We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hastings River

Hastings River
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Ourimbah NSW
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very clean”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Went on a river cruise around the houses and up towards the bridge . The river and the banks were very well looked after and ideal for wildlife.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wayne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    59
    8
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“relaxing”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Its a nice place to spend your day with your family. theres almost everything, you want to spend your time--- fishing, boating, walking around bushes. Theres a place for barbecue as well and people catching ferry to cross the river in their cars...

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nirmal M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Relaxing”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

So nice to stroll right along the breakwater wall taking in the freshness of the clean sea water entering or exiting the River. Sometimes dolphins enter the Harbour.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Walk, fish, boat, cruise.....”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Port (as it's known locally) is still a hidden treasure: the Hastings River and the beaches are right in town. Stroll along the southern breakwall to Town Beach, walk around the pretty harbour on the river, take a scenic trip on one of the many sightseeing river cruises, or take the seaplane trip. Or catch a ferry across to the dunes on the nortehrn side of the river. Take a small boat or kayak and explore the shallow mangrove lined creeks and bays or go fishing for a great variety of fish. Oh, and on the breakwall park there's a superb skateboard park.

Great place Port: and most of it's based on the Hastings River.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank NomadicmanTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
76 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Who says there are no fish in the Hastings River?”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

First, we bought a fishing licence. They are cheap and saves a red face if you are questioned by the Maritime people. Then we hired a little boat and some prawns for bait and then we caught two nice bream which I cleaned and gutted back at the boat hire place and later cooked them for dinner with some crispy chips. We had dolphins surface close to our boat several times. What a great way to spend a couple of hours.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank DrewboySydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hastings River also viewed

Port Macquarie, New South Wales
 
Port Macquarie, New South Wales
Port Macquarie, New South Wales
 

Been to Hastings River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing