We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I loved this place....”
Review of HW Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
HW Boutique Hotel
Ranked #13 of 42 Hotels in Port Macquarie
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
100 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“I loved this place....”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We stayed in a spa deluxe or something on the way to meet friends in Qld and it was that good we stayed at the same hotel on the way back as well. Room 311 is seriously one of the best rooms I have stayed in ever and I travel and stay in hotels over 50 nights a year every year and have done so for the last 15 years. Its not the biggest or most modern room I have ever stayed in but having that view in a very comfortable room, with a nice balcony, with a nice deep spa and the sea breeze blowing in the window cannot be beaten. Second time we stayed in a standard spa room (as the other room was booked out) and even with the lack of balcony the room was still comfortable and sufficient for what we paid at this time of year. Breakfast was fairly standard continental fare but good quality with fruit, toast, coffee, tea, cereal and great local yoghurt and the hot menu looked fantastic but we are not big breakfast eaters so didnt try it. Parking was the only thing that was a pain but at this time of year one would expect that.

Room Tip: If you are looking for a great stay and dont mind paying extra then Room 311 is definitely the one t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scarcev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    214
    91
    23
    20
See reviews for
84
289
23
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 7, 2014

The hotel room itself was good. We stayed one night whilst traveling from Brisbane to Sydney and have stayed there on previous trips. My issue this trip is that I left my dress in wardrobe and rang to report only to be told that they had no report from housekeeping about it but would check and let me know. I am still waiting for them to get back to me. Would at least like an explanation on how the dress could have disappeared out of the wardrobe.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 689Michelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DamienJKelly, Public Relations Manager at HW Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Michelle,

Thank you very much for your feedback on our rooms, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay at our hotel.

Please allow me to sincerely apologise for our team not responding to your lost property enquiry in a timely manner, we have since responded and advised the outcome of your enquiry.

We do hope that when next in Port Macquarie you will return and afford us the opportunity to show this lapse in timely service is certainly not a regular occurrence.

Kind Regards - Damien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Stayed one night at this hotel on our way to the upper NSW North Coast. Could have easily stayed longer. Perfectly positioned with a very good feel. The rooms were super clean and all common areas had a very nice ambiance. I was pleasantly surprised and would stay again. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank galaga88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

This is THE WORST place I have stayed on a two week trip from Sydney to Byron!

It is marketed as an up market hotel it is in fact a motel at best and actually, dirtier and more sub standard than other motels I have stayed in for a fraction of the price! We paid $275 which is an absolute rip off at best. It seems from reading other reviews that there are some very poor rooms here and a few nicer ones. Why then would Best Western charge the same price for both?

I would rate the room we stayed in at $90 per night not $275, that shows you just how bad this place can be. My advice? Stay in the Observatory, very close by and a third of the price, nicer rooms, excellent customer service!

The guy who checked us in looked like he had been sleeping under the desk and had a dirty white shirt, untucked, scruffy, dirty, just like this 'motel' !

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Claire S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DamienJKelly, Public Relations Manager at HW Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Claire,

Thank you for your review, we certainly appreciate our guests taking the time to provide us with feedback that we are able to use to improve our facilities and services.

We appreciate over the period you have stayed, all accommodation providers in Port Macquarie were heavily booked, if not sold out, with our prices being market competitive for our AAA 4 Star standard.

Please do not hesitate to let us know if we can be of any further assistance.

Kind Regards – Damien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
201 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

I have stayed here for work and for a weekend away. The rooms are clean and the bathrooms are fine. The hotel can be quite noisy if you stay at the back with the flats and garages behind the hotel being very busy for many hours of the day and night. The breakfasts are very good and room service at night was of good quality. If you want to eat out at night there are many options walking distance away. The view is amazing.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jjeurotrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Best Western in Port Macquarie claims to be a 4 star establishment but is in fact a rather seedy, low class motel with 4 star prices. We paid 300 Australian dollars for a night in a ground floor, dirty room overlooking the car park. There is no restaurant so clients are provided with cheap take-away-menus recommended by this unpleasant, badly run franchise with presumably a kick-back from the take-away joints listed. Our fly wire security door was hanging off it's hinges and the room was dingy, brown, dirty and had chipped tiles in the bathroom. The floor behind the loo looked as though it hadn't been cleaned for years. Such appallingly low standards! We intend to file a report to the Australian Consumer Council and ask them to review their undeserved 4 star status. Beware of the Best Western Chain which operates 4000 hotels worldwide, each hotel is only as good as the owners who operate it and the one in Port Macquarie reflects very badly on the entire chain. We will never use a Best Western franchise anywhere in the world ever again, and I advise fellow travellers to give them a miss too.

Room Tip: Avoid at all costs and find a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank vivifrance88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linear5, Owner at HW Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
We refer to your review. The Best Western PLUS is a a totally renovated 4 star establishment with marble ensuite bathrooms, and is of an impeccable standard. However, there are 2 budget rooms on the ground floor, which have unrenovated bathrooms, scheduled for renovation in the new year. You stayed in one of those rooms. You will appreciate that we are 100% occupied at the moment and that you paid a rate which was competitive relative to other hotels in the town. We can only assume that our very professional front desk would have advised you of the quality of the guest room in question, and would have allowed you to inspect the room before taking up the accommodation. If that is not the case, we certainly owe you an apology. In regard to your specific complaints:

We have a breakfast room with 180 degree views, which is open 7 days a week. We do NOT receive any “kickbacks” from local restaurants and takeaway establishments. We simply recommend what is good in town. We have an excellent Room Service Dinner Menu, but it is suspended over the holiday season because our guests generally prefer to eat out or with family in town over the holiday period. The flyscreen of which you have complained is in fact in perfect working order. There is a tiny film of dust on the bottom groove of the door, as the doors are exposed to the sea breeze and can get a little sandy and dusty. We shall point this out to Housekeeping and remedy the issue.

The back of the toilet is perfectly clean. The floor tiles stop just short of the base of the toilet, which is surrounded by small amount of finished concrete and appears a bit worn. That is because the ensuite, although perfectly serviceable and spotlessly clean, is an older-style bathroom.

We apologise that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion. However, we invite you to call any of Joel, Fletch, Annette or Page to discuss your complaint and to allow us to make amends on another occasion. Should you book one of our magnificent fully renovated rooms, we assure you that you will not be disappointed. We wish you a Happy New Year and again tender our apologies.
Kind regards - Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2013

We have stayed here on three occasions, twice this year and the last time we stayed 3 nights. We have only ever stayed in the Ocean View room and we love that we can even see the ocean while showering!. The balconies are small but adequate for enjoying the view and the fresh air. There is a kitchen sink in the room that makes it perfect for making tea and coffee rather than the usual, having to use the sink in the bathroom! We would always choose to stay here when travelling to or from Queensland. Not having a restaurant doesn't bother us as it is just a short drive to the center of town. There is also a lounge that takes in the beach view and it is a lovely spot to sit and read and enjoy a glass of wine - love it! The staff have always been wonderful.

Room Tip: Choose the Ocean View you won't be sorry!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovefnq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Macquarie hotels
0.5 mi away
Rydges Port Macquarie
Rydges Port Macquarie
#12 of 42 in Port Macquarie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 885 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ki-ea Apartments
Ki-ea Apartments
#3 of 42 in Port Macquarie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mercure Centro Port Macquarie
Mercure Centro Port Macquarie
#10 of 42 in Port Macquarie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mantra The Observatory
Mantra The Observatory
#5 of 42 in Port Macquarie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,321 reviews
0.3 mi away
Macquarie Waters Hotel & Apartments
0.6 mi away
Mid Pacific Motel
Mid Pacific Motel
#7 of 42 in Port Macquarie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HW Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HW Boutique Hotel

Property: HW Boutique Hotel
Address: 1 Stewart St, Port Macquarie, New South Wales 2444, Australia (Formerly Best Western PLUS HW Boutique Hotel)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Port Macquarie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 42 Hotels in Port Macquarie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — HW Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique beach-side hotel, offering Port Macquaries most spectacular views! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your HW Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing