We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Waters Edge Port Macquarie
Ranked #19 of 42 Hotels in Port Macquarie
Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good location”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

This is quite a comfortable motel, right on the water's edge so would be great in warmer weather, however, the room we had was freezing at night. There was an icy cold draught through the door which desperately needs double glazing or something to keep out the cold as well as noise from the pool area. We had to use the extra blankets which also need replacing, very thin with a large tear in one of them.Very handy to the Club for meals as well as 5 minutes walk to Port's centre.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kilcoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waters E, Operations Manager at Waters Edge Port Macquarie, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Kilcoy,

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your most recent stay at Waters Edge Port Macquarie.

Our location is in the heart of Port Macquarie and offers easy access to the Hastings River, Port Macquarie CBD and beaches. I was very happy to read that you were able to take advantage of our fantastic location.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the tear in the blanket. I have had our housekeeping department check all the blankets to ensure they are up to the high standard we strive for at Waters Edge Port Macquarie. Please be advised that we do have air-conditioning units in the rooms for you to utilise to make our rooms nice and warm.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Waters Edge Port Macquarie in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Corinne Adams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    148
    93
    28
    18
See reviews for
62
188
19
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

There is no lift so you either have to carry your bags or hope that someone behind the desk can help you. Usually I wouldn't mine but recovering from surgery so couldn't lift my bag. There is also no access for people with disabilities.

The biggest criticism of the place is that someone used their door key to open my door at night. I'm not sure if this is because we have the rooms next door to each other but I doubt that anyone wants to have someone else be able to open their room door and let themselves in. It's dangerous and extremely poor security.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ADPrince
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waters E, Operations Manager at Waters Edge Port Macquarie, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback.

It was great to read that you enjoyed the location and thought the rooms were clean.

You are correct in saying we do not have a lift, however our staff are happy to assist with taking luggage up the one flight of stairs. Next time, if you would like, you can request a room on the ground floor.

Please accept my sincere apologies that another guest tried to enter your room by mistake, but I am pleased that they were unable to gain entry.

We hope to welcome you back to Waters Edge Port Macquarie in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Corinne Adams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Runaway Bay Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Have stayed here 3 times now and have enjoyed each time. It's not a new hotel but has changed it's name from Country Comfort and has been revamped. It's a 2 storey L shaped building and most rooms have views over the water. Does have it's own restaurant and bar with a fire too. Breakfasts there are a buffet style and we have taken advantage of the special price on check in of $25 for 2. It's excellent and the pastries are to die for! Plus there is a kid's playground near the pool too. They do offer a function centre and it's also a great spot for weddings as there is an outdoor bar and area outside overlooking the water. It's very central to everything so you can walk to town to all the restaurants and bars and both local shopping centres which are in different directions. It is alongside the Westport Club on the water too.
The rooms are clean and are a good size and have their own balcony. There is Tea & Coffee facilities plus a mini-bar and microwave if you need. Ironing board, iron and hair dryer are supplied too. If you forget your toiletries there is dispensers in the shower for Shower Gel, Shampoo & Conditioner. Over the sink there is Hand Gel, Body Lotion and Shaving Cream too.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the water!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sungirl111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waters E, Operations Manager at Waters Edge Port Macquarie, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Sungirl111,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Waters Edge Port Macquarie.

We appreciate the time you have taken to share your feedback. It is also pleasing to read such positive comments and I was delighted to see that we were able to meet your expectations.

Thank you again for your kind words and I hope we can welcome you back to Waters Edge Port Macquarie in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Corinne Adams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maitland, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a w/end with hubby. Wasn't bad until the morning when we were out for breakfast and got a phone call telling us it was after 10am and when would we be getting our stuff out of the room the cleaners wanted to clean our room ( we had booked 2 nights). Reception you really sucked and we won't be back. Before you bother your guests make sure you check and double check their booking before they are made to come all the way back to the motel to fix your stupidity and then be told "no I've checked the computer it's all fine your booked for 2 nights".For the record an apology would have gone along way. Motel itself was lovely and in a great location but my experience with reception and noisy cleaners we won't stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Muddlefam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waters E, Operations Manager at Waters Edge Port Macquarie, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Waters Edge Port Macquarie.

It was great to read that you enjoyed the location and the hotel itself.

Please accept my sincere apologies that there was a mistake that occurred with your booking. Unfortunately it had been entered for 1 night rather than 2. We have spoken with the staff member involved and she is adamant that she was very apologetic to your husband on the phone and then to you in person. Once again we do sincerely apologise for this human error.

I would like to assure you that your feedback is crucial to the continual improvement of the hotel. As a valued guest we not only wish to meet your expectations, but exceed your expectations.

Once again thank you for your feedback and we hope to welcome you back to Waters Edge Port Macquarie in the near future to demonstrate that the error made was a one off.

Kind Regards,


Corinne Adams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We only stayed overnight, however, the cost and service was very good.

The rooms appear to have been fairly recently refurbished. For the price we thought our room was above average.

Upon arrival we were warmly greeted by the reception staff. They were very thorough.

We were also offered an "all you can eat" breakfast for two for $25 which we thought was very well priced. The breakfast itself was very good with most cold and hot choices available.

All-in-all we enjoyed the stay and thought it was very good value for money.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Pete_n_Debb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waters E, Operations Manager at Waters Edge Port Macquarie, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback regarding your recent stay at Waters Edge Port Macquarie.

It was great to read how comfortable and convenient your stay was. I’m glad you were able to take advantage of our breakfast special, a fully cooked buffet breakfast for two people for $25.00.
It is certainly an excellent option to start your day off the right way.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we hope to welcome you back to Waters Edge on your next visit to Port Macquarie.

Kind Regards,

Corinne Adams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Stayed at this hotel a few times and has been refurbished in recent times. Breakfast is pretty ordinary at $20 and does not compare with other hotels in the area. Pool has been refurbished too. Great views overlooking the river and only a few mins walk to the main town area where you can have the choice of lots of places to eat. You get one hr wi-fi Internet free. The big minus at this hotel is there are no lifts to the first floor. Not much good when you have heavy bags and no porter service to assist. Only one person at a time does check ins and check outs so allow plenty of time to check out (last time 15 mins and no apology for the delay).

Room Tip: The end rooms nearest the river are very noisy as people going home from the club next door make a n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Supernanny56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waters E, Operations Manager at Waters Edge Port Macquarie, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay on Trip Advisor.

As you mentioned, our location is perfect with great views overlooking the Hastings River and also being only a few minutes walk to the main street, which has an abundance of restaurants and shopping.

We currently have a breakfast special, $25.00 for two people, for a fully cooked buffet breakfast, should you wish to take advantage of this on your next stay.

You are correct in saying we do not have a lift, however our staff are happy to assist with taking luggage up the one flight of stairs.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back the next time you visit Port Macquarie.

Kind Regards,

Corinne Adams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

The was an amazing location, it transformed us back to a tropical island , the view from our pool view room - towards the river with the sailing boats, wooden deck and Bure screamed fiji!
The rooms are comfortable and have all necessary for a night away from home !
The foyer is modern and the staff were super friendly!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ngoldstew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waters E, Operations Manager at Waters Edge Port Macquarie, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you for sharing your wonderful comments of Waters Edge Port Macquarie.

Great to hear that you loved the location and that you thought our staff were super friendly!
At Waters Edge, we strive on providing the best that our facilities have to offer and excellence in customer service.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we hope to welcome you back on your next visit to Port Macquarie.

Kind Regards,

Corinne Adams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Macquarie hotels
0.3 mi away
Rydges Port Macquarie
Rydges Port Macquarie
#12 of 42 in Port Macquarie
898 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mantra The Observatory
Mantra The Observatory
#5 of 42 in Port Macquarie
1,406 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mid Pacific Motel
Mid Pacific Motel
#6 of 42 in Port Macquarie
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sails Resort Port Macquarie - by Rydges
0.8 mi away
HW Boutique Hotel
HW Boutique Hotel
#13 of 42 in Port Macquarie
539 reviews
0.5 mi away
Macquarie Waters Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waters Edge Port Macquarie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waters Edge Port Macquarie

Property: Waters Edge Port Macquarie
Address: 1 Buller St, Port Macquarie, New South Wales 2444, Australia (Formerly Country Comfort Port Macquarie)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Port Macquarie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 42 Hotels in Port Macquarie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Waters Edge Port Macquarie 3.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waters Edge Port Macquarie boasts 61 rooms on the picturesque Hastings River and is the only venue that is centrally located by foot between Settlement City and Port Central Shopping Centre's.Eat, Play and Stay at Port Macquarie – the majority of our rooms feature private balconies, water views, ensuite, Queen or King beds, one hour complimentary WiFi per day, Foxtel, free on-site parking, a la carte room service, guest laundry, newly remodelled swimming pool with children’s wading pool, playground and direct jetty and river access.You can either relax around the pool, enjoy the views of the Hastings River from Edge cafe or join us at On The Edge Waterfront Restaurant and bar enjoying some of the local cuisine of the Hastings Region. On The Edge, is the perfect setting for dining, with a fully cooked buffet breakfast and the bar open from 5pm to end your day in style or to provide the perfect start to a special evening. The refurbished conference and restaurant facilities can accommodate a board meeting for eight delegates, to a corporate cocktail function for 250, with packages to suit all budgets and requirements. All conference rooms feature air-conditioning, natural lighting, flexible room layouts and the latest technology including broadband access and wifi, combined with our packages guarantee a great working environment.If you are to stay, play, visit or relax we are here to make this your home away from home by providing a comfortable, intimate and welcoming setting on the Waters Edge of Port Macquarie ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Waters Edge Port Macquarie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing