose Waters Edge Port Macquarie as your preferred accommodation provider.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Waters Edge Port Macquarie in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Corinne Adams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

This is quite a comfortable motel, right on the water's edge so would be great in warmer weather, however, the room we had was freezing at night. There was an icy cold draught through the door which desperately needs double glazing or something to keep out the cold as well as noise from the pool area. We had to use the extra blankets which also need replacing, very thin with a large tear in one of them.Very handy to the Club for meals as well as 5 minutes walk to Port's centre.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kilcoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waters E, Operations Manager at Waters Edge Port Macquarie, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Kilcoy,

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your most recent stay at Waters Edge Port Macquarie.

Our location is in the heart of Port Macquarie and offers easy access to the Hastings River, Port Macquarie CBD and beaches. I was very happy to read that you were able to take advantage of our fantastic location.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the tear in the blanket. I have had our housekeeping department check all the blankets to ensure they are up to the high standard we strive for at Waters Edge Port Macquarie. Please be advised that we do have air-conditioning units in the rooms for you to utilise to make our rooms nice and warm.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Waters Edge Port Macquarie in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Corinne Adams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

There is no lift so you either have to carry your bags or hope that someone behind the desk can help you. Usually I wouldn't mine but recovering from surgery so couldn't lift my bag. There is also no access for people with disabilities.

The biggest criticism of the place is that someone used their door key to open my door at night. I'm not sure if this is because we have the rooms next door to each other but I doubt that anyone wants to have someone else be able to open their room door and let themselves in. It's dangerous and extremely poor security.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ADPrince
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waters E, Operations Manager at Waters Edge Port Macquarie, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback.

It was great to read that you enjoyed the location and thought the rooms were clean.

You are correct in saying we do not have a lift, however our staff are happy to assist with taking luggage up the one flight of stairs. Next time, if you would like, you can request a room on the ground floor.

Please accept my sincere apologies that another guest tried to enter your room by mistake, but I am pleased that they were unable to gain entry.

We hope to welcome you back to Waters Edge Port Macquarie in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Corinne Adams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Runaway Bay Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Have stayed here 3 times now and have enjoyed each time. It's not a new hotel but has changed it's name from Country Comfort and has been revamped. It's a 2 storey L shaped building and most rooms have views over the water. Does have it's own restaurant and bar with a fire too. Breakfasts there are a buffet style and we have taken advantage of the special price on check in of $25 for 2. It's excellent and the pastries are to die for! Plus there is a kid's playground near the pool too. They do offer a function centre and it's also a great spot for weddings as there is an outdoor bar and area outside overlooking the water. It's very central to everything so you can walk to town to all the restaurants and bars and both local shopping centres which are in different directions. It is alongside the Westport Club on the water too.
The rooms are clean and are a good size and have their own balcony. There is Tea & Coffee facilities plus a mini-bar and microwave if you need. Ironing board, iron and hair dryer are supplied too. If you forget your toiletries there is dispensers in the shower for Shower Gel, Shampoo & Conditioner. Over the sink there is Hand Gel, Body Lotion and Shaving Cream too.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the water!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sungirl111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waters E, Operations Manager at Waters Edge Port Macquarie, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Sungirl111,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Waters Edge Port Macquarie.

We appreciate the time you have taken to share your feedback. It is also pleasing to read such positive comments and I was delighted to see that we were able to meet your expectations.

Thank you again for your kind words and I hope we can welcome you back to Waters Edge Port Macquarie in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Corinne Adams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maitland, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a w/end with hubby. Wasn't bad until the morning when we were out for breakfast and got a phone call telling us it was after 10am and when would we be getting our stuff out of the room the cleaners wanted to clean our room ( we had booked 2 nights). Reception you really sucked and we won't be back. Before you bother your guests make sure you check and double check their booking before they are made to come all the way back to the motel to fix your stupidity and then be told "no I've checked the computer it's all fine your booked for 2 nights".For the record an apology would have gone along way. Motel itself was lovely and in a great location but my experience with reception and noisy cleaners we won't stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Muddlefam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waters E, Operations Manager at Waters Edge Port Macquarie, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Waters Edge Port Macquarie.

It was great to read that you enjoyed the location and the hotel itself.

Please accept my sincere apologies that there was a mistake that occurred with your booking. Unfortunately it had been entered for 1 night rather than 2. We have spoken with the staff member involved and she is adamant that she was very apologetic to your husband on the phone and then to you in person. Once again we do sincerely apologise for this human error.

I would like to assure you that your feedback is crucial to the continual improvement of the hotel. As a valued guest we not only wish to meet your expectations, but exceed your expectations.

Once again thank you for your feedback and we hope to welcome you back to Waters Edge Port Macquarie in the near future to demonstrate that the error made was a one off.

Kind Regards,


Corinne Adams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Macquarie hotels
0.3 mi away
Rydges Port Macquarie
Rydges Port Macquarie
#12 of 42 in Port Macquarie
892 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Centro Port Macquarie
Mercure Centro Port Macquarie
#10 of 42 in Port Macquarie
835 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ki-ea Apartments
Ki-ea Apartments
#2 of 42 in Port Macquarie
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Mantra The Observatory
Mantra The Observatory
#5 of 42 in Port Macquarie
1,362 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mid Pacific Motel
Mid Pacific Motel
#7 of 42 in Port Macquarie
303 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sails Resort Port Macquarie - by Rydges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waters Edge Port Macquarie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waters Edge Port Macquarie

Property: Waters Edge Port Macquarie
Address: 1 Buller St, Port Macquarie, New South Wales 2444, Australia (Formerly Country Comfort Port Macquarie)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Port Macquarie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 42 Hotels in Port Macquarie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Waters Edge Port Macquarie 3.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waters Edge Port Macquarie boasts 61 rooms on the picturesque Hastings River and is the only venue that is centrally located by foot between Settlement City and Port Central Shopping Centre's.Eat, Play and Stay at Port Macquarie – the majority of our rooms feature private balconies, water views, ensuite, Queen or King beds, one hour complimentary WiFi per day, Foxtel, free on-site parking, a la carte room service, guest laundry, newly remodelled swimming pool with children’s wading pool, playground and direct jetty and river access.You can either relax around the pool, enjoy the views of the Hastings River from Edge cafe or join us at On The Edge Waterfront Restaurant and bar enjoying some of the local cuisine of the Hastings Region. On The Edge, is the perfect setting for dining, with a fully cooked buffet breakfast and the bar open from 5pm to end your day in style or to provide the perfect start to a special evening. The refurbished conference and restaurant facilities can accommodate a board meeting for eight delegates, to a corporate cocktail function for 250, with packages to suit all budgets and requirements. All conference rooms feature air-conditioning, natural lighting, flexible room layouts and the latest technology including broadband access and wifi, combined with our packages guarantee a great working environment.If you are to stay, play, visit or relax we are here to make this your home away from home by providing a comfortable, intimate and welcoming setting on the Waters Edge of Port Macquarie ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Waters Edge Port Macquarie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing