We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tired looking rooms but good service” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Waters Edge Port Macquarie

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Waters Edge Port Macquarie
Ranked #21 of 42 Hotels in Port Macquarie
australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Tired looking rooms but good service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for three nights for work purposes. The staff were very helpful and polite. However the rooms are very tired looking and the rooms at the front are noisy Also the breakfast is quite economical but basic

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank robo8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waters E, Operations Manager at Waters Edge Port Macquarie, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments of Waters Edge Port Macquarie.

Great to hear that you thought our staff were helpful and polite. At Waters Edge, we strive on providing the best that our facilities have to offer and excellence in customer service.

Thank you again for choosing to stay with us and we hope to welcome you back on your next visit to Port Macquarie.

Kind Regards,


Corinne Adams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    133
    84
    24
    17
See reviews for
58
172
18
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
singapore
Level Contributor
40 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

It was an average stay that commensurate with the price paid for. The rooms were relatively clean though there were some (permanent) stains which I suppose the current cleaning staff would not be able to do much about. The TV was good with HD pictures for both standard channels and Austar and there were ample parking space. The minor inconvenience was that I could not get the Wifi connected on my iphone and had to move around the hotel until I got the connection at the lobby, and stayed there for an hour to use the free wifi (why only an hour, many of the motels in Port Mac provides free 24 hr Wifi). This is not a bad place to stay as a stopover as the location is also very good with plenty of food nearby.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bungee_cairns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waters E, Operations Manager at Waters Edge Port Macquarie, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at Waters Edge Port Macquarie.

I was happy to read that you thought the cleanliness of the hotel was thorough. We do strive for an extremely high standard here at Waters Edge Port Macquarie.

Great to also read that you also enjoyed the ample parking spaces and the TV with multiple digital and foxtel channels.

Please accept my apologies that wifi did not work in your room, however happy to hear that it worked in the hotel lobby. I have passed this onto our IT department, who will hopefully be able to sort the issue.

I would like to assure you that your feedback is crucial to the continual improvement of the hotel. As a valued guest we not only wish to meet your expectations, but exceed your expectations.

Once again thank you for your feedback and hope to welcome you back to Waters Edge Port Macquarie in the near future.

Kind Regards,


Corinne Adams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

Rooms are a good sixe and claen enough but if you a in a room facing the road it will be loud!
Breaksfast was poor value for $15. Overall the motel has a daggy atmoshpere. Will try somehwere else next time.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nickit78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waters E, Operations Manager at Waters Edge Port Macquarie, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at Waters Edge Port Macquarie.

I was happy to read that you thought the cleanliness was very good. We do strive for an extremely high standard here at Waters Edge Port Macquarie.

In regards to the room you selected, it was one of our standard rooms. Standard Rooms are our most economical rooms and have varied views of the car park or street. To receive views of the River or Canals, you would need to book one of our Deluxe Rooms or Superior River View Rooms. For one of these rooms, you could’ve chosen the option to upgrade at a small price. I hope this clarifies our room locations.

Please accept my apologies that the buffet breakfast did not meet your expectations. I have passed your feedback onto our head chef.

I would like to assure you that your feedback is crucial to the continual improvement of the hotel. As a valued guest we not only wish to meet your expectations, but exceed your expectations.

Once again please accept my sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused and I hope that you might give us another chance in the near future.

Kind Regards,


Corinne Adams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Port Macquarie hotels

Coffs Harbour
Level Contributor
37 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

I just spent two nights at this hotel as part of a family weekend away.

Positives- The location is pretty good. While not in the centre of town it is right on the river and has it's own little dock which is good for fishing. It is an easy walk into town.

The reception area, pool area and playground area looks nice.

The price was actually very good. We got the room for $135 a night.

Negatives- A wedding was on the first night of our stay and we had been put in the room closest to the wedding. The noise was shocking until 12pm. Even with the tv in our room turned up fairly loud we couldn't drown out the music, and people talking right outside our patio door. This made it very hard to get a toddler to sleep. Needless to say we all had a terrible nights sleep the first night. I can't understand why we were put in that room. If we had of known that a wedding was going to be on we would have requested a room far away from the wedding venue.

The rooms are rather dated. No bath, just a shower with bad pressure.

The breakfast buffet was very bad. It cost us $20 each and the selection was very poor. I could have eaten at a restaurant/café for less and had far better food.

I wouldn't return.

Room Tip: Enquire when booking if a wedding or event is being held when you stay, and if it is request a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bunny1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waters E, Operations Manager at Waters Edge Port Macquarie, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at Waters Edge Port Macquarie.

It was great to read that you enjoyed the location, reception, pool area and that it was a very reasonable price.

In regards to the wedding in house, I do sincerely apologise that your sleep was disrupted by this. In future, please do not hesitate to contact our emergency after hours manager, who can move your room if possible, or ask any noisy guests to move along. Also in response to your feedback, we have instructed our friendly reservations team to ensure that in future all guests who are not attending a function at our hotel, are as far away from the function as possible.

I would like to assure you that your feedback is crucial to the continual improvement of the hotel.
As a valued guest we not only wish to meet your expectations, but exceed your expectations.

Once again please accept my sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused and I hope these issues will not detract you from staying with us again.

Kind Regards,


Corinne Adams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burleigh Heads, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

My wife & i spent a lovely 2 nights, in May. Staff are very helpful, pleasant & responsive to their quest requirements.Breakfast buffet was excellent, Chef provides great food and good options. Rooms spotless, nice big lounge seat, table & chairs made it easy to spread out. Do yourself a big favour have a drink our meal on the deck along the waters edge looking at the boats & watching the magnificent pelicans. All within a few minutes walk of town/shops/bowls club.

Room Tip: Ground level rooms available to avoid stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Davman M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waters E, Operations Manager at Waters Edge Port Macquarie, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you for sharing your review on Trip Advisor. It is such a pleasure to read that you enjoyed everything about your stay at Waters Edge Port Macquarie. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind Regards, Corinne Adams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
120 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

My wife and I stayed two nights in a 2nd floor standard twin room during May. Check in was quick and easy. Although our room faced Butler Street, traffic noise was not an issue. The rooms are quite spacious and clean. The bed was very comfortable (although the castors meant it moved quite easily if you leaned against it). The room included a microwave. A plus is that Waters Edge still offers complementary biscuits with the tea and coffee - a feature which seems to be getting a lot rarer. One thing for guests to note is that the bathroom has dispensers rather than individual toiletries. My wife was particularly taken with the art work in the corridors.

We chose the hot breakfast option which at $25 for 2 people was excellent value and in addition to a wide range of cereals on both days included sausages, scrambled egg, bacon, tomato, hash brown and mushrooms. The restaurant offers a great view over the water.

There is wireless internet available - the first hour is free and then charges apply.

Waters Edge is located on the fringe of the Port Macquarie CBD and is within easy walking distance of shops and attractions. Parking is at the front of the motel and is not undercover - our only minor quibble is that when we arrived it was raining quite heavily and as the entranceway is not covered we ended up quite wet getting out of the car and checking in. The car-park is fairly "tight" for cars with an average turning circle.

We consider our rate of $119 represented good value, and we would be very happy to stay again. Guests should note that there is a 2% surcharge for credit cards, and I have to commend the check-in staff for how clearly they stated this "up front" when checking in.

TC

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ThinController
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waters E, Operations Manager at Waters Edge Port Macquarie, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful experience on Trip Advisor.

I was pleased to read that your stay at Waters Edge Port Macquarie was a pleasant one. From the room’s facilities and added extras such as the biscuits to its fine location, I’m sure these comments will help other travellers find suitable accommodation.

We are certainly located in a convenient location. As you mentioned, Waters Edge Port Macquarie is within easy walking distance of shops and attractions.

Once again, thank you for your great feedback and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Corinne Adams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

This is a great hotel for a stopover on a long road trip like ours. Stayed in a triple room and we were pleasantly surprised with a balcony and great view over the pool/ water. Room was clean and spacious. Having sun downers on the deck over looking the water is a huge reward after a long drive. It's in a good location within walking distance to some restaurants. We did not have dinner here but had the buffet breakfast and at 15 au dollars it was a bargain. Be sure to visit the Koala hospital!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yesdear007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waters E, Operations Manager at Waters Edge Port Macquarie, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thank you for choosing Waters Edge Port Macquarie and for your five star review!

It is great to read how much you enjoyed our hotel and how convenient it is for your stop-over on your long road trip. I was also pleased to read you enjoyed our location and great views over the pool and onto the water.

Thank you again for your review and we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards,
Corinne Adams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Macquarie hotels
0.3 mi away
Rydges Port Macquarie
Rydges Port Macquarie
#12 of 42 in Port Macquarie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 871 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Centro Port Macquarie
Mercure Centro Port Macquarie
#10 of 42 in Port Macquarie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 810 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sails Resort Port Macquarie - by Rydges
Sails Resort Port Macquarie - by...
#11 of 42 in Port Macquarie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Macquarie Waters Hotel & Apartments
0.9 mi away
Mantra The Observatory
Mantra The Observatory
#3 of 42 in Port Macquarie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,226 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mantra Quayside Apartments Port Macquarie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waters Edge Port Macquarie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waters Edge Port Macquarie

Property: Waters Edge Port Macquarie
Address: 1 Buller St, Port Macquarie, New South Wales 2444, Australia (Formerly Country Comfort Port Macquarie)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Port Macquarie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 42 Hotels in Port Macquarie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Waters Edge Port Macquarie 3.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waters Edge Port Macquarie boasts 61 rooms on the picturesque Hastings River and is the only venue that is centrally located by foot between Settlement City and Port Central Shopping Centre's.Eat, Play and Stay at Port Macquarie – the majority of our rooms feature private balconies, water views, ensuite, Queen or King beds, one hour complimentary WiFi per day, Foxtel, free on-site parking, a la carte room service, guest laundry, newly remodelled swimming pool with children’s wading pool, playground and direct jetty and river access.You can either relax around the pool, enjoy the views of the Hastings River from Edge cafe or join us at On The Edge Waterfront Restaurant and bar enjoying some of the local cuisine of the Hastings Region. On The Edge, is the perfect setting for dining, with a fully cooked buffet breakfast and the bar open from 5pm to end your day in style or to provide the perfect start to a special evening. The refurbished conference and restaurant facilities can accommodate a board meeting for eight delegates, to a corporate cocktail function for 250, with packages to suit all budgets and requirements. All conference rooms feature air-conditioning, natural lighting, flexible room layouts and the latest technology including broadband access and wifi, combined with our packages guarantee a great working environment.If you are to stay, play, visit or relax we are here to make this your home away from home by providing a comfortable, intimate and welcoming setting on the Waters Edge of Port Macquarie ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Waters Edge Port Macquarie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing