We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Rooms and Good Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rydges Port Macquarie
Ranked #12 of 42 Hotels in Port Macquarie
Bateau Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good Rooms and Good Location”
Reviewed July 11, 2012

My wife and I had to go to Port Macquarie to see family and friends and we decided to stay at Rydges. We stayed in the river view rooms and found them to be very comfortable and quite. Rydges is located near the Police Station in the middle of the CBD and is handy to everything. House keeping was very good and had the best shower I have ever had in a hotel room. We had breakfast in our room and it had enough food for double what we needed. We would stay there again any time. Our only fault staying there was we went out for awhile on friday night and when we came back to park underneath the hotel, all parking was gone. I think the hotel should have made a better effort to ensure guests had secure parking when they pay for it.

Room Tip: Rooms over looking the river are money well spent
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vicndebh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

892 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    247
    384
    155
    59
    47
See reviews for
230
342
24
155
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Wollongong
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Booked 2 nights through Rydges website. We're a family of five and were able to book a 2 bedroom city view apartment. Went to go to bed the first night and found we were a bed short (we had presumed the sofa was a sofa bed). Rang reception and were told by a condescending staff member that if we wanted beds for 5 we should have booked the 3 bedroom apartment or we could pay an extra $50 for a rollaway bed. I tried to ask why their website allowed me to book for 5 people without there being 5 beds or why their was no option that I could remember to indicate that we would require an extra bed. She was quite rude and dismissive. She said that they had rung and emailed to ask if we wanted an extra bed. We had been away so couldn't verify what she said. I have since checked since arriving home and there were no phone messages or emails. I had also asked when checking in if we were booked for five as we had paid for the breakfast package and no mention was made then in regards to the beds.
Kids loved the pool. Rooms were clean and well equipped.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank col453
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South West Rocks, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2012

The hotel is in a great location on the waterfront at Port, walk to everything as is right in town. Rooms were very clean, and beds really comfy we felt like were were sleeping on a cloud. Water pressure in the shower was terrible.

House keeping staff were excellent and very helpful, when we asked for more coffee and sugar they also offered us a fresh jug of milk which was great as those long life milk drops are terrible.

Check in was awful and nearly ruined our long planned stay. I think the person,s name was Sophia. This particular person really needs some training in customer service. We were offered an upgrade by another staff member (who was lovely by the way) at a cheaper rate, when I mentioned this upon check in Sophia was quite rude and after much huffing and puffing went off into another room and upon her return stated that we should not have been offered the rate, which of course was very embarrising. We left to go to our room feeling terrible I felt like leaving and not staying at all and it just left a really horrible feeling over the whole stay.

Check out on the other hand was lovely really nice staff on the front desk.

But we left feeling like we would probably not return given the other options avail in the area due to check in service.

Balcony rooms are best.

Room Tip: Balcony over looking the river are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wendy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2012

The location of this hotel cannot be beat it is right smack bang in the middle of Port Central and very close to everything you could possibley need.

Rooms are very spacious and clean, I must admit the decor needs updating. The beds are not very comfertable to be honest.

Staff on the reception, cleaners and in the morning at breakfast in the Restaurant are fantastic always happy to help and very courteous.

When returning to Port Macquarie I will definatley stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank disneydreamer07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2012

Rooms were modern, clean, light and even though we picked a standard room we still had a view of the river.
Don't let them put you in the old unrenovated rooms behind the pub!
This was a surprisingly nice hotel, perfect location, comfortable beds, plenty of pillows and good cafe/ bar with live music downstairs.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jackie4333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
137 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

Rydges is well placed, in the central area of Port, with walks along water before eating at their excellent restaurant. Starters and mains offer many options for the meat eater, and good selections of wines plus some eclectic beers enable customers to come away satisfied. Having stayed many times, you won't be disappointed. Rooms are well appointed, and parking outside or using the hotels spaces enable easy access. All in all, a welcoming, and well appointed hotel.

Room Tip: Some have full balconies with views of the water and sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SimonE1506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
90 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2012

Booked this hotel through Wotif mystery deal. Location was good, close to shops, restaurant and water view. Room itself was pretty average but reasonably priced for the mystery deal.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Soodye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rydges_Port, General Manager at Rydges Port Macquarie, responded to this review, June 18, 2012
Hi Soodye

So pleased to read that you enjoyed the were able to take advantage of the "mystery deal" and the great location. We hope to have the chance to welcome you back again in the future.

Kind Regards

Rydges Port Macquarie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Macquarie hotels
0.2 mi away
Mercure Centro Port Macquarie
Mercure Centro Port Macquarie
#9 of 42 in Port Macquarie
835 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ki-ea Apartments
Ki-ea Apartments
#2 of 42 in Port Macquarie
325 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mantra The Observatory
Mantra The Observatory
#5 of 42 in Port Macquarie
1,361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Sails Resort Port Macquarie - by Rydges
Sails Resort Port Macquarie - by...
#10 of 42 in Port Macquarie
539 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sandcastle Apartments Port Macquarie
0.2 mi away
Macquarie Waters Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Port Macquarie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Port Macquarie

Property: Rydges Port Macquarie
Address: 1 Hay St, Port Macquarie, New South Wales 2444, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Port Macquarie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Port Macquarie
#11 Luxury Hotel in Port Macquarie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges Port Macquarie 4.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The location is the picturesque foreshore precinct filled with theatres, galleries, restaurants, boutiques and bars. With direct access to pristine swimming and surf beaches and only minutes to the amazing hinterland, Rydges Port Macquarie is the ideal destination for your next getaway on the water. Rydges Port Macquarie offers 103 contemporary and spacious rooms overlooking the water or CBD, complemented by 16 fully self-contained two and three bedroom apartments with private balconies. Also home to the award winning Zebu Bar + Grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotel.de, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Rydges Port Macquarie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Port Macquarie Hotel Port Macquarie
Rydges Hotel Port Macquarie
Port Macquarie Rydges Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing