We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the good the bad, and the tasty: clean, comfy and convenient”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rydges Port Macquarie
Ranked #12 of 42 Hotels in Port Macquarie
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“the good the bad, and the tasty: clean, comfy and convenient”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Place/Time: Located in Port Macquarie, visited during summer on a weekday.

Ambiance: Seemed to be busy when we checked in. Small lobby, typical hotel lobby interior marble flooring...Couple of restaurants available right from the check-in lobby.
Lots of pamphlets studded outside and inside the elevators. Corridors of hotel seem to be clean, hotel pool is a bit of an adventure hunt but piles of free towel available after swimming in the pool. Pool has a jacuzzi, children's pool and main pool. Room is in tasteful decor, bed smells clean and feels comfortable.

Accommodation: Well maintained throughout; from the lobby, to the elevators, in house restaurants, hotel pool, to the actual rooms. Our room were cleaned/made daily. Beautiful water view. Cable tv available. Room service optional.

Service: No fuss service. We checked in with our reservation details, got our key and went to our rooms. When we checked out we simply gave back the key. Done.

Occasion: holidays, family time, exploring, travel.

Pricing: For 2 adults and 1 child, room accommodation was 2 nights and 3 days. We spent around $400-$500.

The accommodation from this hotel was clean, comfy and convenient. Stores, shopping mall and eateries all nearby. The view from our room wasn't bad either...Probably best you visit during summer/spring time so you can hit all the beautiful beaches nearby...

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kbaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rydges_Port, Manager at Rydges Port Macquarie, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Hey Kbaria,

Thanks for your very detailed review. I can see from your other reviews you take your appraisals very seriously! Nice to see!

Pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and yes, we are lucky to be conveniently located so close to all the shops, beach and eateries!

Hope your enjoyed the remainder of your East coast travels.

Cheers,

Rydges Port Macquarie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

898 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    249
    386
    156
    59
    48
See reviews for
233
344
24
156
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Nowra, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Can't complain about the service and amenities. We had a room by the pool with the pump running all night and ate a bad oyster from the restaurant. The staff were great and gave us a free wine. Great location

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IPLK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rydges_Port, Manager at Rydges Port Macquarie, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Hi IPLK,

Thanks for your review and pleased to read you were happy with the service we provided. Very sorry about the oyster, we strive for excellence with all our produce and absolute care is taken with serving all our fresh food. Again our utmost apologies.

Hope to see you again soon.

Cheers,

Rydges Port Macquarie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lennox head
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

My husband and I recently spent a weekend at Rydges P/Macquarie. Our room had a splendid view but the air-conditioning didn't work and as it received a lot of sun it was extremely warm. We moved the next day but again the air-conditioning cut out overnight. The staff were friendly but on Monday morning the coffee machine was not out in the breakfast room and on enquiry we were told there weren't many people and as it was fairly quiet they weren't worried about this. Coffee and hot water were available in two urns but both were luke warm as neither was plugged in. Overall we had a pleasant (if somewhat noisy stay - better to stay mid-week when the next-door hotel isn't playing music) but Rydges needs to pay more attention to its customers.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony with the view - it's worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 17mpb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rydges_Port, Manager at Rydges Port Macquarie, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Hi 17mpb,

Thanks so much for your review. Terribly sorry you encountered problems with the air conditioning and breakfast service! We aim for all of our guests to receive a consistently high standard of service, please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience you experienced!

I hope that the rest of your stay in Port Macquarie was enjoyable.

Thanks,

Rydges Port Macquarie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Wife and i spent the weekend at the hotel to help my son organise his wedding reception in October. Our room was looking a bit old but the view from the balcony is so spectacular and the staff were very helpful and the food was excellent.

Room Tip: Front rooms with balconies are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wojon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rydges_Port, Manager at Rydges Port Macquarie, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Hi Wojon,

Thanks so much for your review. Appreciate your lovely comment about our staff! Also happy to read you enjoyed some of the delicious food from our restaurant.

Look forward to seeing you back in October.

Cheers,

Rydges Port Macquarie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

We stayed at the Rydges as a stop over from Sydney-Gold Coast. We stayed in a 2 bedroom room which was on the upper level and the view was fantastic. I note from the other reviews about the noise but we stayed on a public holiday and everything was closed. There was some work being done in the park out the front and it was noisy so I can appreciate the noise from the pub next door would be loud. The room is large and everything you would need to stay for an extended period with a large group. Central location, underground parking it was a good stay. We did dine in the restaurant. Two of the signature dishes were not available on the night, one was the oysters, how can a restaurant in Port Macquarie not have oysters ? We ordered a bottle of wine that was forgotten, I had the 'thinly sliced fish' which was frozen in the middle. I really got the sense that the restaurant on the public holiday had just switched off. I would definitely stay again and hopefully they have the honey kilpatrick oysters at the restaurant.

Room Tip: High Floor, Eastern End
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MBarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rydges_Port, Manager at Rydges Port Macquarie, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Hey MBarr,

Glad you enjoyed your stay with us! Yes, we are lucky to be so centrally located!

Sorry to read your comments regarding the restaurant. I have passed these on to the food & beverage department.

Really hope to see you again soon and have you try our delicious oysters next time!

Thanks for your review.

Cheers,

Rydges Port Macquarie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

I really think the management of this hotel have a duty of care to their guests. We stayed the weekend of 18/19 May. My husband was on business and I tagged along for a nice relaxing weekend. Boy - was that a mistake! Room was good (with spectacular view of the roof top)! Bed was comfortable. Decor was ok, although a bit outdated now. Shower over the bath is awful, especially for older guests. Check in was easy and staff at front desk appeared pleasant. All good until we went to bed. Then, around 10 pm the band fired up at the pub next door (?). Now, we don't object to a bit of background noise. After all,it was Saturday night. However, this was LOUD, invasive, throbbing and impossible to block out. My poor husband had to be up at 6 am to do a 12 hour day at the local hospital and this racket went on unit 17 minutes past midnight. Back to the duty of care..... The hotel should warn guests about this. They clearly know it is a regular event, as evidenced by the grin on the staff member's face when I complained. For heaven's sake, tell the guest that there is likely to be a god awful din until after midnight and give them the opportunity to make other arrangements! Failing this, offer the guest a room where it is less noisy and give the noisy rooms to those who are going to be out on the town anyway. Guests have the right to expect a peaceful night's sleep and when the hotel knows full well that is unlikely to eventuate they need to tell us! We spoke to two other couples who said they would not return for the same reason and that they would tell others about it too - as shall I. It's a shame that this spoils an otherwise not bad establishment.

Room Tip: If you are there on a Saturday night and you want to sleep before midnight, ask for a room away from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neeceyrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rydges_Port, Manager at Rydges Port Macquarie, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Hi NeeceyT,

Thanks for your review.

Genuinely sorry to read of your disappointment during your recent stay and please accept our apologies for any inconveniences you may have experienced. As we are in the centre of town we do have night venues close to us and consequently the rooms closest to the night venues have had their windows double glazed so as to help block out outside noise. Also on weekends we aim to room all guests in rooms facing away from any night music. Regardless, please accept our apologies for any sleep disruptions you experienced.

Hope you enjoyed the remainder of your weekend.

Thanks

Rydges Port Macquarie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron Bay
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

400km north of Sydney and seemed like a perfect place to stop, revive and survive as the road signs kept saying. Got a beautiful room (big enough for a dance class) with views over the river to the glorious sunset. Perfect in every way until the pub next door started a drumming concert at about 8. It finished at 10 for a few blessed moments, only to be followed by a rap concert of some kind with the same insistent beat but at an even greater volume. Having paid extra for a balcony so we could have fresh air, the reception's suggestion that we close the door was not appreciated, and didn't even help much. When we checked out, no one asked how our stay had been. They either already knew, or didn't care. Either way, we won't be back in a hurry.

Room Tip: Several blocks away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank batsami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rydges_Port, Manager at Rydges Port Macquarie, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Hi batsami,

Thank you for your review.

Sorry to hear your stay didn't meet your expectations. As we are in the centre of town we do have night venues close to us. The rooms closest to the pub have had their windows double glazed so as to help block out outside noise. I believe on this night the front desk staff called the venue and passed on the complaint and advised noise restrictions begin at 11pm where we are then in our right to call the police if excessive noise continues. Please accept our apologies if your sleep or rest was interrupted. We aim to ensure all of our guests receive a consistently high standard of service and product.

Apologies again and thank you for your feedback.

Regards,

Rydges Port Macquarie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Macquarie hotels
0.4 mi away
Ki-ea Apartments
Ki-ea Apartments
#2 of 42 in Port Macquarie
329 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercure Centro Port Macquarie
Mercure Centro Port Macquarie
#10 of 42 in Port Macquarie
839 reviews
0.3 mi away
Waters Edge Port Macquarie
Waters Edge Port Macquarie
#19 of 42 in Port Macquarie
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Mantra The Observatory
Mantra The Observatory
#5 of 42 in Port Macquarie
1,407 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sails Resort Port Macquarie - by Rydges
0.7 mi away
Sandcastle Apartments Port Macquarie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Port Macquarie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Port Macquarie

Property: Rydges Port Macquarie
Address: 1 Hay St, Port Macquarie, New South Wales 2444, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Port Macquarie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Port Macquarie
#11 Luxury Hotel in Port Macquarie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges Port Macquarie 4.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The location is the picturesque foreshore precinct filled with theatres, galleries, restaurants, boutiques and bars. With direct access to pristine swimming and surf beaches and only minutes to the amazing hinterland, Rydges Port Macquarie is the ideal destination for your next getaway on the water. Rydges Port Macquarie offers 103 contemporary and spacious rooms overlooking the water or CBD, complemented by 16 fully self-contained two and three bedroom apartments with private balconies. Also home to the award winning Zebu Bar + Grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Rydges Port Macquarie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Port Macquarie Hotel Port Macquarie
Rydges Hotel Port Macquarie
Port Macquarie Rydges Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing