We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Waters Edge Port Macquarie
Ranked #19 of 42 Hotels in Port Macquarie
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

This is a great hotel for a stopover on a long road trip like ours. Stayed in a triple room and we were pleasantly surprised with a balcony and great view over the pool/ water. Room was clean and spacious. Having sun downers on the deck over looking the water is a huge reward after a long drive. It's in a good location within walking distance to some restaurants. We did not have dinner here but had the buffet breakfast and at 15 au dollars it was a bargain. Be sure to visit the Koala hospital!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yesdear007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waters E, Operations Manager at Waters Edge Port Macquarie, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thank you for choosing Waters Edge Port Macquarie and for your five star review!

It is great to read how much you enjoyed our hotel and how convenient it is for your stop-over on your long road trip. I was also pleased to read you enjoyed our location and great views over the pool and onto the water.

Thank you again for your review and we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards,
Corinne Adams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    148
    93
    28
    18
See reviews for
62
188
19
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sapphire Beach, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Good standard motel located right on the waters edge. Rates are very fair for what is on offer.
Five minutes walk to the CBD. Clean, well maintained room with good quality linen and towels. Good for an overnight break if heading up or down the NSW coast or for an extended stay in Port Macquarie.

Room Tip: No lift to upper floor so ask for a ground floor room when making reservation if you have mobility p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waters E, Operations Manager at Waters Edge Port Macquarie, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thank you for stopping over at Waters Edge Port Macquarie on your recent trip and thank you for your review.

It is so great to read how convenient your stay was, our location certainly is one of our best features. Along with value for money and our friendly staff, makes Waters Edge Port Macquarie a great place for business or leisure.

I was happy to read that your experience was a positive one. On behalf of the team at Waters Edge Port Macquarie, we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards,
Corinne Adams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Arriving after a long day of flying, we checked into a river view
room (108) and were most impressed at the wonderful view. The room was
clean, comfortable and well priced. We ordered room service food, which we
found surprisingly good. On our return to Port Macquarie 3 days later, we were booked into Sails Resort, We were assigned a decidedly run down suite at about twice the price for 2 nights. After a sleepless night kept awake by drunken revellers ( wedding function) and another function booked for the next night, enough was enough !. Called Waters Edge and was advised a room was available (same room 108) and they would allow an early check in. It was like coming home.!!!
Will definitely return, this is an excellent value property in a superb location.

.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TJM044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waters E, Operations Manager at Waters Edge Port Macquarie, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you for choosing Waters Edge Port Macquarie and for taking the time to post your review of your recent stay. I was very happy to read that you enjoyed your first stay, and that you enjoyed it so much you decided to come back again on an unplanned trip for the second time a couple of days later. Once again thank you for your feedback and we hope to welcome you back again in the near future. Kind Regards, Corinne Adams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Reasonable rooms, clean, nice view(s) and well located near to the town and clubs. I enjoyed my stay at the motel until just before 5am when one of the guests must have decided to do his/her laundry. My room, number 218 was near/almost opposite to the guest laundry and the laundry door is kept open. The guest laundry is inside the building. The noise of the full washing cycle kept me awake. I did mention this to the girl at reception when I checked out and she said it was a 24 hour laundry guest service.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper please ask to be located away from the guest laundry.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ross C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waters E, Operations Manager at Waters Edge Port Macquarie, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent visit to Waters Edge Port Macquarie. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed our rooms, view and location.

In regards to the guest laundry, I do sincerely apologise that your sleep was interrupted by another guest using this facility. In response to your feedback we have placed a sign requesting guests to be considerate of other guests and only operate the guest laundry between the hours of 7am-10pm.

I would like to assure you that your feedback is crucial to the continual improvement of the hotel. As a valued guest we not only wish to meet your expectations, but exceed your expectations.
Once again thank you for your feedback and we hope to welcome you back to Waters Edge Port Macquarie in the near future.

Kind regards,
Corinne Adams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

My Husband and myself stayed for 1 night at the Waters Edge Hotel in March. We found it very clean and central to the township of Port Macquarie. definitely stay here again when we are in Port Macquarie.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holly4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waters E, Operations Manager at Waters Edge Port Macquarie, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you for sharing your wonderful comments of Waters Edge Port Macquarie.
I was pleased to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your recent stay with us.
At Waters Edge, we strive on providing the best that our facilities have to offer and excellence in customer service.
Thank you again for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip. Kind Regards, Corinne Adams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tweed Heads, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Nice Hotel in good location. Rooms clean and comfortable, nice ambience from the Balcony, also alfresco dining.

Rates are good. A short walk in the centre of town or go for a strolll along the Hastings River.

Stay here every time we pass thorugh. Try it you will like it

Only drawback is the Wif Fi, it does not work in the rooms

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank banyanworker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waters E, Operations Manager at Waters Edge Port Macquarie, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at Waters Edge Port Macquarie. It is great to read how convenient our hotel is for your stop-over between Sydney and the Gold Coast. As you mentioned and we do agree that our hotel is in a great location, rates are good, the rooms clean and comfortable, nice ambience from the balcony, and it also has alfresco dining. Once again thank you for sharing your experiences and recommending our hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back when you next return to Port Macquarie. Kind Regards, Corinne Adams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elanora, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This hotel has a wonderful setting by the Hastings River and provides good sized rooms at reasonable prices. Breakfasts are always good in the restaurant and the pool is very inviting. A short 5 minute walk takes you into the town centre and it is also possible to walk along the river from the mouth back to Settlement Point. We have stayed here on many occasions and consider it one of the best value accommodations anywhere.

Room Tip: First floor facing the pool provides good views as do rooms facing directly on to the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JonS2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waters E, Operations Manager at Waters Edge Port Macquarie, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you for sharing your review on Trip Advisor. It is such a pleasure to read we are your favourite hotel and that your stay at Waters Edge Port Macquarie was a great experience! We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind Regards, Corinne Adams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Macquarie hotels
0.3 mi away
Rydges Port Macquarie
Rydges Port Macquarie
#12 of 42 in Port Macquarie
898 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mantra The Observatory
Mantra The Observatory
#5 of 42 in Port Macquarie
1,406 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mid Pacific Motel
Mid Pacific Motel
#6 of 42 in Port Macquarie
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sails Resort Port Macquarie - by Rydges
0.8 mi away
HW Boutique Hotel
HW Boutique Hotel
#13 of 42 in Port Macquarie
539 reviews
0.5 mi away
Macquarie Waters Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waters Edge Port Macquarie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waters Edge Port Macquarie

Property: Waters Edge Port Macquarie
Address: 1 Buller St, Port Macquarie, New South Wales 2444, Australia (Formerly Country Comfort Port Macquarie)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Port Macquarie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 42 Hotels in Port Macquarie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Waters Edge Port Macquarie 3.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waters Edge Port Macquarie boasts 61 rooms on the picturesque Hastings River and is the only venue that is centrally located by foot between Settlement City and Port Central Shopping Centre's.Eat, Play and Stay at Port Macquarie – the majority of our rooms feature private balconies, water views, ensuite, Queen or King beds, one hour complimentary WiFi per day, Foxtel, free on-site parking, a la carte room service, guest laundry, newly remodelled swimming pool with children’s wading pool, playground and direct jetty and river access.You can either relax around the pool, enjoy the views of the Hastings River from Edge cafe or join us at On The Edge Waterfront Restaurant and bar enjoying some of the local cuisine of the Hastings Region. On The Edge, is the perfect setting for dining, with a fully cooked buffet breakfast and the bar open from 5pm to end your day in style or to provide the perfect start to a special evening. The refurbished conference and restaurant facilities can accommodate a board meeting for eight delegates, to a corporate cocktail function for 250, with packages to suit all budgets and requirements. All conference rooms feature air-conditioning, natural lighting, flexible room layouts and the latest technology including broadband access and wifi, combined with our packages guarantee a great working environment.If you are to stay, play, visit or relax we are here to make this your home away from home by providing a comfortable, intimate and welcoming setting on the Waters Edge of Port Macquarie ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Waters Edge Port Macquarie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing