We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awful lunch”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Fig - CLOSED

Fig
Price range: $15 - $35
Cuisines: Australian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Port's premiere place for large booking! Close to the waterfront with indoor & outdoor seating. Cafe, Bistro and Bar. 17 Beers on tap, 3 Ciders on tap. Extensive Cocktail list. Live music. Outdoor playground.
Port Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awful lunch”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

This was our 3rd trip to the Fig ,,we gave it another go due to the location ,,awful service awful food ,,warm water served I had chicken pasta ,,bones in chicken slimey simply awful
We will not be returning over priced poor service terrible food

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cesc131204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    32
    26
    28
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Port Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
385 reviews
200 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

Ive been out here serveral times and i am finding that the service is what holds The Fig down from being great.
Staff seem to be unorganised too, walking around for minutes, backwards and forwards, to find a table ...
They have nice food and ok coffee.
The barstaff as not very helpful i might add- i asked for a new, tasty beer for my Dad, as he said "surprise me" i told the man what my Father drinks and he said "i dont know, i guess Fat Yakk. I wouldnt drink it, but its ok" i thought that the 'i dont care attitude' was un called for and a little off putting .

Such a shame about The FIg as it is in prime location with a large seating area.
If the Staff improves i will continue to go there....

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Young_and_Free_85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Poor service ruins another good cafe”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

Been there a few times. Good spot in front of the park. Nice open restaurant, great decor.
But do the staff give a damn? It was a quiet day and I was poised behind a customer who was umming and ahhing, changing her mind about what to order. I stood there for at least 5 minutes whil a second server just wandered about behind the counter doing stuff all. When are these places going to realize that these low paid serving staff are the most important first contact. This girl could not have been less interested. All I ordered was a coffee. It was fine.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ACEPMQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
Level Contributor
177 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Central location in Port Macquarie”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

Met a group of friends for brunch on a saturday morning. As this cafe is close to a park and right on the Hastings river, it gets crowded with families and visitors. Coffee was ok, my quiche and salad was tasty, fresh but fairly small. Good place to go to catch up with people, or just watch the world go by. It is order and pay at the counter .

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GayleJP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Really liked this place for breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2012

We went here for breakfast after being disappointed by The Corner Restaurant. We had the healthy breakfast - excellent. Coffee is good and we got some mararons to take away. Will be back next year.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sally4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fig also viewed

Port Macquarie, New South Wales
Port Macquarie, New South Wales
 
Port Macquarie, New South Wales
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing