We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Standout restaurant in Port Macquarie”

The Corner Restaurant
Ranked #19 of 247 Restaurants in Port Macquarie
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $26
Cuisines: Australian, Contemporary, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The Corner restaurant is where fresh local food, the best Campos coffee, wine & great friends come together. With a reputation as 'the' place for breakfast in Port Macquarie, The Corner features a sunny selection of wholesome fare to brighten your day. Inspired by authentic flavour combinations, the noon till late menu offers a fresh take on traditional shared dining experiences. Drop in any time for a glass of wine, cheese platter, share plate feast, rustic dinner or coffee & house made treats. If you enjoy relaxed dining, restaurant style service but with the happy buzz and charm of a cafe, The Corner is your place.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Visited The Corner Restaurant for lunch on December 31. We were greeted by one of the wait staff Richie, who politely asked us of our plans for that evening (New Years Eve). When we explained our dinner reservations had fallen through at another restaurant he kindly spoke with his manager and managed to squeeze us in for a dinner booking – lovely, considering it was New Years and most places were booked out. Lunch was beautiful- I had sourdough bruschetta with avocado and my partner had a steak sandwich. The food and service was excellent. Same experience at dinner – we shared a starter of bread with confit garlic and olive oil, and both my partner and I had the Miso glazed chicken breast, with a side of garden beans. The food was beautiful and fresh, and the general atmosphere of the restaurant was lovely. My only criticism would be that the portion sizes are a bit small for the price. Nevertheless, overall a great place and I will definitely recommend to friends visiting Port Macquarie. We struggled to find nice restaurants in Port Macquarie so this one is definitely a stand out!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 34emmaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah K, Manager at The Corner Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Thank you for your fantastic review and feedback on your experience with the staff, service and food! We are so thrilled we were able to accommodate you for dinner on New Years Eve and appreciate you dining with us on 2 occasions that day. We hope to see you again when you are next travelling to Port Macquarie.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (733)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

519 - 523 of 733 reviews

Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

Friendly service. Indoor and outdoor dining options. Great variety on the menu.
Good coffee.

The best part is the way they served and helped our children. A little bag of activities plus good size kids meals and right size juice cups. Thanks.

Thank ChrisIQueensland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah K, Manager at The Corner Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Thank you for your review and we are so pleased your children enjoyed your time at the Corner just as much as you did. We value your comments and look forward to your return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014 via mobile

Had lunch and dinner here during our stay at Macquarie Waters Apartment. For lunch, we had the fish and chips and the Angus steak and the chicken sandwiches. The fish and chips was good but the latter two were a bit bland, I could not even taste the garlic in the aioli sauce.
Dinner was much better. The beef fillet and the pan fried barramundi were both cooked well, even the sauces were spot on. Pork belly was delicious but could be better if it melts in your mouth.
Our meals would not be complete without the desserts. We tried the lemon tart, panna cotta, and jam doughnut and they were all good.
Service was good, staffs were all friendly.

Thank Thur60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah K, Manager at The Corner Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2014

Thank you for dining at the Corner for lunch and dinner throughout your time in Port Macquarie. We appreciate and value your feedback and are thrilled that the food was excellent, the staff friendly and the service great. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

We had breakfast and dinner here. Breakfast was fine - the same as what you get everywhere with a similar price range. Dinner was ok but nothing to write home about. The service was ok too but again nothing special. Overall an average experience.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah K, Manager at The Corner Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Thank you for your review. We hope you enjoyed your holiday in beautiful Port Macquarie.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

Food was excellent in choice and quality of produce. Tasty and presented perfectly. Great presentation with choice of indoor or outdoor dining.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank arnolddi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah K, Manager at The Corner Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Thank for your fantastic review and great feedback about your meal. We look forward to seeing you again soon at the Corner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Corner Restaurant also viewed

Port Macquarie, New South Wales
Port Macquarie, New South Wales
 
Port Macquarie, New South Wales
Port Macquarie, New South Wales
 

Been to The Corner Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing