We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“all good at Mantra” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mantra Quayside Apartments Port Macquarie

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mantra Quayside Apartments Port Macquarie
Ranked #8 of 42 Hotels in Port Macquarie
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
151 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“all good at Mantra”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

After a couple of hiccups (no reception open on 25 Dec, the day we arrived, so we had to call a call centre. They couldn't find out original reservation, however a new one was made), we started to enjoy the apartment. They are centrally located and had everything we needed. Laundry facilities were available just along the corridor.

There's a nice pool on the roof, although it was pouring of rain, so we didn't use it.

I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuisaLloyd, Manager at Mantra Quayside Apartments Port Macquarie, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Our apologies for the mixup with the booking on Christmas day, we are happy that you did enjoy your stay once that was sorted out. We do hope to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    184
    36
    5
    7
See reviews for
81
237
20
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, England
Level Contributor
93 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

We stayed here for a couple of nights between Christmas and New Year in a modern Studio Apartment overlooking the town and river/ocean and were impressed: friendly welcome, comfortable bed, well equipped with key modern kitchen appliances (mini-oven, fridge, diswasher), a large TV with numerous channels in a sizeable room and relatively quiet aircon. It also has a sizeable terrace balcony (well, room for two chairs and a table) and light is mostly blocked out by decent blinds.
The 'hotel' benefits from a great rooftop pool (open til 10pm) and a mini-gym, and sits above a sizeable (free) underground parking area. The hotel complex also includes an Indian restaurant (though we did not indulge) but is just a few minutes walk to the other restaurants, bars, coffee shops and shops in town. It's a 10-15 minute stroll to Town Beach via the colourful Break Wall walk.
Obviously this town centre location does bring minor disadvantages: some traffic noise and the late night sound of holiday revellers but perhaps the complex's weakest point is its view over a long-time abandoned supermarket and adjacent car park: perhaps one day there will be something more attractive there?
Otherwise, if we happened to be in Port Macquarie again, we would definitely consider staying at the Mantra once more.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maddison65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuisaLloyd, Manager at Mantra Quayside Apartments Port Macquarie, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Thank you for a such a detailed review on your recent stay with us. We are happy you enjoyed our facilities. We agree that over this busy time the noise levels are more pronounced due to the large amount of holiday makers enjoying themselves. During many other times of the year our town is very quiet.
We also agree and are waiting for something wonderful to be built across the road, which I believe is in the early stages of planning.
We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

Great place to stay, very clean, could see the ocean, plenty of space and had all amenities that were needed. Down side was traffic noise but it wasn't too bad. Staff were very helpful and friendly. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask if there is one away from the street but then you probably won't get a water view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank gailb682
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuisaLloyd, Manager at Mantra Quayside Apartments Port Macquarie, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Thank you for your comments. Being in the centre of town, there is road noise, however so many people love the convenience of being able to walk everywhere. We are happy you enjoyed your views.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

This is teh second time we have stayed here and both times have found the Mantra to be of a good standard. The pool area was lovely and we spent most of our time here, and the BBQ terrace is a great palce to watch the sunset over the surrounding area. Nice touch supplying oil, utensils and cleaning equipment for teh BBQ shame other people staying there think they are beyond cleaning their own BBQ.

We stayed int the two bedroom apartment this time which was functional, clean and well equipped but the one bedroom was much better with a nice terrece. We heard no noise fromt the traffic below or had any problems with the local birds. it is a perfect lcoation with a five minute walk along the river to town centre and a great Indian resturant underneath .

We will be back..

Room Tip: Try to get a room with the small terrece
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NewcastleHolidaygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuisaLloyd, Manager at Mantra Quayside Apartments Port Macquarie, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Thank you so much for your detailed review on your recent stay with us, we are delighted that you enjoyed our very convenient location and our facilities. We hope you return in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2013

You can hear the traffic from the street below. It feels like your sleeping on the street. Location isn't very good. I wouldn't stay there again. If you sleep on the sofa bed the light comes in on you in the morning - you can't block out the light. There was a long grey hair on the blanket which indicates it hadn't been washed. The toilet wasn't 100% clean. Luckily we only stayed one nit stop over. View is pretty bad too.

Room Tip: Rooms away from street may be quieter. Or choose a higher level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Lahoud G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuisaLloyd, Manager at Mantra Quayside Apartments Port Macquarie, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Thank you for pointing out some housekeeping issues, we are very sorry and do apologise for any inconvenience caused.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
162 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2013 via mobile

Quayside is a great overnighter stop in Port. Room was spacious and clean, balcony was great for the arvo beer. If you want a hotel with room service this is not the place for you. Only downside is the annoying pigeons flying into the pool, no one wants rats with wings in their space.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank louielou79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuisaLloyd, Manager at Mantra Quayside Apartments Port Macquarie, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Thank you for your review, we do apologise for the situation with the fauna, however that is nature and we cannot control what is out of the building. We are however working on a solution that may deter the birds from visiting our rooftop location. We do hope to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2013

Great location walking distance to town centre with plenty of restaurant and cafes. Service staff were all friendly and helpful with any enquiries. The basement car park was secure and with easy access. Will recommend to family and friends.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Arno M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuisaLloyd, Manager at Mantra Quayside Apartments Port Macquarie, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and found our location to be very convenient and close to all amenities. We do hope to welcome you back in the future and thank you for the recommendation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Macquarie hotels
0.3 mi away
Rydges Port Macquarie
Rydges Port Macquarie
#12 of 42 in Port Macquarie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 871 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ki-ea Apartments
Ki-ea Apartments
#5 of 42 in Port Macquarie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercure Centro Port Macquarie
Mercure Centro Port Macquarie
#11 of 42 in Port Macquarie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Mantra The Observatory
Mantra The Observatory
#3 of 42 in Port Macquarie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,226 reviews
0.4 mi away
Macquarie Waters Hotel & Apartments
0.6 mi away
Sails Resort Port Macquarie - by Rydges
Sails Resort Port Macquarie - by...
#10 of 42 in Port Macquarie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Quayside Apartments Port Macquarie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Quayside Apartments Port Macquarie

Property: Mantra Quayside Apartments Port Macquarie
Address: | Cnr William & Short Streets, Port Macquarie, New South Wales 2444, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Port Macquarie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Port Macquarie
#6 Romantic Hotel in Port Macquarie
#7 Luxury Hotel in Port Macquarie
#11 Family Hotel in Port Macquarie
#13 Business Hotel in Port Macquarie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra Quayside Apartments Port Macquarie 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra Quayside, Port Macquarie is situated in the beautiful coastal town of Port Macquarie, offering quality accommodation just minutes walk from the shopping and dining hub of Horton Street. Featuring self-contained Studios and One and Two Bedroom Apartments, Mantra Quayside provides everything you need for a relaxed and stress-free North Coast holiday. Perfect for business people, a couples getaway or family holiday, Mantra Quayside Port Macquarie offers spacious, self-contained apartments all featuring a kitchenette or full kitchen facilities, air-conditioning, state-of-the-art home theatre system and balcony or patio, with some offering views over the Back Channel anchorage on Hastings River. Our relaxed and comfortable Port Macquarie resort features a rooftop pool and entertaining area with views over the waterfront, a fully equipped gym, sauna, sauna and direct access to shopping. Only a short stroll from Mantra Quayside Apartments you will find dynamic Horton Street which offers an abundance of cafes, restaurants, boutique stores, cinemas and the brand new Glasshouse theatre or take a scenic drive to the many wineries in the Greater Port Macquarie region ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Mantra Quayside Apartments Port Macquarie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Quayside Apartments Port Macquarie Hotel Port Macquarie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing