We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great night out”
Review of Toro's Mexican Cantina - CLOSED

Toro's Mexican Cantina
Price range: $8 - $28
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: An authentic experience of Mexican Cuisine.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Great night out”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Went with friends while visiting Port Macquarie. Food was tasty, staff friendly, clean establishment. reasonably priced.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Debdownunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    28
    31
    23
    47
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Hola, we had a ball and a great dinner”
Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

Went with our 5 year old daughter. Nice little restraunt, furniture all extremely clean. Service was friendly and fast. Food was sooooo delicious and reasonably priced despite what other reviews say. We had entree, main, dessert for less than $100 for all 3. We loved it, great taste, great service, great atmosphere. We'll be back!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Shang80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Tasty but overpriced”
Reviewed March 1, 2013

There was a large menu on offer (although the menu itself was very hard to read). The food was tasty but very overpriced and then they charge you extra for sides like guacamole. The restaurant itself was cosy and well decorated. Staff were not overly friendly

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank netmot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Friendly staff and prompt service”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

We ate here on an overnight stop over at Port Macquarie - did not have a booking and when we arrived it was fairly quiet. After being shown to our table the waitress quickly returned with the menu and a bottle of water - our order was taken soon after and it seemed to take no time at all for the food to arrive.

The dishes were a little more expensive than we have experienced at other mexican restaurants however the serve sizes were generous and the food had plenty of flavour (although a little unusual for my taste) - still not what I would see as good value for money. While the decor is Mexican I would not describe the food as traditional Mexican cuisine - don't know what nationality the chef is but doubt he/she has ever been to Mexico let alone learned to cook there. Their Sangria is also different to what we are used to but was a good accompaniment to the food. The staff returned a number of times to enquire if everything was okay & if there was anything else we wanted. By the time we were finished the place was almost packed - obviously very popular - but no pressure to vacate our table as often happens in small restaurants.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank philnterry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“on the mild side”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We were lucky to get a table at this busy restaurant and accepted that we had to finish by a certain time as there was a later booking – we didn’t need to be reminded several times. The restaurant is nicely decorated in line with the Mexican theme. The menu took some deciphering as it is set up as mix and match. It provides a temperature guide – we chose the middle rating - but our meals were more on the mild side with not much kick at all.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank lird5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Toro's Mexican Cantina also viewed

Port Macquarie, New South Wales
Port Macquarie, New South Wales
 
Port Macquarie, New South Wales
Port Macquarie, New South Wales
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing