We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not that great”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Port Macquarie Motel
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Not that great”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Arrived later at night. It was hard to find somebody to check in. The room was not really clean. If you are traveling during the winter, please note that at least our room did not have adequate heating. The bathroom window was open and could not be closed. I am sure that there are better places to stay. It was a great location to visit the koala hospital.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank G0Travel2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portmacquariemotel, Owner at Port Macquarie Motel, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
It is true that we do not offer 24 hour service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    11
    14
    8
    11
See reviews for
18
14
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Basic style accommodation - the room was on the small style though it was clean and came with usual toiletries/towels as well as a fridge, aircon, fan and flat screen TV. The bed was comfortable and the pillows were decent (not like those terrible flat pancake ones). The motel was a 5 min drive to town and probably a 20 min walk. We got stuck in Mackville due to traffic and called ahead to let the motel know, and the staff were accommodating enough to give us an extra hour to check in if needed.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Salleu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnie, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2012

We turned up without a booking following atrocious treatment from the owner/manager of another property (Koala Tree Motel) towards our autistic son. The owners of this old, but clean and comfortable motel, were kind, understanding and very welcoming. In fact, still in shock from our horrible experience a short time earlier, their kindness brought me to tears. When I asked for a tax invoice, at their convenience, we went out to visit some family. We returned shortly afterwards to find the invoice had already been printed and was sitting in an envelope on the bench in the room. Nothing was too much trouble for this warm and welcoming couple and I would advise people not to be put off by the sinple and dated facade of the property - looks aren't everything. Would definitely stay there again

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KarenT1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portmacquariemotel, Owner at Port Macquarie Motel, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Well I am at a loss for words. We didn't think that what we did was exceptional. She was in an obvious state of shock when she stepped into my office and I did what most people would do. Yes the building is old and that limits what we can offer but we do try to offer clean, comfortable rooms at a reasonable price. All I can say is thank you for the great review and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Returned to stay in Port Macquarie a week ago. Great to catch up with the hosts, Keith and Yen. As always, very friendly and help. The nearby Thai foods Keith recommended were fantastic, must try....

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeeFamily1668
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portmacquariemotel, Manager at Port Macquarie Motel, responded to this review, July 20, 2012
The Thai Touch Tide is one of our favorite restaurants
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

We chose this motel based on reviews and its location to our hire car company due to a problem with our hire car windscreen – it developed a rather large stone chip! :/
Upon arrival we were greeted by Keith, the owner, who was very friendly and very knowledgeable about the area. We ended up speaking to him for a good 30 minutes before we even entered our room! Thanks Keith! It was great to hear about all the places you’d visited and things you had experienced! : )
Upon entering our room it had the usual flat screen TV, tea/coffee facilities, fridge etc.
The room was a bit dated however for $80 we didn’t care! Although I did enjoy the retro galleon ship bathroom tiles! : ) Even though it was basic, more importantly the room was clean and had a great location near the centre of Port Macquarie. The bathroom was a touch small but hey, it was $80!
We nipped out for some food and returned back to the motel to get some rest. After a good night’s sleep we nipped in to see Keith, drop off our room key and present him with half a bottle of milk we couldn’t take with us, our gift to you our friend! : )
All in all, this was a basic motel, good value and a friendly owner in Keith. Would we stay again? Yes!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UKBiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 22, 2012

Excellent value for money. Clean and comfortable. Friendly helpful staff. Restaurants and take-aways nearby. Handy location.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toowoomba
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 21, 2011

Excellent, clean family rooms with great service. Definately will stay again.

Room Tip: Great family rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kaylene A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Macquarie hotels
0.8 mi away
El Paso Motor Inn
El Paso Motor Inn
#7 of 42 in Port Macquarie
424 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mid Pacific Motel
Mid Pacific Motel
#6 of 42 in Port Macquarie
312 reviews
0.9 mi away
T's Tennis Resort
T's Tennis Resort
#5 of 7 in Port Macquarie
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
East Port Motor Inn
East Port Motor Inn
#4 of 42 in Port Macquarie
476 reviews
0.0 mi away
Koala Tree Motel
Koala Tree Motel
#32 of 42 in Port Macquarie
269 reviews
1.2 mi away
Mantra The Observatory
Mantra The Observatory
#5 of 42 in Port Macquarie
1,406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Port Macquarie Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port Macquarie Motel

Property: Port Macquarie Motel
Address: 170 Gordon St, Port Macquarie, New South Wales 2444, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Port Macquarie
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Port Macquarie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Port Macquarie Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Port Macquarie Motel is a 15 room in-town motel located right on Gordon St on the western side of the town centre. Close to Westport Bowling Club, Settlement City, Finnians Irish Tavern and the Base Hospital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Port Macquarie Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing