We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great lunch”
Review of Whoosh Cafe & Bar - CLOSED

Whoosh Cafe & Bar
Price range: $12 - $40
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Great Meals At Great Prices
Port Macquarie, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great lunch”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

We had lunch here, food and service was good and venue was bright and airy with space between tables and nice outlook. We have booked in for new years eve.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Davo293
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    10
    6
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

The food is the highlight of this restaurant. Large serves, great presentation and interesting combinations of flavours that really hit my taste buds. An entree and main was too much for me to eat. Duck Three Ways and Lamb Three ways was enjoyed by several at our table. Steak cooked to perfection. Seafood chowder was personally not as good as it could be but still enjoyable. Service was also exceptional with the guys doing their best to cater for all our requests. The decor of this motel restaurant is still very outdated, cluttered and tired, windows need cleaning.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank OzTrave11er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hidden little gem!!”
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Had a gorgeous dinner on Friday night! Lovely music, relaxing surrounds with the cute decor and green plants and little lights. Young but friendly and enthusiastic staff and most importantly a menu with a twist. So many different yet delectable sounding combinations on the menu that i have to go back again! The olive bread with spinach, haloumi, mushrooms and truffle oil was devine, the coconut prawns heavenly and three little ducks main was certainly a tasty creation. Thanks guys!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tarzi-Anne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great food.size and price.great service great atmosphere.value for money.recomend it to all.”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

excellent.pleasently shocked.fresh food and taste.great plate size at a very reasonable price.great service and atmosphere.recomend it highly.be pleasently shocked.good work bay leaf.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sir fez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Macquarie, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Sludge”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We had been going to this restaurant regularly and taking friends with us on several occaisions. One Saturday night, we and two close friends dined there. Two of us ordered fish pie. Turned out this meal was mashed potato and 3 prawns!!!! Actually looked and tasted like sludge. Impossible to eat. Myself and friend went to the toilet. No toilet paper!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! When we complained, we were given a $10 discount on our meal!!!! We would much have preferred to have had a decent meal with proper toilet facilities.
Friends of ours have had a similiar experience so please be aware when eating at this restaurant

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Christine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shane and Matt H, Manager at Whoosh Cafe & Bar, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Quite scathing indeed : (
Our menu is quiet clear in the dish's ingrediants .
The exact menu wording is as follows

Pie .. Snapper, garlic king prawns,potato and leek with chips and crispy flaky onion puff pastry.

We do apologuise for the fact you were unaware it was not a prawn pie. And as the prawns are intended to compliment the snapper we do not overwhelm the fish flavours.

Indeed there is potato in the pie as the menu also states, in regards to the consistancy our pie is rich and thick.
Perhaps next time you could try the chowder which has similar flavours yet thinner in its consistancy.

Thank you for making us aware we were out of toilet paper , and this was attended to immediately.

The decision made to discount your meal was done in good faith, as mentioned earlier our menu clearly states it meal descriptions re : potato and prawns being a secondry item to the dish.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Whoosh Cafe & Bar also viewed

Port Macquarie, New South Wales
Port Macquarie, New South Wales
 
Port Macquarie, New South Wales
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing