We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and great coffee - all the time!”

The Corner Restaurant
Ranked #11 of 233 Restaurants in Port Macquarie
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $26
Cuisines: Australian, Contemporary, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The Corner restaurant is where fresh local food, the best Campos coffee, wine & great friends come together. With a reputation as 'the' place for breakfast in Port Macquarie, The Corner features a sunny selection of wholesome fare to brighten your day. Inspired by authentic flavour combinations, the noon till late menu offers a fresh take on traditional shared dining experiences. Drop in any time for a glass of wine, cheese platter, share plate feast, rustic dinner or coffee & house made treats. If you enjoy relaxed dining, restaurant style service but with the happy buzz and charm of a cafe, The Corner is your place.
Reviewed May 13, 2014

The corner does great food and coffee, and it always seems to be open, public holidays, sundays, the lot. Their mailing list is good too, with a range of good specials. The only drawback is having to sit inside if it is rainy or cold, as the atmosphere is a little lacking.

1  Thank pete23456789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah K, Manager at The Corner Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2014

Thank you for your review and your repeat business at the Corner. We are pleased you are a Corner Connect member and appreciate your review. See you soon at the Corner!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (713)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

476 - 480 of 713 reviews

Reviewed May 1, 2014

I love this place. Great to have a business meeting and enjoy a good steak. Atmosphere is laid back (what you would expect from a beach town) but refined (what others in the area lack).

Breakfast is decent as well with local produce sourced from around the corner, like the Ricardoes Tomatoes, Can always count on my business.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank salesrep004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah K, Manager at The Corner Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

Thank you for your 5 star review and your repeat visits with us. We appreciate your kind words and having your work meetings with us. We look forward to your return next visit with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014

The food was very tasty & well cooked- I agree the 1 piece of ravioli was too small & cold when served- for $22 way overpriced even for an entree. Mains were also small, but well cooked and delicious- equivalent to a high standard of our capitals' best restaurants. Feel trying too hard & charging too much without the glamorous surroundings of fine dining ambience.
Quite a lot of kitchen noise also made the restaurant more of a cafe feel, rather than refinement, which is OK for a country town, but the prices should also reflect that.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank CDPort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah K, Manager at The Corner Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2014

Thank you for review. We are thrilled you enjoyed your meals. We apologise you do not find the ravioli hot enough, it is freshly prepared daily, cooked in boiling water once ordered and plated up immediately on the room temperature textures of pea puree and dressed with truffle sauce. Thank you for the compliment the flavours were as good as some city restaurants. We are a cafe by day that ‘dresses up’ at night for restaurant service and always focuses on quality produce freshly prepared daily. Thanks once again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Ravioli entree was almost cold. I understand small portions, but was only one medium (at best) sized ravioli. Tasty, but lacking in temperature and size. Tables needed at least a paper table cloth to warrant prices, no table cloth gave a cafe feel with expensive restaurant prices.
Room for improvement, would like to see it next time we're back in port Macquarie....

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Easty199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah K, Manager at The Corner Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014

Thank you for your sincere review. We have discussed your feedback and suggestion as a team. We are very pleased you found the meals tasty.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Great restaurant and delicious breakfast!! The service was friendly and welcoming!
The yoghurt rhubarb and muesli are to die for

Thank 61pixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah K, Manager at The Corner Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014

Thank you for your great review and we are pleased you enjoyed the muesli for Breakfast. We look forward to seeing you at the Corner again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Corner Restaurant also viewed

Port Macquarie, New South Wales
Port Macquarie, New South Wales
 
Port Macquarie, New South Wales
Port Macquarie, New South Wales
 

Been to The Corner Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing