We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food, Gluten friendly, wonderful spot”
Review of BoardWalk - CLOSED

BoardWalk
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Brisbane
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great food, Gluten friendly, wonderful spot”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We are just back from 6 days at Port Macquarie and this is the only restaurant we re-visited. All the dishes are serving plates for 2 people to share. We found a great range of tastes and most importantly to us, virtually the only Port Macquarie restaurant to advertise more than two gluten free dishes on the menu. The location is pretty good, overlooking the waterfront and some boats. We found the staff attentive and friendly and the meals arrived very quickly and were appropriately priced. We can recommend the wagyu beef and the lamb cutlets. The duck fat potatoes were also fantastic. We can wholeheartedly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank skipcaptain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    12
    6
    8
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
78 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“New Years Eve Fun”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Great spot, great price, great entertainment. However the owner is a touch on the rude side. Probably more arrogant than rude. My friends liked the food, but I was unable to eat it as I felt it was too fatty, so unfortunately I didn't eat. Personally, I would not go again.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MelCraigSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
37 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Never made to feel so unwelcome”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

The place looked fabulous from the outside so we thought we'd venture in for dinner. On entering there was no greeting of any kind, just a look as if we had intruded on a private conersation.

When asking for a table, we were advised that there would be a wait as they were worried about how busy the kitchen staff were. We offered to have a drink or two whilst the backlog cleared, something that didn't seem to have occurred to the manager and a man who seemed to be the owner. We also asked to see the menu and asked if it was just tapas or something more main sized. The tirade we received about what amazing food was on offer, that they were tasting plates not tapas, how long the owner had been in business and where we could go for 'average' food was jaw dropping in its arrogance and rudeness.

I expect that this restaurant relies in a continued turnover of tourists for its survival. My family has been in hospitality for over 50 years and wouldn't ever dream to treat someone in this manner, let alone a customer. Give your money, time and memories to someone more deserving.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RaeJam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burleigh Heads, Australia
Level Contributor
397 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“Mixed results here...”
Reviewed December 24, 2012 via mobile

Nice food, not terribly attentive wait staff, few of us had to signal staff for drink refills, food overpriced for tasting plates, but still good, lovely view...

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amanda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Horrible.”
Reviewed December 21, 2012

Worst service we have experienced in some time. The manager temperament and attitude would almost be comical if he hadn't refused to seat 2 extra guests in a virtually empty restaurant. Ordinary and overpriced food, with the sole redemption being the view- the only thing the staff have no involvement in. Avoid like the plague.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank matticus82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed BoardWalk also viewed

Port Macquarie, New South Wales
Port Macquarie, New South Wales
 
Port Macquarie, New South Wales
 
Port Macquarie, New South Wales
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing