We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Downgrade”

Spinnakers Restaurant
Ranked #88 of 229 Restaurants in Port Macquarie
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Located at Sails Resort
Port Macquarie, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Downgrade”
Reviewed January 9, 2014

I gave this restaurant a 5 star rating in September 2013. We dined here again in January 2014 and have to say that since Rydges took over and sacked the old staff, introduced a new menu and downgraded the quality of the food and service it has dropped to a 3 star restaurant. It no longer offers the best steak meals in Port Macquarie.

Everything is relative of course. If Macdonalds is a 1 star and Prime is 5 star then Spinakers is now a 2.5 star rating. Rydges restaurant Zebu at the town Green is now far superior, so if you're looking for a great steak in Port Macquarie don't go to Spinakers

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Springbeef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    44
    19
    11
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Port Macquarie
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Spinnakers Restaurant Port Macquarie NYE”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Wonderful location on mania in Port Macquarie with great view of fireworks. $99 for a seafood banquet sounded a fair price. Prawns salmon and oysters beautiful but spoilt by waiter rationing oysters and prawns for some and not others - was it who you knew. Salads boring, limited - pasta potato, rice and very soggy over dressed Caesar. Fried prawns and calamari, tough overlooked steak and lamb cutlets, soggy baked veggies and unappetising looking hunks of fish. Not possible to buy win by the glass unless you took the glass on the table with you. Problem if you wanted to drink champagne as no glasses supplied!! Staff packed up and enjoying drinks before 11.00 pm. We left by 11.15. After looking forward to the evening was very disappointed and would not return or recommend to others for New Year's Eve celebrations.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LinettePortMacquarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant Fantastic Resort”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

We stayed at the sails resort for a few days while traveling. On our last night my wife and I decided to have a night to ourselves. The food was amazing entree Pork Belly & Oysters fantastic, Mains was Flat Head & Salmon very tasty we don't usually do desert but the staff (Sam our waiter)
Was so nice and friendly we stayed for that to. All the staff were very helpful and friendly right through the Resort and the restaurant we would definitely recommend this for anyone that wants to pamper themselves for a few days. Very kid friendly with canoeing, fishing Plenty for them to do.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pathetic”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We stayed at Sails resort Port Macquarie, after a week long stay, we decided to end our stay eith some drinks at Spinnakers, the in house restaurant and bar. The atmosphere was quite pleasant, however that's where the pleasantness stopped, my wife ordered an apple martini, our friends, 2 long island iced teas. The apple martini came in a glass which made it look half empty with no garnish. Apon asking the bartender if this was a mistake, he rudely replied "um thats actually 28 bucks worth of alcohol", I find this hard to believe as the entire cocktail cost 15 dollars, so then I said to my wife this will be the best martini you ever had....... nope I was wrong, it tasted like fresh mowed grass and fertilizer. My friends had their long island iced tea in schooner glasses, which tasted like a by product of space shuttle fuel. No garnish in sight, not even a slice of lemon, obviously these coctails were far to decadent for garden variety garnishes. Thank you nathan the bartender for our rubbish drinks and smart replies. In closing, however the resort itself was very nice, I would recommend staying there, just walk the extra 20m to the next restaurant/ bar, quaylime.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great view, yet expensive entrees and mains”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Was staying at the hotel and thought would try the restaurant, as we were sitting in the bar. Food is Asian inspired seafood.

A good selection of Japanese and Chinese-inspired entrees and mains. The Seafood Plate was very good, as was the Scallops and Chorizo.

The service was pleasant, yet not particularly friendly, especially if you decide not to order the specials.

The meals did seem to be overpriced, especially the entrees and the serving sizes. I think this restaurant would be a great place for a romantic night out, or for a special occassion. However, for families, there might be cheaper alternatives.

Note for Public Holidays, they slug a 15% surcharge, which just added to the cost.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheLongestHair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spinnakers Restaurant also viewed

Port Macquarie, New South Wales
Port Macquarie, New South Wales
 
Port Macquarie, New South Wales
Port Macquarie, New South Wales
 
Port Macquarie, New South Wales
Port Macquarie, New South Wales
 

Been to Spinnakers Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing