We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Port Macquarie

“The worst place i have ever eaten at, awful and gave me and my mother food poisoning.”

Eastern Tiger Restaurant
Restaurant details
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Port Macquarie is usually pretty good with places to eat. and as me and my mother travel a lot we eat out a bit and this place is the worst we both have been to. the food looked unappealing, when we ate the range of food. most of it was actually not even hot or fresh. it was stale and gross. we had duck that wasn’t cooked properly. dry chicken, pork that was just bone.

the chinese food they served was full of MSG and was hard and poorly cooked. they had a sushi train which was cool for effect and that was about it. it looked gross and like it had been sitting there for HOURS. AS WELL AS my mother finding multiple hairs in her food.

when we returned to our accomodation, we both threw up and ended up with food poising. our one common place. this restaurant. would never recommend.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank kiyax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (78)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 78 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2020

Booked in August for Christmas lunch - took second sitting. An amazing array of fresh seafood so quickly replenished plus all the the Eastern Tiger is so famous for. Always a pleasure to dine there.

Date of visit: December 2019
Thank Norman B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2019 via mobile

There are plenty of great eateries in port macquarie, unfortunately this isn't one of them. We know people who rave about this place but we've been here 3 times & the food is always luke warm at best, looks & tastes like it's been on display for hours plus my wifes mussels hadn't been cleaned making them inedible, the prawns looked like the tiny things you buy frozen,the meats look dry & unappetising. There is a sushi train, wasn't game to try that lot, none of it looked fresh.
All in all terrible value, truly awful food, there are far better places to eat in port macquarie, we won't ever return.

Date of visit: December 2019
Thank 2446tony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2019

The buffett lunch here is brilliant, the price is unbelievably cheap - $17. Other places need to take notice of this. The food was so nice and so much with and All You Can Eat Buffett. The people working there are so polite and nice. Would definitely go back again and again

Date of visit: November 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank StunBec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2019

At the entry the guests are asked for a passport or driver license. This never appeared in my life to show the driver license for dining out...
Then you queue for about 15 minutes to get seated - they have two sets at 6.00 and 7.30 pm. The buffet is huge but forget the quality of food: lukewarm or cold, Sushi was just horrible, the meat hard. People are getting crazy to see all the food and put all they can eat on their plates in order to return half of it again. What a food waste. The location is not cozy, but noisy and the food is just terrible. Disgusting. Never ever again. This restaurant was recommended by the host of our hotel.

Date of visit: October 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Anna Marie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eastern Tiger Restaurant also viewed

Port Macquarie, New South Wales
Port Macquarie, New South Wales
 
Port Macquarie, New South Wales
Port Macquarie, New South Wales
 
Port Macquarie, New South Wales
Port Macquarie, New South Wales
 

Been to Eastern Tiger Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing