We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful place . Friendly and also pet friendly . Would definitely recommend anyone stay ..” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Koala Tree Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Koala Tree Motel
Ranked #33 of 42 Hotels in Port Macquarie
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful place . Friendly and also pet friendly . Would definitely recommend anyone stay ..”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

Very friendly people and lovely rooms. Cool and spacious ... centrally located and the most important thing is there were no animal phobic people there .. Australia is so far behind the rest of the world in their treatment of domestic pets . In Europe pets are welcome everywhere and in canada the major hotels all welcome your well behaved pets. A big thank you to the koala tree motel for their lateral thinking and sensibility

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Allwedoiskite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    72
    29
    13
    35
See reviews for
76
97
18
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

From finding the hotel, to the welcome I received, to the room, I couldn't have wanted a better motel. It was clean and quiet and had everything I required for a great nights sleep. Would have loved to have used the pool out my back door but it was raining. I'd say rooms had recently been renovated and it was just a lovely nights stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eggy1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

We had an overnight stay at the Koala Tree motel on the way home to Sydney from the Gold Coast. We were in the self-catering apartments which are right down by Town Beach. This was our third stay overall, the second time at the apartments. We like the Koala Tree as we have always received great service, the apartments can't be beaten for location and value. You're a quick walk to the beach or the restaurants and cafes of the CBD, all the best of what Port has to offer is right at your doorstep.

The one disappointment of our stay this time was the state of the rooms. We have two small children, when we were setting up our travel cot we had to move one of the beds slightly and there was a solid layer of filth under the bed. There was even an old empty plastic bottle under the bed! There must be some cockroach problems as a result because there were baits everywhere which really limited where our toddler could crawl around.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CanuckDownUnder77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

We stayed overnight on our way back from Northern NSW. There is nothing classy about this place , but for a 3.5 star hotel, and the price they charge , it is very good value . Most importantly the quality of the bed was good as were the showers. The worst aspect of the hotel was that it was hard to find and access , despite being on the main road. Its sort of hanging below the main road and we missed it and had to go around a very large block before trying again . The reception was very pleasand and helpful. Would stay again if i was travelling through

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aussiealison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burradoo, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

My husband and I, together with our two dogs stayed at the Koala Tree Motel on 1st January 2013. The motel was very clean with nice towels, tea/coffe making facilitities etc. The Staff were exceptional, they just couldn't do enough for us and they welcomed our two dogs with "treats".
We would like anyone travelling in the Port Macquare area to know what a pleasure it was to stay at the Koala Tree Motel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

My family and I stayed at one of the 'offsite' apartments for one night during late December. Brief contact with service at the motel itself was efficient and easy.

The apartments are made up of the splitting of an older style house in central Port Macquarie. At first glance the location and appearance were a bit disappointing, but after settling in and enjoying the space and the location, we were all very pleased with the stay. Our apartment was very roomy for five (up to seven could stay), it was self-contained (so arrange breakfast prior to stay), and was only a short walk from the Port Macquarie water edge - with lots of restaurants and shops.

Some aspects of the accommodation were a bit 'rough around the edges' but overall, particularly for larger families, would recommend the apartments. Would be particularly good for a longer stay (for example, laundry facilities, self-contained).

Room Tip: Close to shops and restaurants. Ideal for longer stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hudsonhmeyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

We stay at the Koala Tree each year on our way to Qld and always enjoy our stay. The rooms are clean and modern and the owner/staff are friendly and helpful. We take our dogs on holiday with us & they love it too :)

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 22Alicia82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Macquarie hotels
2.9 mi away
Major Innes Motel
Major Innes Motel
#29 of 42 in Port Macquarie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hastings Valley Motel
Hastings Valley Motel
#19 of 42 in Port Macquarie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aston Hill Motor Lodge
Aston Hill Motor Lodge
#9 of 42 in Port Macquarie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Port O'Call Motel
Port O'Call Motel
#23 of 42 in Port Macquarie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Macquarie Barracks
BEST WESTERN Macquarie Barracks
#16 of 42 in Port Macquarie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ocean Breeze Motel
Ocean Breeze Motel
#34 of 42 in Port Macquarie
3.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koala Tree Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koala Tree Motel

Property: Koala Tree Motel
Address: 179 Gordon St, Port Macquarie, New South Wales 2444, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Port Macquarie
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Port Macquarie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Koala Tree Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer comfortable, stylish rooms with modern touches in a great location only three blocks from the main street and only minutes walk to shops and clubs. We're Pet Friendly, so you can bring your best friend along for the ride! All of our accommodations have been recently renovated and our Deluxe rooms have been recently built. We have a new pool and BBQ area, free parking, either at your door or undercover parking and have easy access parking available for large vehicles and trailers. Our rooms feature mini-bars, kitchenettes, free high-speed wireless broadband internet, PlayStation 3 consoles, open access plasma TVs, DVD and BluRay, game console rentals and air-conditioning. Discounted group and weekly rates are available. Just ask, we're always happy to help with anything! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Koala Tree Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koala Tree Hotel Port Macquarie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing