We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor”
Review of Cafe 66

Cafe 66
Ranked #18 of 229 Restaurants in Port Macquarie
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, International
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Poor”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Pretty poor restaurant. The staff were pretty hopeless - preferring to set up tables that take our order. My risotto was dry and pretty tasteless, and not a lot of it. A lady on the next table ordered a different risotto and the portion size was almost double. Parmesan cheese was served dry in a canister rather than fresh. My wife's Lasagna was ok. The restaurant were happy to provide kids sized portions of pasta which were not on the regular menu, so that was good, however, we accidently ordered some ciabatta bread instead of garlic bread as a share plate for us and the kids. When it arrived, we laughed, as it was 4 small slices of French bread, each with a cocktail stick coming out, with a quarter of a garlic clove! We explained we made a mistake, so they took it back to the kitchen, only to come back a minute later to say they can change it to garlic bread, but we would still have to pay for it ($7). I was disgusted by this. It would have cost no more than 60 cents to produce this dish. Instead, they get a bad review from me, and I would never return.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank goobs_tommo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    111
    33
    14
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Incredible food and service”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

The restaurant was almost full at 6.30 which was a good indication of how popular it is. Bookings are essential for the Tuesday night. There were seven of us and we were seated upstairs where there was a beautiful breeze to keep us cool even though the night was very warm. The food was excellent, we had a variety of dishes accompanied by garlic and herb breads. As this was a special event the bill was split between six and came to just under $20 a head which was very reasonable. The staff, even though very busy were very polite and attentive. I'll most definitely be a returning customer

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sherpa123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
539 reviews
358 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“Great place to meet and eat”
Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

Amazing food at the port. The set up of the cafe is lovely and inviting. We have been there twice. We were 2 italians out of 4 and the food tasted like home. The place sounds like it's local's favourite and expect to wait for a vacant table.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChristianeNSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine Coast, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Not so Bella!”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We ate here on our recent trip to Port and must say we were quite disappointed with the quality of the food. Firstly we ordered an anti pasta which arrived with what I can only describe as cuts from a supermarket deli. The ham was one of those luncheon hams you buy at Woolworths and the salami/cheese no better! No dipping oil et al!

Then our mains arrived – both pasta dishes and, again, we were underwhelmed. The Chorizo was burnt which could have been a great dish if properly prepared.

Ambiance is nice with outside seating and it appears popular. Perhaps we Melbourneits are just spoilt when it comes to Italian restaurants?

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wintersson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, NSW, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic Italian Food”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

This was recommended to us by one of the local's and the food is very delicious and quite reasonable. It was so nice we went back twice. Bookings are recommended. On both nights we went there the place was full. Also great service.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Philal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe 66 also viewed

Port Macquarie, New South Wales
Port Macquarie, New South Wales
 
Port Macquarie, New South Wales
Port Macquarie, New South Wales
 

Been to Cafe 66? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing