We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A gem of a motel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Koala Tree Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Koala Tree Motel
Ranked #32 of 42 Hotels in Port Macquarie
Carrara, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A gem of a motel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

I stayed here recently with my family ( 2 small boys and wife) in a family room. The room configuration was great and had 3 separate rooms which included large master room with TV, large lounge room with extra comfy couch and 2 single beds and a large kitchen with dining table.
It was clean and the beds were comfy with nice linen. The main TV was great with Austar with all the channels and super fast free WI-fi to top it off. Mini bar prices were cheap. The only down size was small bathroom but suited us fine for quick stop over. Door security was a bit of a worry as there was no chain, etc on the inside. Under cover parking was also a bonus however there was limited spaces. All in all a great motel and will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ajmac09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    75
    29
    13
    35
See reviews for
78
99
19
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Lennox Head, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

The Koala Tree Motel is excellent value for money and I am so happy with the whole experience. I cant cope with dumpy frumpy motels but this motel is better quality and standard than most 4.5 star hotels !

I stayed in room 16 and the bed was VERY comfortable, the sheets were lovely, the bathroom is brand new and everything was immaculately clean.

My room was very quiet and I read the paper and had breakfast by the pool before taking to the road again.

I was very surprised at the price of items at the mini bar. Only $1.50 for bottled water, only $2.50 for chocolate and premium chips and $5 for wine!

Overall, it was an excellent stay. James the motel manager is incredibly attentive and very polite.

I will definitely be returning. Highly recommended ☺


Katie Gold (Lennox Head)

Room Tip: Room 16 is quiet, great bed and the spa has really strong jets. Believe it or not...there is a water...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

My wife and I got a big discount on 2 nights at Koala Tree and it was ideal for us.

Despite being on a busy, unattractive main street it's very quiet as it's in a dip behind a hedge. The room was excellent, quite big, air conditioned, very clean throughout.

Apparantly you can order breakfast though we didn't do this. There's a big BBQ and a swimming pool but we didn't use either.

A short drive to the beach.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

We arrived at the Koala Tree and were initially concerned that the motel was sited right on the Oxley Highway, the Management assured us that a large soil bank to the front did a good jog at shielding out noise. Indeed the two nights we stayed at the Koala tree bore that out and we slept well. The very fast wifi was the best we've used anywhere in the World and we've stayed at dozens of places in recent years.
We did have a slight issue with noisy tenants in the adjoining unit, but the Manager soon sorted that one out to our satisfaction.
All rooms have an outside table & chairs, many overlooking the very inviting pool with barbecue area.
The room was clean, the free paytv had numerous channels available including the Movie Network. All in all a nice experience.

Room Tip: The further from the road the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philip M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

Great value for money! Managers should be commended for sparkling clean presentation, no smells, excellent linen. We loved the front and back doors to each unit with outdoor seating areas. Although we didn't have pets with us it's great to see accommodation that can cater for them.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maitland nsw
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

great value for money.
very tastefully decorated (on a budget).
fast, free, wireless internet.
great staff. very polite and professional.
quite close to downtown.
nice pool and barbeque.
best value in port macquarie without a doubt.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rmdrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012 via mobile

Spotlessly clean. Room was modern but bathroom a little dated but it's important to us to have clean accommodation. Night staff who greeted us was friendly, courteous and efficient which makes a really nice change.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sweetcheeks001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Macquarie hotels
2.9 mi away
Major Innes Motel
Major Innes Motel
#29 of 42 in Port Macquarie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
0.9 mi away
Port O'Call Motel
Port O'Call Motel
#24 of 42 in Port Macquarie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aston Hill Motor Lodge
Aston Hill Motor Lodge
#9 of 42 in Port Macquarie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Macquarie Barracks Motor Inn
Macquarie Barracks Motor Inn
#16 of 42 in Port Macquarie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hastings Valley Motel
Hastings Valley Motel
#19 of 42 in Port Macquarie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
1.2 mi away
East Port Motor Inn
East Port Motor Inn
#3 of 42 in Port Macquarie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koala Tree Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koala Tree Motel

Property: Koala Tree Motel
Address: 179 Gordon St, Port Macquarie, New South Wales 2444, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Port Macquarie
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Port Macquarie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Koala Tree Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer comfortable, stylish rooms with modern touches in a great location only three blocks from the main street and only minutes walk to shops and clubs. We're Pet Friendly, so you can bring your best friend along for the ride! All of our accommodations have been recently renovated and our Deluxe rooms have been recently built. We have a new pool and BBQ area, free parking, either at your door or undercover parking and have easy access parking available for large vehicles and trailers. Our rooms feature mini-bars, kitchenettes, free high-speed wireless broadband internet, PlayStation 3 consoles, open access plasma TVs, DVD and BluRay, game console rentals and air-conditioning. Discounted group and weekly rates are available. Just ask, we're always happy to help with anything! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Koala Tree Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koala Tree Hotel Port Macquarie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing