We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rydges Port Macquarie
Ranked #13 of 42 Hotels in Port Macquarie
Reviewed October 14, 2013

While I definitely have to point out the excellent location and customer service at this hotel, I unfortunately believe that that it is overpriced at the $149 per night I paid.

1) The curtains to the room did not actually close completely. In hindsight, I should have notified this to the hotel to see if they could put me in another room. But what I didn't think would be a big problem resulted to me waking up at sunrise hours before I wanted to. That said, I am puzzled how curtains can be installed in a 4.5 star hotel that can't perform their basic function in the first place.

2) The "king" bed that was advertised is actually two beds pushed together. While I know that most places do this, the problem here was that there was a clear lump through the middle of the bed. This was exaggerated by having two separate electric blankets underneath (in summer...). Other than this, the bed was comfortable - just as long as you didn't stray away from your side.of the bed

3) While the foyer is nice, the corridors are quite "meh" and did not smell fresh at all.

4) I appreciated the parking spot included in the hotel room rate, although the entry/exit/navigation around the parking garage can be a bight tight. The only other parking around is timed.

5) The size of the room was quite reasonable.

6) I think the bathroom could benefit from brighter lighting (hard to see detail in the mirror while getting ready).

8) It was nice to be able to have windows that could be opened fully.

(I stayed in room 706)

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank druckey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rydges_Port, Manager at Rydges Port Macquarie, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Hey druckey ,

Thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay. Please to read you were impressed with our customer service!

I'm sorry to read the rest of your stay wasn't what you expected. Pleased accept my apologies for any inconvenience caused. I will pass on your lighting suggestions to management and maintenance.

Thanks for staying with us and have a safe journey back to Canberra.

Cheers,

Rydges Port Macquarie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (941)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

670 - 676 of 942 reviews

Reviewed October 5, 2013

Enjoyed the location of this hotel, very close to all facilities and beaches. The local restaurants are superb. Try dining at the stunned mullet. The beaches are magnificent, do yourself a favour and have a swim at Flynns beach.

Room Tip: Make a room facing the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thommo178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rydges_Port, Manager at Rydges Port Macquarie, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Hey Thommo178,

Thanks for the super review!! Delighted you had such a good time here in Port Mac.
Great choices for the two restaurants you dined at too!!

Cheers,

Rydges Port Macquarie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Stayed for two nights got a special weekend deal that included buffet breakfast, champagne and choc coated strawberries on arrival and four drink vouchers so very good value. Room overlooked the river and was huge. Would have loved a couch or another comfy chair as there was plenty of room. Right in the centre of town so great to park the car and walk everywhere

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank 297janine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rydges_Port, Manager at Rydges Port Macquarie, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Hey Janine D,

Thanks for your review! Pleased you enjoyed yourself here and took advantage of the buffet breakfast.

Hope to see you again soon!

Cheers,

Rydges Port Macquarie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Whilst the location for this hotel is amazing and very convenient, unfortunately the same could not be said for the room or facilities. For a hotel with 120 rooms or so, it only has 48 parking spaces, the rest were allocated to residential units above the hotel. If you were not lucky enough to be allocated a parking space you had to park on the street which was extremely difficult as on-street parking is not readily available in that area. We were also allocated a disabled room which although a good size was stale and musty, warm (the air conditioning did not function properly) and the bathroom was a bit mouldy (which is totally unacceptable). The bed was 2 singles pushed together to comprise a king and were of slightly different heights.

The staff in the evening however are more than pleasant and very helpful.

Overall the hotel is worth a visit, just be mindful of the parking situation and perhaps not visit during school holidays.

Room Tip: Request a corner room (which are large and have plenty of light and fresh air and overlook the river...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KathrynO1610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rydges_Port, Manager at Rydges Port Macquarie, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Hi KathrynO1610,


Thanks for your review.

I can understand your frustration with parking and apologise for any inconvenience caused. Although we sometimes find it difficult to fit guests into the parking on their first night we can nearly always guarantee them a spot for the remainder of their stay.

I was disappointed to read of your disappointment with the beds as we usually get such great reviews about the Rydges Dream Beds. I offer my sincere apologies for any discomfort caused. The majority of our rooms are what we call “king splits” – but the split is covered by a Velcro cover, meaning the split is almost not noticeable. I will talk to housekeeping and sort out the different heights of the beds in the easy access rooms.

Pleased to read you were impressed with our staff!

Thanks again for your comments and hope to see you again...maybe not during the school holidays....

Cheers,

Rydges Port Macquarie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Currently on a holiday of a lifetime in Australia for 2 night stop over on our way up to brisbane. Have stopped in not so great accomodation on our travels so thought we would treat ourselves to a bit of luxury. Hotel room is very nice and staff are all very helpful and polite. Unfortunately there was a noise during the night which woke us, couldnt work out if it was the fridge or the plumbing? Also we were woken up quite early in morning to shouting and screaming from the kids in the swimming pool, which carried on most of the day so made it impossible to have a nice relax on our balcony, which we splashed out on as a Treat. Unfortunately our stay hasn't been the relaxing stay we thought it would be. Maybe an idea to point out to people that the rooms overlooking the pool aren't the quietist?

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool can be quite noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank visitor580414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rydges_Port, Manager at Rydges Port Macquarie, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Hi visitor580414,

Thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay. I'm pleased you liked your hotel room and you found our staff friendly & helpful.

I'm so sorry to read of your disturbances with the children in the pool. These school holidays have been so busy but in no way should you of been put out! Please accept my apologies and I have passed your comments onto our reservation staff in the help of avoiding similar future problems.

Hope you are enjoying the rest of your Aussie travels!

Cheers,

Rydges Port Macquarie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Stayed with my family on our way through. Lived this hotel for it's perfect location, right on the foreshore. Pool was excellent, bit nothing really 'wowed' me. Good for a short stay through the town.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank m_wilson456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rydges_Port, Manager at Rydges Port Macquarie, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Hey m_wilson456,

Love your great review! Yes, we are so centrally located; it can be a real bonus when staying in a new town!

Hope the rest of your travels went well.

Cheers,

Rydges Port Macquarie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Great accomodation. Location is central. Foyer and entrance welcoming. Room was sizeable. Bar and restaurant were great. The check in and out was fuss free. Was a good hotel for just the one night. The dinner and service at Zebu restaurant downstairs was great. Not a noisy location. Bed was comfortable. Will come back again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rydges_Port, Manager at Rydges Port Macquarie, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Hey Julian P,

Thanks for the super review! Delighted you enjoyed your time here so much!
Hope to see you again soon.

Cheers,

Rydges Port Macquarie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Macquarie hotels
0.2 mi away
Mercure Centro Port Macquarie
Mercure Centro Port Macquarie
#8 of 42 in Port Macquarie
904 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ki-ea Apartments
Ki-ea Apartments
#4 of 42 in Port Macquarie
356 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sails Resort Port Macquarie - by Rydges
Sails Resort Port Macquarie - by...
#11 of 42 in Port Macquarie
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Mantra The Observatory
Mantra The Observatory
#5 of 42 in Port Macquarie
1,794 reviews
0.5 mi away
ibis Styles Port Macquarie
ibis Styles Port Macquarie
#12 of 42 in Port Macquarie
582 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sandcastle Apartments Port Macquarie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Port Macquarie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Port Macquarie

Address: 1 Hay St, Port Macquarie, New South Wales 2444, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Port Macquarie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Port Macquarie
Price Range: $143 - $263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rydges Port Macquarie 3.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The location is the picturesque foreshore precinct filled with theatres, galleries, restaurants, boutiques and bars. With direct access to pristine swimming and surf beaches and only minutes to the amazing hinterland, Rydges Port Macquarie is the ideal destination for your next getaway on the water. Rydges Port Macquarie offers 103 contemporary and spacious rooms overlooking the water or CBD, complemented by 16 fully self-contained two and three bedroom apartments with private balconies. Also home to the award winning Zebu Bar + Grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Rydges Port Macquarie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Port Macquarie Hotel Port Macquarie
Rydges Hotel Port Macquarie
Port Macquarie Rydges Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing