We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for Families”
Review of Village Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Port Macquarie
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Village Resort
Ranked #23 of 42 Hotels in Port Macquarie
Certificate of Excellence
Star707, Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
500 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 959 helpful votes
“Good for Families”
Reviewed July 14, 2012

This bungalow style accommodation is spacious and well designed for travelling with a family. If you are travelling with a group of friends this is not the ideal configuration of rooms. We had a "Master" bedroom, which had the best appointments. There was a second double bedroom, which would obviously be allocated to the next in the pecking order in the family. Upstairs there were single beds in an observatory arrangement, lounge room in the day, sleeping at might. This was obviously where the children would sleep, being the least private and least comfortable area. This arrangement gives the option of some separation between age groups, privacy that kids like, but with safety, and the distance reduces noise levels, which has to be a plus on holidays. So if you are travelling with friends who are equals, the heirarchy inherent in this accommodation could generate a little conflict. Having said that, the kitchen was well appointed, but may need some upgrading some time soon. The dining area is spacious and comfortable. as is the living area. There is an outside deck upon which you can enjoy a morning coffee or a quiet moment. You can park your car next to your bungalow which is handy if you are packing up picnics or water sports equipment and so forth. The property itself is built around a very large functioning lagoon, with water sports on offer on site. There is also an indoor pool, a bar with a view. We thought the tariffs were affordable for a group. There are wheel chair accessible bungalows for wheelies. The property is located a bit out of town, so you cant just go for a walk to the CBD or get a newspaper from the corner shop, or take an amble down the breakwall on a whim. You have to plan your day, and it goes without saying that this accommodation is car dependent.

Room Tip: Bunglows near the front and the entrance sre going to be the noisiest because, being car dependent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Star707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    30
    5
    0
    6
See reviews for
37
17
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Oakville, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2012

Let me say we all loved it and will go back. Having said that, first the negatives. The floor was filthy and our feet were black within 5 minutes. We washed it and then all was well. The stove and oven were rusted and looked in bad shape. But they worked fine.

The accommodation was huge, well furnished, very nicely decorated. A sort of Canadian cottage + Fiji Bure style. The Internet connection (wireless) worked well and so did all the appliances. We did have a failure in the dryer but it was fixed for us the same day. Likewise when a bulb went, it was immediately seen to. The beds were very comfortable. We all loved the cottage we had.

The pool and hot tub well maintained, though the hot tub could use more frequent filter cleanings. The pond was lots of fun with the fish feedings and canoes and it was very scenic to sit around and picnic or bar-b-que. The grounds in general were immaculate and made you feel like you were in a Fiji resort. The staff were around every day cleaning and sprucing up and you could see they cared about appearances and customer appreciation.

The staff were friendly and helpful. There was lots of info on area attractions in the office.

There were two couple sharing and everyone remarked often how nice it was. What more can you say?

Room Tip: Get one on the lagoon, if available. but they are all nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DownUnderCanadian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane Region, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2012

This is a Time Share resort, consisting of two storey bungalows around a manmade lagoon. There is a central clubhouse and an indoor heated pool, and a small gym. The bungalows have two bathrooms and sleep up to 8 in two double bedrooms and an upstairs room with 4 single beds around the walls. Furnishings are currently being updated. Kitchens are fully equiped, and each bungalow has its own laundry with washing machine and drier. Car parking is directly outside. It is a safe environment for children, and there is always plenty to do. Our family has used it for over 20 years and we always enjoy our holdays here.

Room Tip: Ask for a lagoon side bungalow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TripleJFLC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maitland, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2011

I called in to look around this resort when I first ventured into timeshare, back in the early 90's.
I loved it then, I still love it now!

It took a while for me to exchange into it (first visit a few years ago), but it was so worth the wait.

The whole resort is well maintained, though some aspects (such as the spa, villa bathrooms and kitchens) could do with a bit of updating now.

Having said that, I would highly recommend staying there. We did, this year and hopefully will again.

The lagoon area has recently been upgraded, the "island" area is now set up with a nice barbeque and table setting.
Since the first stay, one of the buildings has had new gym equipment put in.

There is a really nice "Polynesian" feel to the resort. Nice to even just walk around (but beware the mosquitoes around the golfing area!)

I did notice a little bit of aircraft noise on this stay, I hope the planned expansion to the nearby airport doesn't have any bad effect on the resort as that would be such a shame.

The upstairs section of the villas is ideal for kids and has a hideaway feel. At the top of the stairs is a small area with a picnic table, good for kids to have a meal and to play at. Through a sliding door is the bedroom area.
The upstairs can get hot during summer so I would advise turning the fan on early to keep it cooler.

My advise is to get booked in, I'm sure you won't be disappointed. It is a popular resort, and rightly so, so don't be surprised if you have to have a few goes at trying to get a booking though! ENJOY!!!

Room Tip: If you can..........get a villa overlooking the lagoon...............stunning views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank simplyjewelry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2011

Had a great week at the Village resort.. while the villa was a little dated it was very clean and functional, the weather was perfect and Port Macquarie was a beautiful place to visit. The resort would suit families perfectly as the villas can sleep up to 6.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Toddys91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marulan, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2011

We went with 3 adults and 4 kids aged 4 and under to visit family in the area. Our first impressions were great and never changed, it looked like a little tropical paradise. It was a great size, with 3 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, full kitchen, living area, laundry and outdoor deck with setting. It was close driving to town, beautiful grounds, bbqs, great pool and other activities. It was perfect, the only thing we could possibly fault it on is having no airconditioning. We would all definately want to go back.

Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank giddyup123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2009

We stayed here on a time share exchange so I can't comment on value. We had a villa with 3 BR, large kitchen and eating area. One of the BR were upstairs so the kids could get away. All of the villas seem to be designed the same. Some are located around a lagoon used for swimming, canoeing, or feeding fish. Our villa was very clean and well stocked. There is beautiful landscaping everywhere. You can drive to and park directly outside of your villa.
The pool/hot tub/sauna facility is outstanding. The grass tennis court was in good shape but the basketball, bowling and putt putt were a little rough (but we were there off season). The biggest issue there is the lagoon is leaking and eroding the bank and inaccessible (off limits) to walking. The managers live on site and take great pride in the facility. They are very conscientious.
It is a very short 4 minute drive into town. Only a couple of restaurants near by and all of the beaches are to the East.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jamesff00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Macquarie hotels
1.7 mi away
Vacation Village
Vacation Village
#20 of 42 in Port Macquarie
34 reviews
2.9 mi away
Ki-ea Apartments
Ki-ea Apartments
#2 of 42 in Port Macquarie
329 reviews
3.6 mi away
Ramada Resort Flynns Beach
Ramada Resort Flynns Beach
#16 of 42 in Port Macquarie
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Rydges Port Macquarie
Rydges Port Macquarie
#12 of 42 in Port Macquarie
898 reviews
2.5 mi away
Mercure Centro Port Macquarie
Mercure Centro Port Macquarie
#10 of 42 in Port Macquarie
839 reviews
2.6 mi away
Port Pacific Resort
Port Pacific Resort
#7 of 35 in Port Macquarie
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Resort

Property: Village Resort
Address: 288 Hastings River Dr, Port Macquarie, New South Wales 2444, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Port Macquarie
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 42 Hotels in Port Macquarie
Hotel Class:3 star — Village Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 32

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing