We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place for a family stay”
Review of Village Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Port Macquarie
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Village Resort
Ranked #24 of 42 Hotels in Port Macquarie
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great place for a family stay”
Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this resort for 4 days. Villas great for 2 couples and 4 kids. Dont have to leave resort, plenty to do, canoeing, tennis mini golf, indoor pool foxtel, wifi. We fond the room a little cool, probably didn't use heater correctly. Staff excellent, particularly Theresa. Would recommend to any family group. Clean, well maintained, quiet, near estuary, but onl a few minutes to Settlement Point or Port Central.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HCP_Group, Public Relations Manager at Village Resort, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to provide this review on Village Resort, we appreciate your feedback.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again to our Resort.

Kind Regards,

Sally
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    30
    5
    0
    7
See reviews for
38
16
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Glenning Valley, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

My husband and I (both in our late 50's) recently had the pleasure of staying here for a week. The bunglows were not only perfect for an older couple to chill out, they are also perfect for families and friends. The staff could not do enough to accomodate us with any questions or needs. The gardens are beautifully kept and everything is clean and has a "feel good" atmosphere. The amenities in the kitchen, laundry, bathrooms etc were clean and more than adequate for everyday needs. The indoor pool and spa was a really wonderful place to relax when the weather is a bit "iffie". The lake itself with the bbq's and facilities was wonderful. There is very little missing from this resort, you would have to be very hard to please not to enjoy it. As for the need for a car - yes you need to drive a short distance for groceries and the beach, but there are a couple of wonderful restaurants within walking distance and it you don't want to be tourist and just want some much needed R&R this is the place to be. Go shopping once to get all of your needs and you will not have to leave the resort at all. I will be recommending this place to all my family and friends.

Room Tip: We were at the front in No 9 near the road but compared to where I live the noise was negligible. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Rhonda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HCP_Group, Public Relations Manager at Village Resort, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
We thank you for taking the time to provide this review on your experience in staying with us at Village Resort.

We are so pleased to hear you had a fantastic time and achieved some much needed rest and relaxation while staying with us. It is also wonderful to hear you would recommend us to your family and friends.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Village Resort in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Sally
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambewarra, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

We found this accommodation just perfect for us to chill out. As an older couple we prefer to relax and take our time so having a bungalow with a kitchen, dining area as well as a lounge is great. It's a close enough drive into Port Mac in the car for dining out or going to the beach or just using the resort as a base to visit the area.
The games room is a great way to spend an evening and the indoor pool is good for children.
We have been two years in a row and will be there again this year. I think that's a good recommendation.

Room Tip: All the bungalows seem quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Wendy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AirOnBroadbeach, Public Relations Manager at Village Resort, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you for providing this recent review on your stay with us at Village Resort.

It is very pleasing to hear when guests enjoy their stay and we are thrilled to hear that you are a returning guest to our Resort.

We look forwarding to welcoming you back to Village Resort when you return soon to Port Macquarie.

Kind Regards,

Sally Walsh-McEwen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Invercargill, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Be aware that you need a car when staying at Village resort - it is approximately 8 km from town or $20 taxi ride. Buses do come but are not frequent and the last bus leaving town for village resort is about 4.30pm.

The resort itself would be great if you have a young family and got it on special, but I believe mid-teens on will loose interest quickly, and if I returned I would definitely pick a hotel in town.

The villa's are dated, generally clean but our shower had both mould and soap scum all over it, and our phone didn't work.

Staff were generally very helpful, but the office closed at 5-5.30pm daily meaning if you wanted sports equipment/keys/assistance after this time you were out of luck, a shame really as it is daylight much longer than that.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dimps_nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HCP_Group, Public Relations Manager at Village Resort, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for your recent review on Village Resort, we certainly appreciate you taking the time to rate your stay with us.

Your feedback on the cleanliness of your accommodation and phone has been noted and passed to Management to investigate. We encourage all guests at the time of their stay to contact our friendly staff with any issues or concerns they may have so these can be addressed straight away.

We appreciate your kind comments on our staff and will be sure to pass these onto the team who always strive to provide the best possible service to our guests.

We hope to see you again at Village Resort.

Kind Regards,

Sally Walsh-McEwen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

I stayed here with 3 of my kids (4,4,7) in August 2012. We were lucky with the weather as it as 23 and sunny every day. But either way the indoor pool is a lifesaver and one of the main reasons I booked this place - the kids loved it. In the off-season it's pretty quiet - not many others around. The facilities are great (pool, spa, table tennis, play room, kayaking, tennis, volleyball, mini-golf. The cottages are out-dated but have all the conveniences and everything in working order. The upstairs with 4 beds a TV and table is ideal for kids. Downstairs plenty of space for everyone and a decent kitchen and laundry. The staff were very friendly and helpful. There is also free WiFi (although it gets a but patchy sometimes). The location is fine and a quick drive to shops and city centre. We didn't notice noise from planes into/out of the airport. We will be back.

Room Tip: Houses away from the Hastings River Drive will have less traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AlecAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HCP_Group, Public Relations Manager at Village Resort, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Dear AlecAus,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us at Village Resort.

It is fantastic to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the amenities of the Resort and also wonderful to hear your children enjoyed our indoor pool.

We will be sure to pass on your comments regarding our staff and it is fantastic that they were helpful to you during your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Village Resort in the very near future.

Kind Regards,

Sally Walsh-McEwen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Star707, Sydney
Level Contributor
456 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 837 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2012

This bungalow style accommodation is spacious and well designed for travelling with a family. If you are travelling with a group of friends this is not the ideal configuration of rooms. We had a "Master" bedroom, which had the best appointments. There was a second double bedroom, which would obviously be allocated to the next in the pecking order in the family. Upstairs there were single beds in an observatory arrangement, lounge room in the day, sleeping at might. This was obviously where the children would sleep, being the least private and least comfortable area. This arrangement gives the option of some separation between age groups, privacy that kids like, but with safety, and the distance reduces noise levels, which has to be a plus on holidays. So if you are travelling with friends who are equals, the heirarchy inherent in this accommodation could generate a little conflict. Having said that, the kitchen was well appointed, but may need some upgrading some time soon. The dining area is spacious and comfortable. as is the living area. There is an outside deck upon which you can enjoy a morning coffee or a quiet moment. You can park your car next to your bungalow which is handy if you are packing up picnics or water sports equipment and so forth. The property itself is built around a very large functioning lagoon, with water sports on offer on site. There is also an indoor pool, a bar with a view. We thought the tariffs were affordable for a group. There are wheel chair accessible bungalows for wheelies. The property is located a bit out of town, so you cant just go for a walk to the CBD or get a newspaper from the corner shop, or take an amble down the breakwall on a whim. You have to plan your day, and it goes without saying that this accommodation is car dependent.

Room Tip: Bunglows near the front and the entrance sre going to be the noisiest because, being car dependent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Star707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
126 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2012

Let me say we all loved it and will go back. Having said that, first the negatives. The floor was filthy and our feet were black within 5 minutes. We washed it and then all was well. The stove and oven were rusted and looked in bad shape. But they worked fine.

The accommodation was huge, well furnished, very nicely decorated. A sort of Canadian cottage + Fiji Bure style. The Internet connection (wireless) worked well and so did all the appliances. We did have a failure in the dryer but it was fixed for us the same day. Likewise when a bulb went, it was immediately seen to. The beds were very comfortable. We all loved the cottage we had.

The pool and hot tub well maintained, though the hot tub could use more frequent filter cleanings. The pond was lots of fun with the fish feedings and canoes and it was very scenic to sit around and picnic or bar-b-que. The grounds in general were immaculate and made you feel like you were in a Fiji resort. The staff were around every day cleaning and sprucing up and you could see they cared about appearances and customer appreciation.

The staff were friendly and helpful. There was lots of info on area attractions in the office.

There were two couple sharing and everyone remarked often how nice it was. What more can you say?

Room Tip: Get one on the lagoon, if available. but they are all nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DownUnderCanadian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Macquarie hotels
2.5 mi away
Rydges Port Macquarie
Rydges Port Macquarie
#12 of 42 in Port Macquarie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 885 reviews
1.7 mi away
Vacation Village
Vacation Village
#23 of 42 in Port Macquarie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
2.9 mi away
Ki-ea Apartments
Ki-ea Apartments
#3 of 42 in Port Macquarie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Macquarie Waters Hotel & Apartments
1.8 mi away
Sails Resort Port Macquarie - by Rydges
2.4 mi away
Mantra Quayside Apartments Port Macquarie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Resort

Property: Village Resort
Address: 288 Hastings River Dr, Port Macquarie, New South Wales 2444, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Port Macquarie
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 42 Hotels in Port Macquarie
Hotel Class:3 star — Village Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 32

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing