We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Rydges Port Macquarie
Nearby Hotels
Mid Pacific Motel(Port Macquarie)(Great Value!)
$96
$94
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aston Hill Motor Lodge(Port Macquarie)(Great Value!)
$88
$86
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$130
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Koala Tree Motel(Port Macquarie)(Great Value!)
$75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$75
$73
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
East Port Motor Inn(Port Macquarie)(Great Value!)
$72
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ki-ea Apartments(Port Macquarie)
$124
$120
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
El Paso Motor Inn(Port Macquarie)(Great Value!)
$100
$97
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$116
$113
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mantra The Observatory(Port Macquarie)
$151
$113
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (983)
Filter reviews
983 results
Traveler rating
273
416
174
69
51
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
273
416
174
69
51
Show reviews that mention
All reviewszebu barthe riverpolice stationbuffet breakfastroom servicestreet parkingroom was largeoverlooking the waterstandard roomlate checkoutking bedshopping centreport macundercover parkingbalconyviewssydney
Filter
Updating list...
784 - 789 of 983 reviews
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We stayed here for four nights in a huge two bedroom apartment with our three teenage sons
and had the best time ever. The hotel and front of house staff were great. The view from our room was AMAZING! Our balcony was HUGE and the view was to die for. Mornings were the best..saw dolphins every day and buffet breakfast at Zebu was divine. The Zebu staff and chefs were polite and courteous. They set the mood for the day and it was a pleasure to eat there. The room staff were always helpful and filled up our supplies whenever we asked. They were always cheerful. The weather was always over 30 degrees and we never once used the air-con because the sea breeze flowed through our apartment. Parking was never a problem. The hotel is within walking distance and smack bang in the middle of everything you would ever need. The hotel was booked out and you wouldn't even know it because it was so quiet. We plan on returning to Rydges every year. Absolutely fantastic.

Room Tip: Water front rooms on the fifth floor...Amazing.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank josid_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rydges_Port, Manager at Rydges Port Macquarie, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2013

Hey josid_12,

Excellent review!! We are absolutely delighted that you enjoyed all the hotel had to offer. Seeing dolphins must off been the cherry on top too!

Very pleased you were impressed with all the staff, we do try to provide excellent customer service!

We would love to see you again soon,

Cheers

Rydges Port Macquarie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

We booked a superior river room view.. big mistake!! The room was right on the pool and that was all we could see... no river. Also we could hear the children and people splashing around the pool all morning. We called reception who advised us that was the more expensive suprior river view room. Do not waste your money.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lucy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rydges_Port, Manager at Rydges Port Macquarie, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2013

Hi lucy F,

Really sorry to read your comments and apologises for any problems you encountered on your stay.

We do our best to room guests as high as possible but this can be harder to do when we are at full occupancy.

Please accept our sincere apologies and I hope the rest of your stay in Port Macquarie was pleasurable.

Kind regards,

Rydges Port Macquarie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

My husband and I stayed for three nights. The location of the hotel was surprisingly great.. It was conveniently close to everything.. We didn't use the hotel parking although it was available and was offered as an option at check- in. (Check-in was quite quick and pleasant). We decided that it was pointless to park at the hotel as would be using the car to drive to the different beaches and found street parking was usually easy to find on the same street as the hotel- keep in mind though 2hr limit most of the day so we did move the car a couple of times in the afternoon.
On arriving to our room I checked for cleanliness (which is my number one focus when staying in any hotel) and we were very pleased with the very clean state of the room. (Compliments to the cleaners!)
The bathroom was also very clean and some toiletries as well as fresh towels were provided. Shower pressure is excellent..
The bed............ Appeared to be larger than queen size which was great (was actually two king singles pushed together with a padded velcrose-type joiner in the middle) and looked rather appealing, however, was VERY uncomfortable- soft and lumpy. Hence three nights of tossing and turning which was the biggest disappointment of our getaway.
This would probably be the factor that would keep us away in the future which is a shame because we were so happy with everything else.
Other points-
* Someone came around each day to ask if we needed our mini bar re-stocked.
* A great outdoor pool
* Friendly staff and cleaners greet you in the hallway in the mornings.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GeenzV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rydges_Port, Manager at Rydges Port Macquarie, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2013

Hi GeenzV,

Sounds like you had a great stay! Housekeeping will be pleased to hear the good feedback regarding the cleanliness of rooms.

Apologies for the sleep discomfort you experienced. As of a couple of months ago all the hotel rooms now have the Rydges Dream Beds from which we have received great feedback.

I really hope you stay with us again and hopefully you can test out our new dream beds!

Thanks for the review,

Rydges Port Macquarie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

We stayed here 1 night whilst on a drive up the coast so didn't make much use of the facilities. We arrived late afternoon and the hotel car park was full and, although there is a lot of street parking, none was free. So we sat in the car for half an hour or so waiting for a space to become free. It’s a good location. The staff were friendly and helpful. The room was spacious and comfortable.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AllyM810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rydges_Port, Manager at Rydges Port Macquarie, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2013

Hi AllyM810,

Really sorry to hear about your parking issue, unfortunately when we are at full occupancy it is difficult to get everyone a car space. Thank you for being understanding.

Happy to read you were pleased with the rest of your stay!

Thanks for your review,

Rydges Port Macquarie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Stay overnight on the way to Gold coast, what a mistake!
BE AWARE THERE ISN'T SECURE PARKING AFTER 2PM - YOU READ RIGHT AND NO MENTION OF LACK OF PARKING OR EVEN RESTRICTED ON THEIR OWN WEB SITE, - THERE IS ONLY 49 PARKING SPACES FOR 170 ODD ROOMS BY THE TIME THE "RESIDENTS" PARK , STAFF PARK, ALL GONE , YOU HAVE TO PARK IN THE STREETS AROUND THE HOTEL.
We ended up 2 blocks away parking, staff not really bothered QUOTE " The managers here know about it but won't do anything about it, we've told them over and over to be told they have already booked what are they going to do?"
Check in was quick especially when questioned over parking!?
Room is clean but getting dated and very worn, toilet wouldn't flush properly and leaked all night, rang front told no one to fix it till morning, air con very very noisy.
Bed really soft really sore back by all members of family.
Room service very slow, hot choc was only luke warm at best.
Breakfast in the morning is a real let down , view from restaurant very cool but thats about it,
Poor selection of all foods, toaster would have to be the slowest I have come across, only a 4 piece pop up, come on get with the times.
Hot food displayed in cast iron pots with heavy hot lids that you have to lift off then place on a GLASS top so 80's.
Everything is set up close together really crowded even when in quite eating time, really dislike bumping around people with a full plate.
Coffee is really yuck and orange juice had a strange white/greenish film on top when pointed out to staff was told other juices where available on other table? NOTE many full orange juice glasses left on tables!
Staff slow in removing cleaning tables, cutlery was not clean from what was available really not good.
Not a good experience especially being a Rydges - as said BY NAME ONLY
Would We stay here again - NO , NO WAY.

Room Tip: Look else where, really don't make the mistake and stay here.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank uter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rydges_Port, General Manager at Rydges Port Macquarie, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2013

Hi uter,

I am sincerely sorry to read of your concerns and issues, certainly not what we want to achieve!

I have sent you a private message so I can try and resolve and apologise in person.

We aim to ensure all of our guests receive a consistently high standard of service and product.

Apologies again and thanks for taking the time to post your comments.

Kind Regards,

David Capper
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews