We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing restaurant” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rydges Port Macquarie

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Rydges Port Macquarie
Ranked #12 of 42 Hotels in Port Macquarie
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

Wonderful hotel with lovely spacious room but what made our stay was the amazing restaurant and bar. Started the evening off with a cocktail in the bar where a lovely friendly gentleman offered to make me his latest special cocktail which was wonderful. We then proceeded into the restaurant where we had reserved a table and brought our own champagne which staff said was ok. They had set up a wonderful table by the window with beautiful special champagne glasses waiting wow! We ordered the degustation menu and were blown away by the quality of food!! even better than our dinner the previous evening at the Hilton sydney glass brasserie. Overall we had an amazing stay at the rydges and we will be back!!!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank takahae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rydges_Port, Manager at Rydges Port Macquarie, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Hi takahae,

Thanks for the great feedback about out restaurant & bar! We do love our degustation menu! Personally the scallops I think are divine! Not to mention the matching wines that go with the five courses mmmmmmm.

Looking forward to seeing you again soon, maybe the boys will have a new cocktail recipe for you to try ;)

Cheers

Rydges Port Macquarie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

871 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    376
    150
    56
    45
See reviews for
226
333
23
150
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (290)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt
Level Contributor
29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

In January 2013, we had a very good two night stay in this hotel. Though not cheap, it is assumingly (one of ) the best places to stay on town. Directly located at the waterfront, it offers good food, a nice bar and FREE wireless in the lobby and restaurant area. From there, you can walk to the harbor, to the restaurant scene and most shopping is also close by. The rooms are not special but ok. We had quite a high price but got a room with view to the back and containers which was not so nice but in the end still ok as we were outside most of the time. But there are better rooms definitely. Bring a your painting equipment to make one of the rocks your own! ;-)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bella1106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rydges_Port, Manager at Rydges Port Macquarie, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Hi Bella1106,

Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel.

Yes, the free wifi in the bar & restaurant is a bonus! Pleased to hear you enjoyed some of the great food from our restaurant also.

Hopefully we will see you again soon… maybe a water view room next time?

Cheers,

Rydges Port Macquarie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013 via mobile

Ok 2nd time in 2 months I've stayed here. Paid to stay in a king deluxe, they offered me an upgrade after I asked which was to a 2 bedroom apartment. Was great until I checked out. They charged me on both nights the price for the 2 bedroom apartment. When I questioned it they said, you did get free car park. Wow so they fixed it seeing how angry I was getting. Stayed again in a king deluxe within 3 weeks from my last stay, no upgrade this time. Stayed 2 nights, checked out all was good until a week later my credit card was charged double for my stay. I rang hotel spoke to front office supervisor who didn't apologise but offered to fix it ASAP. 3 days later I called back & the same young lady said "I did get our accounts lady to sort this for you but she's only here certain days of the week. A week later I got a refund. Nice place to stay but never again. Car park charges, Internet charges & reception / front office staff especially front office manager need to be better a lot better

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monson08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rydges_Port, General Manager at Rydges Port Macquarie, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Hi Monson08,

Wow, genuinely sorry to read of your experience, we aim to ensure all of our guests receive a consistently high standard of service.

I have sent you a private message so I can try and resolve and apologise in person.

Kind Regards,

David Capper
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kincumber, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

We stayed here over New Years . This has been our 6 th visit to this hotel. We also use it as a stop over when traveling north with the kids. We have always been allocated an eastern facing room however this stay we were put over the western side. I was a little worried at first however it was just as nice. My only one criticism was our windows didn't open. I am a fresh air freak and always feel very closed in if we can't get access to fresh air.....the hotel front desk weren't able to relocate us due to being peak season, but they did send up fans to help us out . Other than this is a great place to stay weather it's a holiday or just a stop over.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bin40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rydges_Port, Manager at Rydges Port Macquarie, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Hey Bin40,

Thanks for making us your regular stop off when travelling up the coast! We're lucky to be in such a good position between Brisbane & Sydney for stop overs!

Appreciate your understanding about the windows too; some of them have been double glazed so as to keep out the excess noise from the street.

Hopefully see you again before New Year!

Cheers

Rydges Port Macquarie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

We stayed in a two bedroom apartment on the long weekend. The hotel has a great location on the water in the town centre and the room had magnificent views from the balcony. We had a good dinner at Zebu restaurant. The staff were helpful and friendly however I find the 3.00pm check in time a negative especially for a short stay. (Even if stated in the booking) To be charged $55 per person for an average breakfast was poor value. This was my mistake as I trusted the staff member to offer me the best value. He only gave one option and did not discuss alternatives. These little things are about trust and not the money. The rooms are getting tired with sagging mattresses, stained carpets and dated lounge furniture. The shampoo and conditioner smelt like petroleum products. My view is the hotel would rate 3 stars only - mainly for the view and location.

Room Tip: Room facing the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GregBellaVista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rydges_Port, Manager at Rydges Port Macquarie, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Hi GregBellaVista,

Thanks for your feedback. Like you mentioned, we do have the 3pm check-in at the hotel, which in turn comes with the 11am check-out. Apologise if it put you out at all.

Not sure what the $55 breakfast charge was. We have our full buffet breakfast at $27.50p/p. Sorry for any confusion caused; we do aim to ensure all our guests receive a consistently high standard of service.

I hope you enjoyed your long weekend in Port Macquarie and thanks for taking the time to post your comments.

Regards,

Rydges Port Macquarie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

I had booked 2 nights at Rydges and there was no mention of parking problems on their website. I then read comments on tripadvisor concerning parking so rang up the hotel and was told they could not guarantee secure parking within the hotel..I was told first in first served.As we were arriving late I gathered there would be no parking available.I was told I could park on the street and it would be safe as the police station was nearby.My husband and I decided that this was not acceptable so I rang back and cancelled our booking.The receptionist was very put out and said she could fix something up but still couldn't guarantee parking.I booked at The Observatory and the parking was secure and wonderful.

Room Tip: If you value your car and want secure parking don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Xena100bc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rydges_Port, Manager at Rydges Port Macquarie, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Hi Xena100bc,

Really sorry to hear you cancelled your stay with us. Unfortunately when we are at full occupancy it is difficult to get everyone a car space.

Apologies for any hassle you may have experienced and I hope you enjoyed your stay here in Port Macquarie.

Thanks,

Rydges Port Macquarie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Great location close to all the best pubs, cafes and restaurants. Right near the boardwalk taking to you a short walk to the Main Beach or along the marina. Would definitely stay again.
Only complaint is that we didn't have a balcony but the people next to us and above us did so it got loud at times as you could hear them all on their balconies late afternoon.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank losha85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rydges_Port, Manager at Rydges Port Macquarie, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Hey losha85,

Great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! We are lucky being right in the centre of town!

Hopefully we see you again soon, maybe in a balcony room of your own?

Cheers

Rydges Port Macquarie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Macquarie hotels
0.2 mi away
Mercure Centro Port Macquarie
Mercure Centro Port Macquarie
#10 of 42 in Port Macquarie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 810 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ki-ea Apartments
Ki-ea Apartments
#4 of 42 in Port Macquarie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mantra The Observatory
Mantra The Observatory
#3 of 42 in Port Macquarie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Sails Resort Port Macquarie - by Rydges
Sails Resort Port Macquarie - by...
#11 of 42 in Port Macquarie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mantra Quayside Apartments Port Macquarie
0.2 mi away
Macquarie Waters Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Port Macquarie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Port Macquarie

Property: Rydges Port Macquarie
Address: 1 Hay St, Port Macquarie, New South Wales 2444, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Port Macquarie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Port Macquarie
#11 Luxury Hotel in Port Macquarie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges Port Macquarie 4.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The location is the picturesque foreshore precinct filled with theatres, galleries, restaurants, boutiques and bars. With direct access to pristine swimming and surf beaches and only minutes to the amazing hinterland, Rydges Port Macquarie is the ideal destination for your next getaway on the water. Rydges Port Macquarie offers 103 contemporary and spacious rooms overlooking the water or CBD, complemented by 16 fully self-contained two and three bedroom apartments with private balconies. Also home to the award winning Zebu Bar + Grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Rydges Port Macquarie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Port Macquarie Hotel Port Macquarie
Rydges Hotel Port Macquarie
Port Macquarie Rydges Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing