We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you want a hotel to rival the best that Australia has to offer then this place isn’t for you”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
ibis Styles Port Macquarie
Ranked #12 of 42 Hotels in Port Macquarie
Reviewed December 20, 2009

OVERVIEW:

Lets face it, given the rest of our itinerary we were always going to be disappointed by this decidedly average three (claiming to be four) star hotel.

I am being unfair? Probably. We needed somewhere to stay on our journey from Nelsons Bay to The Promised Land near Bellingen, and Port Macquarie was perfectly positioned. Having failed to be inspired by any of the hotels listed on this and other websites, we opted for a night in the Quality Inn HW Boutique Hotel in Port Macquarie.

Do not be fooled by the name. The Quality Inn is not a boutique hotel in the generally understood sense of the word (individual, luxurious, intimate, quirky). However, it is clean, cheap (AUD 155 per room night including breakfast) and well positioned, and as a result it will suit many.


LOCATION:

The hotel stands across the road from the white sands of Town Beach and is just a short stroll from nearby bars and restaurants.


THE ROOMS:

We were allocated a room with a queen and single bed rather than a king size bed which would have been better suited to our needs, and would have given us a little more floor space.

The room was equipped with tea and coffee making facilities (a small carton of milk was supplied on check-in) and a mini-bar.

Our room was on the first floor, but there didn’t seem to be either a porter or an elevator, so we had to carry six weeks’ worth of luggage up and down the stairs!

A small balcony overlooked ocean. In contrast to the room, the balcony was rather dusty and dirty.


FOOD & DRINK:

Breakfast was served in the light and airy breakfast room located on the second floor of the hotel. Our waitress was polite and friendly.

There was no restaurant or bar, but lunch or dinner was available from the room service menu. We chose to eat out!


POOL:

The hotel has a small and rather uninspiring outdoor pool.


OTHER FACILITIES:

There was a laundry room on the premises, although we did not use it.


CONCLUSION:

AUD 155 per room night including breakfast the Quality Inn HW Boutique provides reasonable low cost accomodation but it doesn’t live up to hype and the flattering pictures on its website (www.hwmotel.com.au).

If you are looking for simple, low cost accommodation, the Quality Inn HW Boutique is probably just the thing. If you want a hotel to rival the Park Hyatt, Sydney; Byron at Byron, Byron Bay; Palazzo Versace, Gold Coast; Qualia, Hamilton Island; orLongitude 131, Ayers Rock then this place isn’t right for you!


OUR COMPLETE ITINERARY:

Sydney: Park Hyatt (H)
Blue Mountains: Lilianfels (H)
Blue Mountains: Trek with Life's an Adventure (O)
Nelsons Bay : Amarana Beach Resort (A)
Port Macquarie: Quality Inn HW Boutique (H)
Coffs Harbour: Promised Land Cottages (A)
Byron: Byron at Byron (H)
Gold Coast: Palazzo Versace (H)
Airlie Beach: The Peninsula (A)
Whitsunday Islands: Coral Trekker (O)
Hamilton Island: Qualia (H)
Darwin: Sky City (H)
Litchfield National Park: Adventure Tours (O)
Kakadu National Park: Adventure Tours (O)
Ayers Rock (Uluru) & The Olgars (Kata Tjuta) National Park: Longitude 131° (H)
Perth: The Richardson (H)

(H) = Hotel (A) = Apartment (O) = Other

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adventura1405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristinaMitchell, Manager at ibis Styles Port Macquarie, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2010

Thank you for your comments. Judging by the rest of your itinery you have very high expectations and understandably we do not pretend to compete with any of the five star properties that you have stayed at. We are a very small property that was built over 45 years ago and stands on the site of the original Convict Gaol in Port Macquarie, a major feature of our property is the two original convict wells that we have been built around. Unfortunately we do not have an elevator as the property is quite old but we are happy to allocate ground floor rooms when requested or there are staff on hand to assist you if required. I trust that you enjoyed the rest of you Holidays - Christina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (591)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

555 - 561 of 591 reviews

Reviewed November 7, 2009

We pulled into The Quality Inn at dusk without reservations and ended up with a great room -- two doubles for three people. The sunset off the coast was beautiful from the balcony but I recommend taking a walk down to the beach -- literally across the street. Town is a little farther than walking distance, but the view is well worth it. The price was reasonable, the staff was incredibly friendly, the room was bright and clean... Perfect.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeoBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristinaMitchell, Manager at ibis Styles Port Macquarie, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2010

Thank you for your very positive response. I'm glad you enjoyed our Oceanview Family room, the views are stunning. Our staff strive to make every guests stay enjoyable and I will pass you comments on. Look forward to seeing you again in Port Macquarie, I hope you enjoyed rest of you holidays. Christina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2009

This tidy little hotel sits on a cliff overlooking the Pacific Ocean offering spectacular sunrise views & lazy beach setting above Town Beach. Stepping out into the private balcony after a few hours in the Jacuzzi & feeling an ocean breeze on clean skin makes my recollections of this place feel almost 3-dimensional.

Admit tingly, this is more of your low-key motel-type accommodation with no room service or staff after 9pm but the room standard, furnishings, generous bathroom size & priceless location make this a better option than many 4 star hotels in Sydney.

The major features of our Deluxe room had floor-to-ceiling tinted glass windows, generous floor size to perform cartwheels, LCD TV with Foxtel, fully stocked mini-fridge, private balcony with solid pine furniture, huge Jaccuzi & ocean views. My Deluxe View room is not advertised on the website because it is the only room with both a private balcony & Jacuzzi spa but can be requested at the same price of $165 if you can sweet talk the reception girl.

The hotel is surrounded by 2 parks which do much to filter out stale suburban air & offers a respite from having to stare at other concrete motels. Access to numerous walking paths thru the parks & pristine beach front are easy to find & the stroll to the Port Macquarie CDB isn’t too taxing. The late check-out at 12 midday & laidback coastal vibe made the long drive back to Sydney a pleasant daydream.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank The_Pale_Ridah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristinaMitchell, Manager at ibis Styles Port Macquarie, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2010

Thank you for your terrific review. You stayed in our Superior Ocean Spa which has magnificent views of Town Beach and the coastline. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to welcoming you back soon. Christina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2009

this relaxed comfortable motel situated in an amazing spot looking out to the ocean. great for accessing the town also. great if you want to just do your own thing. recomend you request an ocean view when booking. can tend to be a little noisy on bottom floor as is close to road.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coolerpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2009

2nd time stayed here. On both occasions got a room with an ocean view with a small outside area - I hesitate to say balcony!. I can imagine having this view would make a significant difference to your perception of HW.

Room is big but a little dated. For business use it may require a bit of reorganising to make it workable.

As others have mentioned the street at the front can get a bit noisy with kids and their cars but not too noticeable. And the outside area does become the "smoking room" which can be a bit off putting but, again, if you have the ocean side the pleasant sea breezes will soon clear the smell. Pool is right on street which is a little unusual.

On a sunny day, sitting outside have a coldie looking out over the water is a most pleasant way to finish the day.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Essexboy999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2009

Our room was lovely as the motel is across the street from the shoreline/beach. Ask for a room where your view does not include a street lamp. Stewart Street is rather loud with hot rods on Saturday nights. Also ask for a room that cannot be connected. The people in the room next to us had their TV on most of the night and into the early morning. We put pillows and towels under the door to muffle the sound and slept with ear plugs but we could still hear the TV. The outdoor decks are nice yet if someone is smoking (no smoking in rooms only) you can smell the smoke. It was a nice touch to have a toaster in the room. The rooms have everything you need for a short stay. EZ walking distance to restaurants. Nice front desk personnel.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KJTravelsWa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2008

WOnderful view, comfortable rooms with all mod cons. Enjoyed it . Staff pleasant but not really that helpful but the views and room more than made up for it.
Would stay there again

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank travelfiend10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Macquarie hotels
0.5 mi away
Rydges Port Macquarie
Rydges Port Macquarie
#13 of 42 in Port Macquarie
946 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mercure Centro Port Macquarie
Mercure Centro Port Macquarie
#8 of 42 in Port Macquarie
914 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mantra The Observatory
Mantra The Observatory
#5 of 42 in Port Macquarie
1,844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Sails Resort Port Macquarie - by Rydges
Sails Resort Port Macquarie - by...
#11 of 42 in Port Macquarie
598 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sandcastle Apartments Port Macquarie
0.3 mi away
Macquarie Waters Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ibis Styles Port Macquarie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ibis Styles Port Macquarie

Address: 1 Stewart St, Port Macquarie, New South Wales 2444, Australia (Formerly HW Boutique Hotel)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Port Macquarie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 42 Hotels in Port Macquarie
Price Range: $112 - $229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — ibis Styles Port Macquarie 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique beach-side hotel, offering Port Macquaries most spectacular views! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your ibis Styles Port Macquarie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing