We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quality budget hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Koala Tree Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Koala Tree Motel
Ranked #32 of 42 Hotels in Port Macquarie
Western Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Quality budget hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

We were very happy with our room here...set quite a way back from the main part of Port Macquarie suited us as we were visiting on business and needed a good nights' sleep. The bed was comfy and the place was clean. The host was friendly and welcoming.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnieH_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    75
    29
    13
    35
See reviews for
78
99
19
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
O'Fallon, Illinois
Level Contributor
55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

- You can tell the management tried with a big flat screen tv and nice couch, but the bed and bathroom were only ok. Free Internet but it wouldn't connect for us - management tried to reset it 3 times but it still didn't work.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank bibiandnini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
76 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

We turned up with no advance booking, but the manager was a very pleasant chap & got us fixed up no bother. Maybe we were just unlucky, but our room was one that obviously hadn't been renovated. However, the bed was clean & comfortable, so it was ok for the one night. Would we use this motel again ? - probably, but we would check out the room first.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank forfarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesDanton, General Manager at Koala Tree Motel, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thankyou for taking the time to submit a review!

I don't think you were unlucky as we only have one room that purposefully hasn't had it's facilities upgraded recently. We do brand that as a Budget Twin room for guests who would like an option that is less expensive than the standard Double rate of $89 and advertise it as such when a prospective guest is enquiring as to the options of room available. We don't sell it through any of our online partners. It's primary difference to all of our other rooms is that it's bathroom has not been upgraded and that is all. Otherwise you still get all of the other facilities we advertise including free wireless broadband, a big screen 106cm plasma TV, kitchenette facilities et al, it's just cheaper. Likely the one you opted for.

Thanks Again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

We lucked upon this hotel and we loved it. From the outside it's a work in progress with painting and renovations happening. The inside is lovely. We had a 2 room family room. Full kitchen and bathroom. Lots of space. Spotlessly clean and heavenly beds. The hosts were welcoming and very friendly. Would have loved to have stayed longer. We will be back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LynneW492
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

4 of us stayed here for 1 night while traveling from Gold Coast to Sydney. We thought we booked a room in the motel, but we got the entire beach house instead. We were really overwhelmed by it because it had like 5 bedrooms, 2 toilets, a kitchen, living room, dinning room and a 2-door garage. There was even a laundry room. This was luxury for our road trip down the East Coast.

However, the area was quiet and because the house was so big for the 4 of us, it was a little bit eerie at night.

The staff was also nice and friendly. The procedure for checking in and out was really quick too.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HayleyChoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
114 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

It's difficult to pigeonhole this motel in a review. At the negative end the exterior appearance, driveway, etc ably illustrates that this place has been here for a long time. The room itself was more impressive - some clever and thoughtful renovation and the efforts to provide a quality mini bar/snacks was appreciated. The tiled floor could have been cleaner and the little brown ants that came in during the night seemed hungry. Overall our stay was comfortable but at the price we paid we've done better in this town.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AfterDark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

I have written a review a little after we travelled the Koala Tree motel but I felt I needed to after reading the other poor reviews.

I stayed here a 2 nights whilst visiting the area with my boyfriend, we were taking on a road trip of Aus and stayed in lots of motels, hotels and b and b’s along the way.

The Koala Tree Motel was by far our favourite, so much so that we are booking to stay again in December.

Upon checking in we were greeted by friendly staff, we were offered milk and they were really patient and helped with the key pad to the rooms as I struggle with technology!

The owner’s dogs were really cute and friendly which added to the homely feeling which after 3 weeks travelling was most appreciated.

Our room was a deluxe with Jacuzzi. It was clean and felt really luxurious for a motel, the seating area was spacious and the bathroom was large too with a TV that you could watch from the bath!

We were lucky enough to have breakfast on our own in the mornings and could take full advantage of the toaster and facilities. Unfortunately we weren't able to use the pool as the days we were there poured with rain but it looked gorgeous.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank StephWatson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Macquarie hotels
2.9 mi away
Major Innes Motel
Major Innes Motel
#29 of 42 in Port Macquarie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
0.9 mi away
Port O'Call Motel
Port O'Call Motel
#24 of 42 in Port Macquarie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aston Hill Motor Lodge
Aston Hill Motor Lodge
#9 of 42 in Port Macquarie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Macquarie Barracks Motor Inn
Macquarie Barracks Motor Inn
#16 of 42 in Port Macquarie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hastings Valley Motel
Hastings Valley Motel
#19 of 42 in Port Macquarie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
1.2 mi away
East Port Motor Inn
East Port Motor Inn
#3 of 42 in Port Macquarie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koala Tree Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koala Tree Motel

Property: Koala Tree Motel
Address: 179 Gordon St, Port Macquarie, New South Wales 2444, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Port Macquarie
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Port Macquarie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Koala Tree Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer comfortable, stylish rooms with modern touches in a great location only three blocks from the main street and only minutes walk to shops and clubs. We're Pet Friendly, so you can bring your best friend along for the ride! All of our accommodations have been recently renovated and our Deluxe rooms have been recently built. We have a new pool and BBQ area, free parking, either at your door or undercover parking and have easy access parking available for large vehicles and trailers. Our rooms feature mini-bars, kitchenettes, free high-speed wireless broadband internet, PlayStation 3 consoles, open access plasma TVs, DVD and BluRay, game console rentals and air-conditioning. Discounted group and weekly rates are available. Just ask, we're always happy to help with anything! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Koala Tree Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koala Tree Hotel Port Macquarie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing