We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dont go. Rude owner. Food, not interesting. Good service gone.” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of BoardWalk - CLOSED

BoardWalk
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Dont go. Rude owner. Food, not interesting. Good service gone.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

Been going to Port for 15 years. Went to Boardwalk fairly regularly, with a few disappointing experiences with dishes, However last and final vist was when the exceptionally rude, arrogant, pig of an owner had returned. Frankly, he had obviously been drinking for quite some time when we booked, mid afternoon, and by the time we arrived at 7pm, he was well on his way. No record of booking, rude when advised we had booked with him 3 hours earlier. Several fried tapas dishes were cooked in oil not hot enough. Dripping in oil, soggy and truly disgusting, we advised the waitress of the issues and then had the pig come over and offer a refund, but with serious attitude, which continued until we left. Even paying for what we could eat, he continued with the drunken arrogance. At least the previous manager who pretended he was the owner was 1000% on the disgusting pig that claims years of hospitality experience. He couldnt get a job as a door opener in a public toilet

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Kim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    12
    6
    8
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Port Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Absolutely great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

A surprise selection for only $35 a head came up with an amazing menu with allergies catered for in the menu.... Magnificent food, recommended wine selection and great service....

Took my husband for his birthday and we enjoyed very much.

Looking forward to going back!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank slsheather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maitland, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Overbearing and simply dishonest - a trap”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

We were greeted by the overbearing owner who proceeded to inform my two teenage children that he had given our table away to 'the arabs' as they offered $1000 for it. Great start and somewhat offensive to my two children who have been raised to respect all people, regardless of their ethnicity. We took up the owner's offer of the $40 / head chef selection making it quite clear that no matter what was served, please ensure the waygu beef was included. Of course we were told. You guessed it, no waygu beef. We were informed the 'atlantic' salmon was very fresh as 'it had just come off the boat' with the owner pointing toward the local fish co op! What a bald face lie. Fresh salmon off a boat in Port Macquarie? Frozen off a boat from the Northern Hemisphere more like it. Desserts were to include 'vanilla bean ice cream' - no such luck - just watery home brand aerated milk froth. Another bald face lie from the now slightly intoxicated owner. At the end of the night we were presented with a bill that included a 10% surcharge despite there being no disclosure of same when we were being offered the $40 share plate option. The food was quite OK, simple but well executed. But overall we left very disappointed and sad that a restaurateur like this still exists - tell them lies, charge what you like and sit in your restaurant drinking numerous glasses of alcohol. Someone needs to tell him it is 2013, not 1913. We have been in hospitality for over 25 years - and have never relied on lies to sell our food or service. Shame this guy doesnt follow the same principle.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank James124124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Untrue”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

The position is magic, overlooking the beautiful Hastings river and wharf with boats moored.
Lovely, bright, modern and clean with a indoor outdoor feel with folding glass doors which open out to give you protection from the sun yet you experience the breeze and freshness of being outdoors.

Ordered the beef cheeks with green beans, received tender tasty beef cheeks with a nice salad however there wasn't a green bean to be seen unless they were hiding as nanotechnology particles.

Ordered Trio of ice cream with fresh fruits, received 3 scoops of ice cream, vanilla, chocolate and fruity sorbet with one large strawberry cut into slices and some macadamia nuts.(. $14.00) The ice cream and the strawberry was nice.

Both these items were from the whiteboard so you would expect them to be available, however there was no explanation from the owners who were both serving that green beans were not available or they had run out of fresh fruit ok macadamia nuts are a fruit so there was a second fruit on the plate however I am sure everyone would expect a serving of real fruit not nuts.

My point is you should receive what is advertised or else be advised that it is unavailable.

    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Wiseman488
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great service matched by food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

Went here for an early lunch and we were graciously introduced to the restaurant and menu by the owner. He successfully up-sold on every course. The king prawns were a hit! Location is second to none..

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Inquisitory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed BoardWalk also viewed

Port Macquarie, New South Wales
Port Macquarie, New South Wales
 
Port Macquarie, New South Wales
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing