We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“where the locals go”

Thai House Takeaway
Ranked #54 of 215 Restaurants in Port Macquarie
Price range: $5 - $14
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Delivery, Digital Payments, Parking Available, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: This is mainly a take-away but has some eat-in capabilities. It is good authentic Thai food.They have lunch specials starting from $9 Monday to Friday (11am - 2:30pm)and are open for dinner 7 nights from 5pm until 9pm.New owners from 8/5/2012.
Port Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
113 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“where the locals go”
Reviewed September 19, 2012

We tend to go for takeaway. Eat-in is fairly "industrial" but why wouldn't you take away anyway?
GREAT food which is the point of it, and they will adjust for "heat" very happily albeit with humour!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tony2326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    26
    2
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Goulburn, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Dissapointed”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

The decor leaves something to be desired.
We had takeaway so really who cares about the decor as long as the food is good.
Well the spring rolls were nice and soggy bland things.
The thai green curry was that sweet it was more like a dessert :(
I really love thai green curry but this one was such a dissapointment.
All the other food was below par, and I don't exactly live in a town that is known for it's culinary delights.
Service was average.
Perhaps this is a place for those who prefer a blander style of food.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank zrxs12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Top thai food in Port”
Reviewed September 15, 2012

We were advised to try Thai House, the outside has wonderful signs and paint job. A promising sight was the numbers of vehicles parked outside and inside the telephone never stopped for takeaways. My nose is always a first impression test and the food lived up to expectations.

The decor is basic, wooden tables and chairs, but quite spacious. We ordered Tom Yum with pork and Curry Puffs and for a main the Goong pad pong karee (King prawns with thick curry sauce, eggs and vegetables). The Tom Yum was delicious and the prawn dish was not only plentiful but also delicious. We had a boiled rice which we put some into the
Tom Yum.
The bill came to $37.20
We shall return.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Soren H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best Thai in Port”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Defiantly the best Thai restaurant in Port. Value for money and plenty of veggies and meat when ordering. Great lunch specials too. I always get the Chicken Cashew. Garlic Rice, and Curry Puffs are good too but the spring rolls are only vegetarian :(

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Michaelm89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collie, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“best green curry”
Reviewed July 15, 2012

we ate there for dinner once, service was quick, for was yum, and the thai green curry was the best ive had..loved it!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jason H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai House Takeaway also viewed

Port Macquarie, New South Wales
Port Macquarie, New South Wales
 
Port Macquarie, New South Wales
Port Macquarie, New South Wales
 

Been to Thai House Takeaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing